We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity by the sea”
Review of Hotel Iguanazul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Iguanazul
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquillity by the sea”
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I am a little biased, I have stayed at the Iguanazul 6 times now. We got engaged there and then a year later married there (wonderful day, no hassle just lovely).
It is a clean basic but beautiful place. The staff are always helpful and friendly. The food is very good for such a remote place.
We ended up there by accident in 2003, we thought we booked a place in Tamarindo on the net (first time in Costa Rica). 6 hours of hard driving (it has improved every year) from San Jose, arrived just in time to see the sunset, that made it all worth it.
It is not a busy place but you will feel at home in minutes. How many places can you have a white beach to yourself?
Not a place for singles / groups of youngsters as there is very little to do at night (bar shuts about 10 ish, a late one is 12). There is still plenty to do in the surrounding area. Having a 4X4 helps.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

If you are looking for an out of the way relaxing time, this hotel is great. If you are looking for parties and music, this is probably not the place.

My wife and I live in Costa Rica and took a 3 day weekend looking for some R & R. We normally go to another hotel on Junquiall but since it is low season there were minimally staffed and not well kept up. So, it worked to our benefit.

The Staff is friendly and very accommodating. The food was very good and the rooms were more than adequate. Everything worked well, no bugs, and the pool area was very clean.

It is worth it to spend a little more for the oceanside rooms. What an incredible view to wake up, draw back the curtain, and lay in bed staring out at the ocean. It doesn't get any better! In addition, if you like to walk on the beach, do a little swimming it is good, not great. The great thing is you will have miles of beach almost to yourself!

Playa Junquiall is an out of the way place, for a quite time. There is a lot to do in Costa Rica so i would not spend all my time here, however, a few days here gives you a great taste of the beach life.

I recommend it highly.

P.S. For dog lovers there is an incredible dog named Bisquit He will make your stay even greater.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HavingSomeFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

This is a pretty nice place, rooms are definitely a tad below basic but OK; the AC worked fine and that was enough for me. The food is quite good, I'd give it a 9. The staff is very friendly and try very hard, and I could see a nice ambience. However, we went with our two young daughters and this is not exactly a place for children, the pool is for adults only, and going down to the beach was not easy, however we did find small pools in the beach to the right and spent hours exploring the sealife in these pools. We also spent hours sitting on the benches watching the ocean from above and enjoying the breeze. I also feel they could do a bit more to upgrade the place, but if you are on a budget I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sadwithjacuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed at Iguanazul on our honeymoon between a stay at Punta Islita (5 star resort in playa samara) and Hotel Bula Bula (our favorite in playa grande). Iguanazul is a typical Costa Rican Hotel. We have vacationed in Costa Rica on both the low end ($30/night) and the high end ($300/night). This hotel falls in to the low end by far. The grounds are fine, but could use a little updating. I couldn't help but think, "if they only put a little money into this place, it would be incredible!" The food at the restaurant was good and the frozen fruit drinks were excellent.
The rooms were not great. As a matter of fact, as soon as we walked into our room I called Bula Bula to see if we could check in 2 days early. The decorating is non existent. The towel rack fell off the wall when my husband tried to hang his towel. We had a very nice ocean view, but it was also a walk way so everyone could see in our room when we opened the curtains. The lighting is HORRIBLE! You can barely see yourself in the mirror. You can, however, see all of the bugs and lizards that are spending the night with you. We actually slept with the lights on for three nights so that we could see what may be in our bed. We had a lot of ants in our room as well.
The pool was nice sized, but was a little buggy. We spent most of our time about 10 minutes up the road at Playa Negra where the water is surfable.
All in all it was not a bad experience, just not pleasant. I was not relaxed while there. It was simply a place to sleep, not to spend time. I probably would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2006

First off, I am giving this villa an above average review not because it is luxurious - it is not. But the setting is wonderful, the service was great, and house dog (Biscuit) was fantastic!

We stayed in the airconditioned rooms that circle the pool. Each has two double beds and funky pillows (but functionally nice). No TV in the room. Not all the wall seams were perfect but the room was nicely decorated and an escape from the mid-day heat (90s-100F). Pool was clean, beach was down the bluff and had lava rock and sandy areas. Walking south takes you to an all sandy beach. Nice landscaped property, safe and has a night watchman. In-room safes optional at $3/day.

Open air bar and eating area. Fruit plate breakfast including with room--you can also order off the breakfast menu. Gallo pinto (rice/beans with seasoning) and eggs was a favorite. Lunch/Dinner menus featured a wide range of selections - the Tico foods were especially good (fish tacos with avocado, casado of chicken or fish, chicken nachos, etc.). You pay a little more than at the tipico food stands/restaurants in Junquillal and Tamarindo, but less than a fancy restaurant. The rooms were reasonable enought that even after eating virtually all our meals and drinking what we wanted during the 4 day visit at Iguanazul it was like staying at an all-inclusive. Our friend stayed by herself in a room ($80/nite) and her total bill for room, food, drinks, tax and tip came to $500. A real value.

Happy hour was from 5-7pm. The margaritas were excellent, loaded, zonking. :)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rodndtube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

We stayed here in Sept 2005 and had a wonderful time. THe location is above a cliff with steps down to the beach and tidepools. Its too rocky to surf, but very pretty. The rooms were very clean, even though they are occassionally visited by iguanas! The hotel staff was very friendly and I loved Biscuit, the little dog who is very eager to accompany on walks. The restaurant was good ( especially breakfast) and we had a very relaxing day at their very nice, clean pool. We would definitely visit again when in the area.

Helpful?
4 Thank ASB2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Negra
Hotel Playa Negra
#1 of 5 in Santa Cruz
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
Mundo Milo Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Guacamaya Lodge
Guacamaya Lodge
#2 of 4 in Playa Junquillal
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,440 reviews
9.4 mi away
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
Azul Ocean Club Hotel
#1 of 1 in Playa Azul
250 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iguanazul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iguanazul

Property: Hotel Iguanazul
Address: Playa Junquillal, Santa Cruz 50305, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iguanazul 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Iguanazul is located in the northern province of Guanacaste, on the Nicoya Peninsula at Playa Junquillal. We are 35km south of Tamarindo, on a cliff overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean The Hotel Iguanazul is a quiet boutique hotel where you can enjoy the white sands of Playa Blanca (part of Costa Rica's Blue Flag program), world class surf breaks, great snorkeling, spectacular sunsets and much more! We have relationships with several tour operators to satisfy your adventurous side and can arrange any excursion you with. Our nearby beaches are all pristine and you can walk virtually undisturbed for hours and hours. Book now to enjoy the beautiful Hotel Iguanazul! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iguanazul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iguanazul Costa Rica/Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing