We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny Spot amidst the Rain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My family and I stayed two nights at the Fenix Hotel this week. We live in Monteverde so we reached the hotel in about three hours by car. We have two five year old boys, so we were delighted to see such a well equipped kitchenette so we could keep them well fed. The first night we stayed in the Deluxe Room which does have a TV and air conditioning, although it was so cool we did not use the AC. We moved rooms our second night due to someone else having reserved the Deluxe room for the night and I actually preferred this room over the Deluxe. The air-flow was nice to have and the absence of a TV was not missed. The six room hotel was laid out in a semi-circle which allowed you to converse with your neighbors and share a cocktail if you wish. Each room has a great view of the pool, so I could do the dishes while my boys frolicked in the pool. The pool is the perfect size for youngsters so no safety concerns! The beach is just beyond the pool where hammocks are strung between trees and loungers are positioned for guests to 'take a load off'.

Phyllis and Bill welcomed us and made us feel very comfortable. The hotel staff was very sweet and supplied an abundance of dry throw rugs during our stay as the rain was constant. We also had access to boogie boards, beach toys for the kids and soda, water and beer for the adults. They also let you use their laundry facilities for $5.00 a load. The laundry service and beverages are on 'the honor system' which is so refreshing to see now a days. Simply write your room number on the receipt book that hangs in the storage room and you're set!

I enjoyed a run to nearby Playa Carrillo which is about 3.5 miles from the hotel where there is a classic beach which was calling the surfers due to the big waves from the storm.

I will definitely recommend this hotel and plan to be back another time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 513 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a nicely run, small family owned hotel. The rooms are kept very clean, all the necessary amenities are there and the service is excellent. Our shower got clogged one day and was fixed in an hour. There are total 6 rooms in the hotel only one of which has A/C. So if you think you'll need an A/C (it gets pretty hot and humid) then be sure to book that one. There is a kitchen/dining room area and a separate bedroom in all rooms. All rooms have a stove and a refrigerator and a there is a grocery store minutes away by walking. The hotel is right on the beach, you walk through a little tree line before the sand. There is a little pool in front of the hotel, which is kept very clean and great for cooling off. Also, be prepared to see some small sand crabs that may crawl into your room. They are harmless, stay on the floor (they also like the shower) and can be fun to watch.

When we were there, the beach right in front of the hotel had quite a few rocks. And the same amount in the water. We walked a bit ether north or south before jumping in and enjoying the waives. Samara beach in general is beautiful stretch, with gorgeous views and the waives are great for beginner surfers. Most guide books will tell you that the beach is nicer at the north end, which is true, although south end is quite nice as well.

The hotel is situated in a small local fishing village about 20 minutes walking on the beach from the center of town. (its a bit farther if you walk on the road, which is unlit). But you can get a taxi for about $2 to take you back to the hotel from the center of town. Also be warned that at high tide its impossible to walk on the beach from the hotel to town without getting your feet wet. So if you like being away from it all, this is the place, and its not far, so one can walk or drive into town for dinner, drinks or surfing lessons.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe room with the AC.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Hotel Fenix was perfect for our family. The ocean front location, beautiful grounds and really nice room with full kitchen made this a perfect place for us to complete our wonderful two week vacation in Costa Rica. There is a small grocery store close by, and it is wonderful to walk along the beach to the "center of town" at low tide. We enjoyed surfing lessons, boogie boarding and hanging out here!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

On the beach, beautiful room, and Phylis & Bill were very accommodating. The fresh flowers when we arrived were really special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at Fenix for 2 nights in Aug 2011 and wish we could have stayed there longer. It's a lovely small hotel, just 6 rooms in a semicircle around a pool area, with a great shaded sandy garden full of hammocks and lounge chairs that extends right up to the beach.

In my opinion, it's the perfect distance away from the main drag of town--an easy 10 minute walk along the beach. As everyone has said, all the rooms have fully stocked kitchens and there is a mini super about two blocks away on the road where you can get food cheaper than the downtown mini supers. There's also a grill if you feel inspired, which was awesome. The rooms are comfortable, pretty spacious and well lit. Don't worry about no AC here... the building is designed with high ceilings, vents at the top, and fans in all the rooms, we really didn't feel the need for AC.

The owners are very nice Seattlites :) and can give you lots of good suggestions for restaurants and places in town. Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I have stayed at Hotel Fenix several times over the last three years. It is located in a small beach town called Sámara in Guanacaste on the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. The hotel is small (5-6 rooms), and it has a small pool. The rooms are very clean with full kitchens. I love the family atmosphere of the place- you can get beers or drinks from the cooler and just sign your name and room number! The owners are very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of hammocks and beach chairs for relaxing, reading, watching the sunset, people-watching, etc. The garden is beautiful as well. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaRicaChica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our family of four loved the time we spent at Fenix on the beach. We paid for two nights up front and ended up staying a week. It was the perfect blend of out of the way and enough access to facilities such as grocery stores and eateries. The hotel room came with a well supplied kitchenette. We especially enjoyed time on the beach when the tide was low, our kids could take out the hotel's boogie boards, and I (mamá) had plenty of flat sand to practice yoga. But best of all was the sunset hour when the neighbor's boats returned and we could purchase fresh fish filets for dinner!

Room Tip: We stayed in tow of the six rooms and they were both optimal!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
894 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $100 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing