We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly cheap owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt
Reviewed October 14, 2009

So I read about this place that says it has a friendly owner, but was sadly mistaken. This guy had a look of disgust on his face when he saw us and we were the only people there...He gave us a pretty bad price, my friend dumbly agreed to a price that was too high for a place with no one there. This guy had two friends or workers there who were also german, who were the most unfriendly people there. When I asked for a blanket, he said in costa rica we don't use blankets. My one friend actually needed a sheet for his bed, and he looked mad when he had to go get one. And by the way, the sheets on the beds were dirty and hadnt been cleaned in a couple weeks it looked like. So there is this grimy kitchen that we were allowed to use because the place was in the middle of nowhere, and they were out of soap. So I go to the front desk and ask to use some of their soap and this guy tells me, 'In Costa Rica, you have to buy your own soap and salt ( because i asked for salt).' And then he goes and asks the owner if he could give me two teaspoons of soap, which he regrettably did...the guy had a whole container and gave me a plastic shopping bag with two teaspoons of soap. This guy had to ask the owner if he was allowed to do this, maybe he was just angry that i interrupted their crazy European techno music in an empty house moment. Maybe. Anyways, this place was dirty, unfriendly, and horrible. The only reason you should stay here is if you want to murder someone and get away with it, because they wont clean your room for the next couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YUT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2009

We were recommended this place in the lonley planet, which we've decided should now be called Crowded Planet as everything in there is very much now on the beat and track and priced for sucker tourists.

Upon arriving at "kunterbunt" we walked into the eerily deserted reception in the big block " villa" that seems to serve only to restrict the view of the beach from the accommodation (we didn't get offered accommodation in the block despite being the only ones there)

After a minute in reception a bungy German dude came in to the recepton with a look of "what you doing in my house?" and barely greeted us hello before telling us the room prices and leading us to the lean to across the road behind the "villa". No friendly hello or welcome at all - we felt like intruders!

The atmosphere was that of some kind of derelict mental asylum not to put too fine a point on it. Themanager was wacked and the place felt like it might have been niceish once upon a time but was now worlds apart from the places for $5 more in town.

Turn around and bunt the hell away... preferably to the town side of the river that your host won't tell you about, but that prevents you getting home at high tide

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

I came to Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt and didn't expect anything except for a cheap stay. I was pleasantly surprised to find the place run by a very nice couple who were more than willing to help me find activities to fill my free time with.

You can have a good but inexpensive breakfast which is served in the beachfront garden which is an excellent place just to hangout. Hammocks are provided. You can also rent kayaks and start your kayak or snorkelling trip directly at the beach behind the garden.

The Cabinas are situated ca. 2 km out of town directly at the marvellous Sámara Beach. To get into town you can either take the bus which runs hourly at a price of ca. 50 US cents or take a 20 mins walk down the beach. This is especially nice at sunset.

Don't expect to find any luxuries here: this is a cheap place. However, the rooms are spacious, light and clean. The fan provided sufficiently cool air and I found comparatively few ants in there...:)

For your convenience, there is a kitchen and a mini pool. Maybe the showers aren't hot, but who wants a hot shower in the sweltering temperatures of a Costa Rican summer?

Overall I had a great time in the Cabinas and say thank you to easy going Antje and Tommi :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
Thank lazy_bone1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at Villas Kunterbunt for 5 nights in July 2008 and were very pleased with our accommodations. There are two buildings at Villas Kunterbunt …the beach house directly on the beach (with 4 rooms) and, across the street, another building with the guest’s kitchen and more rooms. We rented a room on the 2nd floor of the beach house; the room was big, clean and the bed firm and comfortable. You could hear the birds, see the waves, see horses walking on the beach, etc. from the porch of our room. In front of the beach house there is a yard with grass with two tables, 2 hammocks, and then the beach. You can walk easily from the Villas Kunterbunt to Samara (25 minute walk) and also stop at the many small restaurants/bars along the beach. The water was at 29 degrees Celsius, and the beach was long, clean and inviting. No people trying to sell you all kinds of merchandise as you see too often in Mexico.

If you want breakfast, you tell Anjie the night before and the following morning, somebody bike’s in and prepares a delicious breakfast for you. There are 6-7 items to choose from the menu.

For somebody who wants to visit/travel a bit around Samara, I strongly recommend that you have some means of transportation to get you to and from the Villas Kunterbunt …the road leading from the main highway to Villas Kunterbunt was in pretty bad shape when we were there, and there are no street lights for the night. It could be an intimidating walk at night. The positive side of this is that Villas Kunterbunt is the ideal place to relax since it does not attract the party crowd, mostly due to the remote location.

Anjie and Tomi are good hosts, being very accommodating, good natured, and discreet and relaxed. We would recommend this place for a quiet relaxing holiday.

Lucie and Raymond

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I would like to say just how much my boyfriend and I enjoyed staying at Kunterbunt. The Beach House is just lovely, and waking up to the sound of the ocean daily was heavenly. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, with sheets, towels and hot waterprovided.

Had we stayed in the centre of Samara we wouldn't have had such a relaxing stay. The town is a 20 minute walk along a beautiful beach with fantastic wildlife to be observed.

Samara is such a natural and wonderful place and kunterbunt doesn't infringe upon that ,it is truly peaceful. We never saw a flying ant during our stay, and if we had we would have know it is beyond anyone's control. Costa Rica is full of insects and sometimes its just bad timing.

Antje and Tommi, were perfect hosts, and respected guests privacy, however were very amiable and helpful in their manner. They provided us some super restaurant recommendations, and really did go out of their way to be helpful.

Antje hires sea kayaks and has a scube centre. Having dived at many locations around the world i can recommend Antje as a professional scuba instructor, we had a couple of dives and they were very enjoyable. There seems to be a lot of life on the small reefs beyone Isla Chora,(during December - April, large manta rays can be spotted.)

Sea kayaking was wonderful, on our way to the island we spotted 3 large turtles!

Breakfast at kunterbunt is also delicious and comparable to any you'll have in town. Also they are more than willing to make up packed lunches and you can take this to the island during your Kayak trip.

In all a fantastic stay, can wholeheartedly recommend, we will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My wife, and I, along with our 2 kids just finished 16 days throughout costa rica. We enjoyed everything; except this hotel. We were prepared to rough it a bit, we stayed in many different types of rooms. This was about half way through our trip and we read good things about kunterbund on line so we were confident it would be great.....it wasn't. It's far from pretty much anything, it's hot, and there were about 1000 flying ants right outside our room. The charge was 65.00 US, which is way overpriced for this. 25 or 30 US would have been slightly overpriced. We drove to town to eat, and when we got back to the room it was still hot, the flying ants were relentless, and we decided to leave. We went back to town, and found a great place for the same price. It would have been the worst night of the trip had we stayed, leaving made it just a funny antecdote in our adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lavidapura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed in the beachside cabin at Villa Kunterbunt for a few nights and loved it. The house itself is amazing, being secluded enough to enjoy essentially private beach access while also close enough to walk to "downtown" Samara by the beach. The place looks great, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and the owners Antje and Tommi are extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast there is fantastic also. In addition, you can rent kayaks, snorkeling gear and dive charters directly from them so you don't have to run around town looking for other options. Definitely check out kayaking to the small island just offshore.
Anyone looking for a relaxed and slightly more private stay in Samara should look in to staying at Villa Kunterbunt

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dhond0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt

Address: Samara Beach East End | 400 oeste de Villas, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Playa Samara
Price Range: $36 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Villa Kunterbunt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing