We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
463
98
5
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
463
98
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boogie boards palm trees fruit truck small pool cinnamon rolls ceviche costa rica lounge chairs the owner local fishermen fish market fresh fish deluxe room corner store bought fresh other guests in town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 578 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

Our family of 10 - from 10 years old to 75 years old- were well accommodated here! The rooms are clean and spacious, with kitchens perfect for making beach meals. It feels very safe here. Huge shady area with hammocks right on the beach. Phyllis and Bill are terrific hosts with great local info. Perfect place for families :) thanks for another fabulous Christmas vacation!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank LeeSCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

Very quiet sweet place right on the beach. I stayed there while taking a spanish course in Samara. Very well run hotel with kind people.
Very easy 15 min walk via walking on the beach to Samara town center, restaurants etc. (easier walk during low tide..).
A car would be handy at night to go back and forth from the hotel to Samara town.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Abedeen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

If you are looking for a place to totally relax and rest with great access to the beach, this is the place for you. As the owner Phyllis will tell you this is not a luxury resort but the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the ability to walk out of the door and immediately be on the beach or sit under the shade of palm trees and read a book gave my husband and I the rest we needed. While we were there it was during a full moon and high tide and I woke up one night because I could here the waves crashing a few feet away. As much as we came to Costa Rica to relax my husband and I needed to stay connected to friends and family and the internet access was excellent. Having a kitchen also allowed us to fix meals at home or go out to eat.
At high tide getting into the water requires walking over some rocky areas. A $14.00 pair of aqua socks bought at the local beach shop in town solved this problem. Shallow water and small waves makes this a great place for children and families to swim.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

Wonderful stay at this authentic Costa Rican hotel. Awakened to the birds and monkeys. Take a few steps out your door and the beach awaits. So relaxing laying in the hammocks with the palm trees swaying above. Easy walk to the town of Samara. We'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Middy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We stayed for two nights during our stay in Samara. The manager Gary was a great host and helped us to feel welcome by giving us helpful advice on the area and helping us to settle in. The property itself consists of a handful of rooms that are simple, but clean and well maintained with a small pool just outside the rooms. Just a few steps away there is an area with some palm trees and hammocks which leads you onto the beach. It is not exactly in the center of town you have to walk on the beach for 10 min or take a taxi but this wasn't a huge issue for us as Gary was able to arrange us taxi rides for cheap and even offered to drive us into town himself which we were grateful for. The times we did walk on the beach it was a pleasant walk. The rest of the staff were also very welcoming. All in all it was a great stay. Thanks again!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brooks G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews