We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Playa Samara”
Review of Hostel Matilori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Matilori
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to stay in Playa Samara”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It was the second time I stayed at Matilori within one year and I really enjoyed my time there. The hostel is clean and counts with a big kitchen and a nice little patio with hammocks and chairs where you can eat, chat with the other guests or just hang out and read a book. Moreover the hostel offers free coffee and WiFi.

The owners Lydie and Franck, a french couple, are just lovely and always up for a advice on where to go and what to do. On new years eve they organized a little cocktail in the hostel and brought pizza. As Samara is just a little village you can reach the beach as well as the main street with all the restaurants and bars within less than 5 minutes walking.

If you are looking for a clean hostel with a nice, relaxing atmosphere Matilori is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siii_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
38
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just stayed here for 9 days at the beginning of Feb. I clicked with the owners immediately and even helped install a new wireless access point to clear up the spotty internet issue. I stayed in the dorm and spent quite a bit of time hanging out in the common area. It was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep just 2 minutes from the beach. I'll definitely be going back. Cheers to Jeanne and Meghan for painting new signs to help everyone find the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Well I was only at this place for one night, and turned up at dusk sweating with nowhere to stay! The owners had no dorms left and only a double room left at $45! Which I couldn't justify! Then after the lady owner spent a while trying to contact another hostel for me to see if they had anything, my desperation and her kindness lets have the double room for way less than asking price! So to start with the owners (French) were fantastic! The hostel itself was a quaint and intimate little place with a good stocked kitched and perfectly clean facilities! There is also a nice social area out the front! This place is a gem if you can find a dorm or if there's two of you get a double! 5 mins from the beach and located behind is a small but very cheap family run restaurant! I got lucky here, so everyone else make this your place to stay when in samaras!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickymullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Awesome place. Super close to the beach and wonderful owners! This is a great place to just relax at. They were renovating the dorms when I was there in July 2012, so it should be even nicer soon. Excellent kitchen with all the basics. Internet can be a bit spotty in some of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights there as part of a round-the-world, budget, couple trip. This was exactly what we needed: clean spotless, bright and colourful, super-friendly owners, well equipped, vetilated kitchen and rooms (first time we had a safe in a budget room), steady internet connection, just what you need after a 12-hour bus journey. Two-minute walk from the beach, only lacking a few signs to find your way in. Would definitely stay there again and recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having no money left this place made it possible for us to have a great time in Costa Rica. We really enjoyed staying here. The owners are very friendly and kind. The spotless kitchen was a real lifesaver on our last days of a long trip. Well equipped with all you need including spices, oil and coffee. Excellent internetconnection. Clean. Hot water in shower. Cheap. Overall perfect.
Thank you!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaRicaJosefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia Suiza, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Best Hostel during my trip, felt like a guest by friends. Bathrooms are very clean, also the room. There is a kitchen with all what you need for a good meal (salt,pepper,oil...) Fast Internet, and the owners so kind!! You also can take 2body boards too the beach, for free!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentino1588216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#6 of 23 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#11 of 34 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Matilori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Matilori

Property: Hostel Matilori
Address: | From the bus stop, take the road 25m to Carrillo, first to the right, first left (2 min total)), Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Matilori 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is well known for its charming ambiance and invites you to relax in its great atmosphere. This is the perfect place to meet other travellers and most important to have fun!! Our hostel is parted in 2 buildings with a beautiful patio in the middle where you can meet up with other travellers or just chill out in the hammocks. Surrounded by two mango trees and the amazing Costa Rican wildlife you can see iguanas, monkeys and hummingbirds. We have 3 double rooms, 1 four-bed dorm and 1 six-bed dorm, all with shared bathroom and hot shower. The bright and friendly rooms are all well equipped with fans, cupboards and lockers. In the 2 community kitchens you'll find everything you need, even free cafe in the morning. : ) Our hostel is located in the heart of Samara in a quiet street about 100 metres from the beach and the bus stop. Shops, supermarkets and nightlife are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Matilori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Matilori Cabinas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing