We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural, chill, relaxing”
Review of Hotel Playa Negra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Negra
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've grown up coming to this little hotel on the beach. My family calls it "smurf village." The hotel consists of individual tiki huts on the beach. You fall asleep to the sound of waves crashing on the beach and wake up to the birds chirping. Ive always stayed in non- a/c cabinas but now they have a few with a/c. I would not recommend this hotel to someone looking for something fancy and glamorous. Instead, it is very natural/chill/relaxing. Anyone who enjoys the outdoors and has a love for nature will like this hotel. They now offer beachside yoga, massage, surf rental, and you can walk to a few restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Made to feel like family.

Stayed here for three nights on a recommendation from a friend. Literally on the beach - fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. Cabanas are spacious, modern, clean and very comfortable.

Room and location aside - the owner and staff are amazing. After showing brief interest in soccer/futbol i was invited to play on the hotel staff team by Lito, the owner. We travelled by car for 30 minutes to a nearby town where I was welcomed like family to partake in the game. Truly a special experience for me - certainly one i will never forget. Will be going back to hotel playa negra as soon as possible.

There is a world class surf break literally outside the door of your cabana too. Barreling monsters with 3-4 people in the line up. Wave breaks through high and low tide, unlike most of the waves in CR which only work at specific tides.

Thanks Lito and Renard.

Room Tip: Cabanas 1 and 3 are closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be better, right on the beach.....end of story. Overrated, over priced. Our accommodations were filthy and infested with hundreds of ants. Restaurant staff needs hospitality training. Cleaning staff could improve by receiving encouragement and again training from management to insure the cabinas were completely cleaned, from the room glassware to the floors and the linens. If you want your towels changed you are advised to put them on the floor,well, that did not work because that led to the cleaning staff picking them up turning them over and folding them with the dirty side not showing, the same with the bed linens. We discovered this by noticing stains on the sheets,on one side of the bed and when we took them off to be replaced by clean sheets,the same sheets had been turned over so that the stains were on the other side of the bed. Not good. Restaurant menu items are very limited and way over priced for the quality and presentation one would expect. Disappointing. We spent as little time as possible in the cabina,only using it to shower and sleep which was difficult due to the aforementioned,we were not going to let this ruin our trip, but in all honesty....they will never know.

Room Tip: Book this hotel through their website,if you want an air conditioned room. booking through a travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueagave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelplayanegra, Gerente at Hotel Playa Negra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear customer,
We are sorry to read that you found our hotel overrated: the only rating that you might have read about us reflects the opinions of most our clients. Our prices are very similar to any other beach hotel in the area and again we are sorry they seemed too high for you. Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms, we were very surprised by your comments. It is possible that there might be ants in the rooms, the hotel sits in the middle of acres of unspoiled nature and due to ecological grounds we are reluctant to use a lot of chemicals to get rid of harmless bugs. Regarding our cleaning staff, it has been carefully trained and after 17 years of operation we have had no complains about the cleanliness of our rooms. If there was a real problem with sheets or towels, we don’t understand why you didn’t make any comment while you were here. We would have been more than happy to help you.
Sincerely,
Hotel Playa Negra.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Heading out to return..........We went 3 years ago and it was our best vacation ever.Beautiful and relaxing. We arrived very late/early and woke up to the most amazing surprise and the beauty:)Loved our home(cabana),the amazing surf(to watch) and only a few yards away we could swim. Made life-long friends and all the help was so warm and like family!The only glitch at that point was the food. But, I have heard they now have an amazing chef!You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmhenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We enjoyed this property. We were in the newest one with AC. We had no issues with bugs- but there were a lot of big ants. We left the bathroom light on at night hoping to scare them away. The check in staff was very friendly, pool was great and hammocks were very welcoming. I enjoyed the pool table in the dining room. Food was good, drinks a little pricey. They will sell you a bag of ice so buy some local rum and drink in your room! The only thing I would change was that on one night they only offer Argentina bbq in the dining room and no regular menu. So if you don't eat meat you are out of luck. Also, bring a flashlight- at night it's very dark walking to and from the dining room. Hubby wasn't too impressed with the surf out front so we ended driving an hour each day to a "secret spot" but I thought it looked good. Overall the property was safe, hospitable and met our needs. No complaints here. Great sunsets!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarnitaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Staying at negra was absolutely the perfect move for us. We were looking for something mellow and close to surf. Every morning we woke up to beautiful weather and waves. They have an open-air bar/restaurant that sits on the beach, and is a perfect backdrop for an afternoon drink.
A few suggestion for a future visitor:
--The lighting along the pathways isn't the best, so bring a headlamp.
--Bring some sort of beach umbrella (if that's possible) they do not have a lot of shaded areas.
--Be sure to lay out in the hammocks.
--The road getting to negra is bumpy..so drive slowly.
--We had an older room and it did not have air conditioning, which did not bother us, but if you want it they have newer rooms with AC.

Room Tip: Our hut was 7. Great location, even though they all sits nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plunketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are high maintenance and prefer room service and fluff then this is too cool of a spot for you. Private tiki huts with sounds of the ocean, romantic landscaping, and quiet are awaiting you here at Hotel Playa Negra. 50 yards from the beach and a lovely little cafe. Picturesque, tropical, rustic and everything you need for a great nights sleep. Nice breeze & ceiling fan made it quite comfortable without ac. We are anticipating this to be the highlight of our stay...but seriously high maintenance whiners please stay away!! My husband and I loved, loved, loved starting our first trip to Costa Rica here

Room Tip: Proximity to the ocean go for bungalows, hammock and ac spring for suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Castillo Divertido
Hotel El Castillo Divertido
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
11 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
7.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
#1 of 3 in Playa Junquillal
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cafe Playa Negra
Cafe Playa Negra
#1 of 2 in Playa Negra
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Negra

Address: Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $94 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Playa Negra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Playa Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Negra Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing