We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best first hostel experience ever”
Review of Hostel Matilori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Matilori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I just stayed here for 9 days at the beginning of Feb. I clicked with the owners immediately and even helped install a new wireless access point to clear up the spotty internet issue. I stayed in the dorm and spent quite a bit of time hanging out in the common area. It was a fantastic experience and I highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep just 2 minutes from the beach. I'll definitely be going back. Cheers to Jeanne and Meghan for painting new signs to help everyone find the place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnaud L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 117 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Well I was only at this place for one night, and turned up at dusk sweating with nowhere to stay! The owners had no dorms left and only a double room left at $45! Which I couldn't justify! Then after the lady owner spent a while trying to contact another hostel for me to see if they had anything, my desperation and her kindness lets have the double room for way less than asking price! So to start with the owners (French) were fantastic! The hostel itself was a quaint and intimate little place with a good stocked kitched and perfectly clean facilities! There is also a nice social area out the front! This place is a gem if you can find a dorm or if there's two of you get a double! 5 mins from the beach and located behind is a small but very cheap family run restaurant! I got lucky here, so everyone else make this your place to stay when in samaras!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickymullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Awesome place. Super close to the beach and wonderful owners! This is a great place to just relax at. They were renovating the dorms when I was there in July 2012, so it should be even nicer soon. Excellent kitchen with all the basics. Internet can be a bit spotty in some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cullen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent two nights there as part of a round-the-world, budget, couple trip. This was exactly what we needed: clean spotless, bright and colourful, super-friendly owners, well equipped, vetilated kitchen and rooms (first time we had a safe in a budget room), steady internet connection, just what you need after a 12-hour bus journey. Two-minute walk from the beach, only lacking a few signs to find your way in. Would definitely stay there again and recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Having no money left this place made it possible for us to have a great time in Costa Rica. We really enjoyed staying here. The owners are very friendly and kind. The spotless kitchen was a real lifesaver on our last days of a long trip. Well equipped with all you need including spices, oil and coffee. Excellent internetconnection. Clean. Hot water in shower. Cheap. Overall perfect.
Thank you!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CostaRicaJosefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Best Hostel during my trip, felt like a guest by friends. Bathrooms are very clean, also the room. There is a kitchen with all what you need for a good meal (salt,pepper,oil...) Fast Internet, and the owners so kind!! You also can take 2body boards too the beach, for free!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentino1588216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We ended up at Matilori a couple of days after the Franc and Lydie took it over and stayed in the smaller house. We were going to stay for one night originally, then we said ahhhh but it's so nice, why not two, then on the third day we said why not one more, then on the fourth day I think we started looking for jobs...We ended up staying almost a week and between the owners, the company, and Matilori itself it was the best week of our month in Central America. I can not recommend it enough, if you're looking for a different experience from the typical 'party hostel,' or just some good company and a nice bed for a couple of nights (or weeks, or months...) this is your place. Hotel Matilori, j'taime!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi_p_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Samara
Hostel Samara
#2 of 22 in Playa Samara
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
Hotel Casa del Mar Samara
#12 of 32 in Playa Samara
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Hostel
El Dorado Hostel
#3 of 22 in Playa Samara
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Matilori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Matilori

Address: | From the bus stop, take the road 25m to Carrillo, first to the right, first left ), Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $11 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Matilori 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is well known for its charming ambiance and invites you to relax in its great atmosphere. This is the perfect place to meet other travellers and most important to have fun!! Our hostel is parted in 2 buildings with a beautiful patio in the middle where you can meet up with other travellers or just chill out in the hammocks. Surrounded by two mango trees and the amazing Costa Rican wildlife you can see iguanas, monkeys and hummingbirds. We have 3 double rooms, 1 four-bed dorm and 1 six-bed dorm, all with shared bathroom and hot shower. The bright and friendly rooms are all well equipped with fans, cupboards and lockers. In the 2 community kitchens you'll find everything you need, even free cafe in the morning. : ) Our hostel is located in the heart of Samara in a quiet street about 100 metres from the beach and the bus stop. Shops, supermarkets and nightlife are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Matilori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Matilori Cabinas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing