We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Carolina Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodge Las Ranas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge Las Ranas
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“South Carolina Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was a family vacation before Christmas and it was very beautiful place to stay at Lodge Las Ranas in Samara, Costa Rica. The view from our rooms was breath taking and the sunset in the evenings was unbelievable. The owner was just great. If you want, a great place to stay for relaxing or just traveling thru this is the place to stay for a few days. Our daughter found this place over looking the harbor there. I would go back again. Cody was very helpful in every way and the staff was great too.

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 5 and 6 are great to stay in because you can see more because the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Elizabeth,

We would all like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are always grateful to hear when our guests have enjoyed themselves at Lodge Las Ranas.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    52
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
164
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Lodge Las Ranas for two nights and we could not have expected more. Our room came with a balcony from which we observed monkeys and iguanas in the trees. The breakfast was spot on too and the service provided by Cody and his staff was first class. On more than one occasion they went out of their way to help us out. Thanks so much to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo29London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Hello JoJo,

We would all like to send our thanks for the review you have written for us. We always appreciate when our guests take the time to give us feedback as it is the best tool we have to make sure we are meeting our guests' expectations.

We hope to see you back in the Samara area soon!

Cody and the Lodge Las Ranas staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Lodge Las Ranas for 4 nights. Being on a hilltop, it has such a beautiful location.

Cody, the owner/manager, helped us in every way we needed. His staff was really friendly and seemed very happy. Its a smaller place and so the whole experience was very welcoming and homey.

I am an animal lover and each day we spotted a new animal moseying about in the forest surrounding the lodge.

The rooms were VERY clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieRooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello Liz,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are are very happy the hear you enjoyed your time with us here at Lodge Las Ranas and the different animals Costa Rica has to offer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.

Saludos,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We found this place after a horrible night at another hotel that was rated number 3 and is now number 5. This was a sight for very tired eyes. Amazing customer service by Cody, Esterling and the rest of the staff. Thank you so much for doing our laundry!
My daughter, husband and myself loved this hotel! Every morning we awoke to howler monkeys. We would hike down the very steep driveway before breakfast and walk the road to see what animals we could spot. After spending the day checking out town and the beaches, it was such a treat to hit the refreshing pool which was surprising cold.

It is situated a little outside of town, up a steep hill with beautiful views in all directions. It is only about a 4-5 minute drive from downtown Samara or a 20 minute walk. There is a little market (verde iguana) very close to the hotel.

Go to Playa Carrillo. Beautiful wide beach with nothing but sand and trees on it.

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was one of our favorites in a 3 week trip around Costa Rica and Nicaragua.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMonkey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hola TravelMonkey73,

We would all like to send our thanks to your for the wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. It is the most important thing to all of us that everyone leaves with a great experience.

I'm sorry that I was in San Jose on business for most of your stay. I hope see you the next time around!!

Pura Vida!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

the owner cody was very nice and we enjoyed a stunning view from our private balkony. we would always come back and take a swim in the wonderful pool area!
it is up the hill, so you have to have a car when you choose to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evistern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello Evistern,

On behalf of all of the staff from Lodge Las Ranas, I would like to take this time to thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel as well as the natural beauty we have here in Costa Rica.

We hope to see you soon!

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I traveled right after hurricane Sandy in Nov 2012. The hotel (but luckily all my hotels) were very cool working with me as I changed and re-changed my dates. Early Nov is the end of the rainy season. The hotel was just ramping up as I arrived. I would not reccommond traveling to Costa Rica in Sept and Oct based on what people in country told me about the challanges during some rainy seasons. Anyways, on to this hotel. Cody who is the manager went above and beyond. From local restaurant advice, to asking if I needed anything when he was running out to the store, to making local calls to see if a bike shop 3 hours away would do a tour, he did it all. Super nice ex-pat from canada. Had a lot to talk about too just shooting the breeze, as I was traveling solo. Hotel was nice if you want the jungle experience, overlooking the jungle and the playa samara. If you want a 5 star resort experience where everyone is falling over themselves to pick up after you this isn't it. But if you want adventure, a clean comfortable room, and a nice beach town vibe, while not being an overcrowded tourist trap - this is a great destination for you. Overall - totally recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOBIlls213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello,

We would like to thank you for the wonderful view. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Samara as well as here at Lodge Las Ranas. I hope that the rest of your trip after you left us was equally as enjoyable.

Thank you,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Even before our arrivel, Cody was a great help on everything. During our stay, he was even better. The rooms are very clean and the view over Samara is superb.
Thats no douth that the people from the hotel make a lot.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sérgio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLR-CR, Owner at Lodge Las Ranas, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review. Knowing that our guests have enjoyed their time at Lodge Las Ranas is the most important thing to us.

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your time in Costa Rica and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Pura Vida,

Cody Nikolaychuk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Las Ranas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Las Ranas

Property: Lodge Las Ranas
Address: Mts Al Oeste del Cruce de Cangrejal 800 | Box 24, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge Las Ranas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 rooms that all have a magnificent view of two different beaches as well as mountain and jungle views. All rooms come with: Queen-size bed, Air conditioning, Wireless Internet, safe, small refrigerator, private balcony with ocean view and hot breakfast included. We are located a short distance from Samara and the beach which allows guests to take short 15 min walk or an inexpensive taxi ride if they so choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lodge Las Ranas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Las Ranas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing