We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
st-jean
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Wow calm place to stay. Owners and staff are all helpful and speack english. The place is just a little ways out town. There are lots of birds and monkeys around. The entry way is very narrow with a very steep hill. The rooms are spacious and canopy bed is comfy for a good night's sleep. The lodge offers lunch and dining along with breakfast in the morning but the cook being ill we were not able to sample the lunches and evening meals.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kperky96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you again for choosing to stay at Lodge Las Ranas and thank you for the wonderful review.

We hope to see you in the future!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    45
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
144
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Las Ranas was amazing. The whole resort has beautiful views of the forest, mountains and coast line for miles. The rooms are comfortable and clean with nice modern furnishings. The owner's son is always around to answer questions about the local area and has great advice about attractions and what to do/see. The rest of the staff are friendly and attentive and the included breakfast is awesome. I was nervous about bugs and there were no bugs in the room the whole time we were there. A huge bonus for us was the visit from the monkey family one morning in the trees just outside of the restaurant. I have nothing but good things to say about Las Ranas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello MsMarno,

All of us at Lodge Las Ranas would like to extend our thanks to you for the wonderful review. We are always delighted to share our little piece of Costa Rica and are happy you were able to enjoy it as much as we do.

See you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is the best hotel during our vacation in Costa Rica during the Christmas holiday. We have seen more animals in the hotel than our hikes in Monteverde and La Fortuna! The joining rooms have made it perfect for us and our children. It was such a treat to be able to watch the sunset right there. Cody and his staff have made the stay extra special as well. The hotel is a bit far from town and the beach but it only costed us $4 for a very short taxi ride each way! I would not hesistate to return to Las Ranas any day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy_traveller016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello,

On behalf of all of the staff here at Lodge Las Ranas, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always aiming to provide an unforgettable vacation for all of our guests and it is great to hear we have succeeded in doing so.

We hope to be able to share our hotel as well as the views of the jungle and animals with you and your family again in the future.

Pura Vida!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Lodge Las Ranas was our first stop on our two week honeymoon to Costa Rica and we loved everything about the lodge and our stay. The room and views were even better in person. The grounds and pool are beautifully landscaped and great place to spot some wildlife. I spent a lot of time researching locations and places stay and am so happy we chose Las Ranas. Esterling and Cody were excellent hosts and helped with trips, dinner, and info on the area. Gallo pinto each morning was delicious. Great location to explore Samara and surrounding beaches and return to a peaceful location at the end of the day, have a swim, and a few drinks on your patio or near the pool. We hope to return someday. Thank you Las Ranas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Courtney,

All of us here at Lodge Las Ranas were honored to provide accommodations for your honeymoon. Having our guests leave with a great experience is what we always strive for and it is always great to hear we have been able to help make your time here in Costa Rica and enjoyable one.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was a family vacation before Christmas and it was very beautiful place to stay at Lodge Las Ranas in Samara, Costa Rica. The view from our rooms was breath taking and the sunset in the evenings was unbelievable. The owner was just great. If you want, a great place to stay for relaxing or just traveling thru this is the place to stay for a few days. Our daughter found this place over looking the harbor there. I would go back again. Cody was very helpful in every way and the staff was great too.

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 5 and 6 are great to stay in because you can see more because the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Elizabeth,

We would all like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are always grateful to hear when our guests have enjoyed themselves at Lodge Las Ranas.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Lodge Las Ranas for two nights and we could not have expected more. Our room came with a balcony from which we observed monkeys and iguanas in the trees. The breakfast was spot on too and the service provided by Cody and his staff was first class. On more than one occasion they went out of their way to help us out. Thanks so much to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello JoJo,

We would all like to send our thanks for the review you have written for us. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback as it is the best tool we have to make sure we are meeting our guests' expectations.

We hope to see you back in the Samara area soon!

Cody and the Lodge Las Ranas staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Lodge Las Ranas for 4 nights. Being on a hilltop, it has such a beautiful location.

Cody, the owner/manager, helped us in every way we needed. His staff was really friendly and seemed very happy. Its a smaller place and so the whole experience was very welcoming and homey.

I am an animal lover and each day we spotted a new animal moseying about in the forest surrounding the lodge.

The rooms were VERY clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieRooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello Liz,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are are very happy the hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Lodge Las Ranas and the different animals Costa Rica has to offer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Saludos,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Las Ranas 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing