We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Playa Negra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Playa Negra
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a really special property. The bungalows are so charming -- very clean, though bugs and such will get in. We had a bit of an ant problem in our first room, but not in our second (we switched rooms halfway through to move to a bungalow with air-conditioning). The beach access is incredible, and even if you don't surf, you'll enjoy watching others tackle the waves. But it's also great to be able to sit sand-free by the pool, where you can see and hear the waves. I took advantage of the beachside yoga with Rosalie, who was wonderful. The restaurant is good but pricey. We had our Christmas Eve dinner there and unfortunately it was especially expensive while also being really disappointing. But the regular menu's food was tasty. Overall, highly recommended if you want a more off the beaten path vacation.

Room Tip: The air-conditioned suite-bungalow was worth the extra spurge for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    50
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
46
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for a surf vacation and the stay makes it much more than a surfing experience. It was a five days in paradise when we stepped in the property!

We love the food in the hotel restaurant! Especially the whole fish grilled at their wood grill. I am still trying to reproduce the taste at home. It is the best fish we have ever had. By the way, the food choice at Playa Negra is surprisingly rich. It has so many great choices!

And staff are very friendly and relaxed. We love the yoga lessons offered at the hotel too. You can see ocean from there!

It is also close to multiple surfing beaches. Although not close to any nightlife, which is perfectly okay with us. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very chilled out and one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The surf break is great, service is very good and the location while out of the way, is phenomenal. Bonus: Very little lighting at night enables crystal clear views of the stars and the milky way!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShreddingTheGnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

I've stayed in Playa Negra a few times. This is one of it's gems! Great food, great location and nice bungalows. Clean rooms and nice staff. Definitely a place to check out when in playa negra. Awesome place to watch the sunset!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Here is a little place that one could call paradise! By the ocean, a wonderful surf spot, a great small hotel run by an adorable staff, excellent fresh food and simply one of the best spot to enjoy life and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanakip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I spent five days at Hotel Playa Negra in March and we really loved it. If you want to avoid crowded places and just relax in the middle of nature, in a very comfortable and cool atmosphere, it's your place. The bungalows were beautiful and clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant was fresh and excellent. It was just perfect!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xtraclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Once again, Hotel Playa Negra impresses us with it's location away from it all, the WORLD CLASS wave right in front of the restaurant, and the wonderful, fresh, organically grown food that they serve at every meal. Service in the restaurant can be a little slow until they get to know you. A modest tip goes a long way and will get you better service... If you are needy then I would recommend pre-tipping so that they don't slack on you, but that's anywhere in Costa Rica.... The cabinas are awesome. So authentic, feng shui in their simplicity and COMFORTABLE. Sleep like a baby to the sound of the waves and abundant wildlife around you. Wake up to an amazing beach in front of you and lush forest behind you that's alive with the sound of Howler Monkeys. Cool off in the refreshing pool overlooking the ocean after an amazing yoga class or massage within feet of your cabina. We look forward to our third visit.

Room Tip: New cabinas have AC, decks with hammocks and an efficiency kitchen. Sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
0.5 mi away
Cafe Playa Negra
Cafe Playa Negra
#1 of 2 in Playa Negra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.6 mi away
Hotel Iguanazul
Hotel Iguanazul
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#2 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
17.8 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Negra

Property: Hotel Playa Negra
Address: Playa Negra | Paraíso, Santa Cruz 5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Playa Negra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Playa Negra Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing