We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on our 14-day trip to Costa Rica!”
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel on our 14-day trip to Costa Rica!”
Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend two wonderful nights in this hotel/lodge and wished we could've stayed longer. Our large room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The bathroom was also very roomy and very clean. Our room had huge windows plus french doors opening onto the balcony so the fantastic view of the ocean and mountains was visible from all directions. We were very happy that we were staying outside of town so that we could enjoy the birds, monkeys, peace and quiet. Our complimentary breakfast was excellent as were the other meals that we had at the hotel restaurant. The owners and staff were very friendly and accomodating and made us feel very much at home. We were 100% pleased with every aspect of our stay and would definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    53
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
165
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

The view is absolutely stunning as is the room. Liked having the safe and fridge, were disappointed our TV was not working though. The balcony was beautiful. We woke every morning to howler monkeys. Lovely pool, food was very good and service was excellent. Our hosts made us feel like part of the family. We are both athletic but found the walk into town took about 25 minutes, which we didn't mind in the morning but spend the money on the taxi for the return trip. We walked back mid-day once and that was hot and grueling uphill climb. Don't do it! I agree it looked to be the nicest place around but I admit being jealous of other folks on the beach who popped back to their room for a quick shower. I think next time we would stay in town although it would not be as nice as place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

An amazing place! The rooms are very stylish, the bathroom is spa-like and the balcony is big with a great view. And everything is brand new! It's a peaceful place on the hill overlooking the ocean. It's about a 10 min walk to the beach and about 15 minutes walk to the Samara town (5 min by car, taxi is 4 dollars). We were happy that we didn't stay in Samara downtown, as it was easy to get there from this gorgeous hotel. And all the Samara hotels we saw looked more like backbacker hotels (except the Treehouse). The sunset is gorgeous, you can see it from the restaurant.

The owners are very nice, helpful and friendly, their Costa Rican breakfast is great (you can choose other kinds of breakfasts for additional price). We stayed here for 6 nights and I can really recommend this place! Enjoy!

  • Liked — its top notch quality! Great views!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYCtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This hotel offers incredible quality in all its amenities. The beds are very comfortable, the private terrasse in the room offers great view and the feeling to live in the trees. The restaurant team serves excellent local food along with great service. The rancho style of the restaurant is typical and well organized. The pool has 2 parts, the first beeing perfect for the kids and the size is good for swimming. Really, our little family had a wonderful time at Lodge Las Ranas.

  • Liked — The setting itself
  • Disliked — The parking
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gencod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Its the best trip i never do !!!

Everythings was perfect, the food, the site and the incredebul view, it's the top trips i never did !!

  • Liked — The room, the view and the site
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stephanechaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2008

Our family wasn't sure what to expect on our drive up to las Ranas but we were more than pleasantly surprised. What a beautiful view! We wanted to check in and head back to town to hit the beach but couldn't pull ourselves away from the beauty and tranquility at the lodge. Our room had an amazing view of the beach and water from the private balcony. The owners and staff were all wonderful and very accommodating. If you are looking for a spot to relax and recharge las Ranas is the place to be. I would recommend this place to anyone. Enjoy!

  • Liked — The staff and owners went the extra mile to make everyone feel special
  • Disliked — not being able to stay longer
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CLF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2008

When our family reached the top of the long steep drive we were stunned by the beauty. The views are amazing. Our rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. We had planned to run back into town for some beach time. However, we never managed to leave the view from poolside. In the morning the squirrels kept us amused while we sipped coffee on our private deck. We heard monkeys in the distance and the birds were plentiful. The food here was above Costa Rica standards by a mile. It is a place you want to make sure you see. The owners/host are very friendly and very helpful. A great find for our family. We will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Liked — Views and hosts
  • Disliked — Only had a one day stay!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CABOUND2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
506 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
855 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Las Ranas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing