We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only stayed 2 nights because it was booked and I made reservations in August, so book early. The bed in our room was huge, and we had a fully-equipped kitchen. There is no AC but ceiling fans kept us cool. All rooms surround a lovely pool, and there's an honor bar with cold beverages. Best of all, it's just a few short steps to the beach, where you can lie in a hammock or lounge chair under palm trees. It's near the end of the beach so it's very quiet, but it's just a short walk to restaurants and shops. This is a great little hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a great place on the beach.

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms(I think) and all seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette010160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 515 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our third trip to Costa Rica but our first to Playa Samara.
Our first choice of hotels to stay at was The Fenix. It’s located right on the beach about a half mile down from the main part of town and all the beach restaurants and bars. Unfortunately, since we only booked four months in advance we were only able to reserve two nights (Christmas week).
The hotel consists of six very nice rooms set up in a little semicircle facing the small pool and the beach beyond. Our room, #5, came complete with stove and refrigerator and even a malitia for making our morning coffee (available from their little “bodega” along with pop, beer and water) The room was very clean with a huge, larger than king sized bed, hot water shower and a couple of ceiling fans (which were just fine for keeping us cool). It was very clean. All in all it was quite nice.
Just outside our door were small tables and chairs set up. Several of the guests were having their morning breakfast there. Twenty more steps and you’re past the pool and patio and walking barefoot in the sand through a grove of palm trees. The Fenix has beach recliners and hammocks set up here in the shade. It’s a great way to relax and listen to the surf without getting fried by the intense C.R. sun. Just beyond, the trees open up to a large expanse of beach (kind of rocky in places). At this end it’s pretty secluded and quiet.
There are dozens of nice restaurants down the beach a ways. It’s a dark walk after sundown but we felt very safe. Several of these restaurants accept credit cards. Expect to pay a bit more to eat on the beach here. You can rent surfboards and take lessons as well.
The town of Samara itself is quite small. A lot of the restaurants, bars and handmade jewelry shops are set up on the three or so block road running down to the beach. The other main road running perpendicular to the main street can be very busy with no sidewalks. Here you can find a bank, laundry and the local Pali grocery store.

Room Tip: Book early as this hotel fills up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceSpates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with Fenix! Over the course of 10 days (including Xmas) we took full advantage of the rooms, beach, pool, Phyllis' booking of tours, local restaurants, and more. Saying that the owners went above and beyond is an understatement- they even booked a sitter for us one night! The rooms are well equipped, the beds comfy, the service friendly. The beach is great for kids- tons of shells, hundreds of sand dollars to see, and a soft,easy surf for the little ones. The bodega has a tide chart, drinks for purchase, and lots of books to borrow. A small store at the end of the street rounds out the wonderful location. Thanks Phyllis and Bill for the terrific holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeSCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just returned from our vacation in Costa Rica. We stayed at the Hotel Felix for a week. The place is absolutely amazing – very clean, extremely well maintained. The location is perfect. It is right at the gorgeous beach. The owners Phyllis and Bill are absolutely wonderful people who do their best to make your stay enjoyable. They try to help with everything they possibly can. There is a small swimming pool – very clean and perfect for children. There is a 10 min walk to the nearest town Samara, but you can also take a two minute ride there by taxi – it is very cheap. You can rent a car if you want to drive around and see more, but you can easily survive without it – there is a grocery store one block away where you can find all the necessary stuff. Pescaderia (fish store) is within walking distance as well, and the quality of fish is superior.
Only one of 6 rooms has an AC, and initially I was concerned about staying at the room without it. But it turned out not to be a problem at all. You don’t stay much in the room during the day, and at night it is not hot, and ceiling fans are really helpful.
There age six people in our family aged 4 to 80, and all of us were happy there. We hope to return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want to stay on the beach in Samara, you'll struggle to beat Fenix Hotel.

The location just can't be beaten - you can close your door, and have your feet in the sand of the fantastic Samara beach in about fifteen seconds! It's a ten minute walk along the beach from the centre of Samara (to the south end I think), so is away from any evening noise, with minimal effort to get to the majority of shops/restaurants etc. You can even walk to the next beach (Playa Carillho) in about 30-40 minutes from here if you want.

The rooms - I'm not sure how mine (I had room no. 1) compares to the others, but it had a reasonably large sized bedroom with double bed, with a decent sized kitchen/dining area with large window looking out to the beach through the palm trees. Be aware that these rooms (apart from room 6 I believe) have a combination of windows and net covers, so from a noise perspective its like having all your windows permenantly open. This wasn't really a problem for me, becuase it is in such a quiet area, but I'd imagine might bother some people. The rooms were pretty simple, but nicely decorated, and clean, with everything you'll need, including a large fridge. There were also fresh flowers, which was a nice touch. No a/c, but I was there in December, and you didn't even need the fan at night, so it was no problem. Wifi was reliable.

The place - just 6 rooms, around a small pool, separated from the beach by just a few palm trees. There is no bar or restaurant at the hotel, but you don't need to go far for anything. You can borrow a boogie board any time, and help yourself to cold drinks (just note down what you've taken to put it on your room tab), and there are washing machines if you need to do your laundry. The American owners (Phyllis and Bill) are happy to happy to help you with any trips or travel plans etc. (They mentioned I should try a "pipa" coconut water, and then had the cleaner leave one in my room for me later that day! (By the way, they also look after a couple of disabled squirrels!)) There is also a thorough information pack in the room when you arrive, with suggested tours, and lots of details about the local area - all very organised!

All in all, a simple but pleasant and well run place, with a perfect location. Fenix Hotel is difficult to beat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MT101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Fenix is among the nicest little hotels we have been to in our travels through Central America. It is attractive and clean, the American owners are friendly and know the area well. The kitchen in our room was well equipped and there is a good local tienda for fast groceries (a Pali for harder to find things in the town of Samara about 2 k away walking along the beach). The Fenix is quiet, with a well kept beach front, lots of shade, boogie boards for general use in the surf. Many of the guests were repeat visitors or had been recommended to the hotel by friends. Its the sort of place you don't want to tell too many people about because you'd like to go back yourself. The only thing I might wish for would be fewer roosters gracing the yards of the Fenix's Tico neighbours. If you are a light sleeper you might want to pack earplugs. The really nice thing about the Fenix and Samara in general is that is is not overdeveloped. Its a sweet place for a quiet vacation on great beach.

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenSnapdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family of 4 spent three nights at Fenix Hotel this past December. We loved having the beach just footsteps away and our 4 yr old and 9 yr old loved using the boogie boards provided by the hotel. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk on the beach to town. The beach was tranquil and there were no riptides to worry about. We loved making our own meals and then hanging out and dining around the pool area to wrap up the day while the kids swam. We will be visiting Samara again in March and plan to stay at Fenix Hotel once again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tecmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $105 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing