We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd trip to the Fenix, and counting...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Perfect!
This six unit Hotel is everything the that we could ever want! The size and layout of the Hotel, lends itself to making new friends. We have made lasting friendships on each trip that we have made to the Fenix. The first two friends that we made, were Phyllis and Bill (The owners). They will go out of their way to make sure that your stay is perfect.
The location is incredible. The first time that you get out of your vehicle, and make your way around to your room (ocean side). It takes your breath away, when you see what you have chosen, for the first time! And you will never be let you down, each time you return.
The fresh fish and seafood is incredible. You can purchase fresh seafood, of your choosing, straight off the boats, as they come in. (A griller's paradise) There is also incredible fresh ceviche, that is brought by the Hotel. But, by far, nothing beats the fresh baked goods that are brought by each day (sweet or salty). Best cinnamon rolls, ever!
We will never stop coming to the Fenix Hotel. If you enjoy relaxing, being yourself, hanging out on the beach, beautiful sunsets and making new friends and adventures. We would highly recommend The Fenix Hotel, in Samara, Costa Rica!!!

Sincerely, Rob, Cathy and Evan

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenix_Samara, General Manager at Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

We are always honored when a guest returns. And, you have already reserved for next year, 2015!

It is guests like you that make our job easy. Guests become friends.

We look forward to your next visit.

Hasta luego,

Phyllis & Bill @ The Fénix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
There are newer reviews for Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 512 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

THE FENIX HOTEL!!!! Wow, what can I say. A lot... since we've been there 6 times and booked for 2015!! We found it by chance in 2004 and haven't looked elsewhere since, tried but keep coming back over & over. Why should we look anywhere else when all we want, need, desire & ask for is at our command, thanks to Phyllis & Bill...and their wonderful staff. You have the seclusion, a neighboring store, local fruit, veggies & baking delivered to your door, and town is a 15 minute walk. We've been on numerous activities thanks to the help from Phyllis & Bill, all so worthwhile.
We've brought our children, friends and my 75 year old mother, whom loved every minute and would go back in a heartbeat.
A previously stated, this is a place to meet old friends or make new ones.... Once you go there, you'll look no further.

We ran into some people we had met years prior, and had a blast again this year... Hi Jean & Gord from Toronto :). Had suppers, coffee & boat tours together. Amazing!!

Thanks again Bill & Phyllis

Ed & Loriane Miller

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmiller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenix_Samara, General Manager at Fenix Hotel - On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Six times at the Fénix, and the 7th reserved for 2015!

Staying two weeks at a time makes it about three months!

You both have assimilated to the local culture well. I am impressed.

We are glad you consider us your home away from home. We have enjoyed meeting your sons, mother and friends.

Looking forward to see my amigos next year.

Sincerely,

Phyllis & Bill @ The Fénix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Fenix Hotel has a perfect location if you like a more relaxed setting. The beach is wonderful and the area shaded by palm trees so near the water is very appealing. Phyllis and Bill along with their staff made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. They were very helpful in whenever we had questions. Hoping to return someday with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Been to Samara before but decided to trust reviews for the hotel we had stayed in years before, which were not so favorable.and choose the Fenix Hotel whose reviews seemed to fit what a Gringa mom and her Tico family of 2 plus a 2 year old needed. So glad we did!!

The kitchen was equipped for great meals if we wanted to cook but a short distance to restaurants if we wanted to eat out. We had a car, but if you don't and you are able, the walk to town is definitely doable, especially via the beach. There is a "pulpe" close that we walked to each morning for eggs or milk, etc. and enjoyed all the nature. Including morpho butterflies, iguanitos and beautiful blooming plants and flowers.

We were in #1 and enjoyed being on the end. The rooms are small but very clean. Sandra and housekeepers make sure your linen are changed and room is tidy. The bed I slept in was in the main area but wanted the family to have the private room. Downside was I had to enter to use bathroom. I think the deluxe room with air conditioner has a different set up.

The location is perfect, right on the beach and Handel keeps the grounds and pool area clean and beautiful. Lovely to swing in a hammock or lounge in a chaise and watch the sea and the boats. Definitely recommend mosquito repellant at all times.

Everything you read about Bill and Phyllis is true!! They do so much to make their guests feel comfortable and have the best stay possible. Phyllis walks the beach each morning and picks up any trash, we had great conversations about Costa Rica and life. I felt like we had known each other for years. They also have a "bodega" with an honor bar, library, beach toys, microwave and an informative bulletin board. Already planning my next trip!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My family and I have been visiting Fenix Hotel for a few years now and love it. The owners are very nice and provide a great service as well as the rest of the staff at the hotel. There is a large shaded area that is right on the beach with lounge chairs and hammocks that are not only very comfortable but also beautiful. Samara is a great beach and I recommend this hotel greatly to anyone that is looking for a good and relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 12 days spent at the Fenix. It was lovely to spend so much time with Phyllis a terrific hostess. You just have to mention that you would like to take a tour of the area by boat and presto she hooks you up with another couple travelling to another location by boat and some local fisherman and makes it happen. Amazing. A morning spent on the water.
We also took advantage of her recommendation to go and see the Maccaw reserve in Punta Islita, where a wonderfully passionate young man and his volunteers are out to save the Maccaws.
Another unique thing about the Fenix is that so many of their client are repeat clients, it was great to spend time with LoriAnne and Ed from Edmonton who we met a few years ago. Thanks for sharing your boat ride with us!
We thoroughly enjoyed our beach walks daily, often as far as Carrillo Beach, the next beach over, and in to town, a short 10 minute walk away.
But I have to say the best part of our trip this time was that we took advantage of the local farmers that come around with fresh fruit and vegetables and also the local butcher in town and had many barbeques on the beach. What could get better than eating by candle light with a sky full of stars and the ocean waves rolling in at our feet. Just Perfect.
Thanks Phyllis and Bill for another memorable vacation. .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanniToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Gracias, Phyllis and Bill, the ultimate Innkeepers! My husband and I stayed 11 nights at the Fenix when we first arrived in Costa Rica and enjoyed every minute of it! Spotlessly clean and well maintained the Fenix is a jewel on the beach!
The pool, the rooms, the staff, the location and all the little things that Phyllis and Bill have put such a lot of thought and effort into make it an incredibly inviting place to stay and an even harder place to leave! So much so, that we returned to spend our last afternoon and evening in Costa Rica at the Fenix after going off and exploring further south on the Nicoya peninsula, thank you Phyllis and Bill for making our first time in Costa Rica so happy and unforgettable!

Room Tip: Any room is Pura Vida at the Hotel Fenix on the Beach!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing