We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just returned from a great trip to Costa Rica. The Hotel Fenix was awesome. Right on the beach with hammocks, swaying palm trees, and ocean breezes. Phyllis, the owner, was really helpful and gave us great tips on a local waterfall and tidepool adventures. Samara Beach is a great family beach, Our kids ages 11 and 13 spent hours in the water boogie boarding (hotel has boogie boards and sand toys). We also went horseback riding on the beach. The hotel is quiet and a short walk along the beach to town, but away from the crowds, so it's really peaceful. We enjoyed the iguanas and monkeys nearby in the trees. We enjoyed the restaurant Pizza and Pasat a Go-Go in town and I had the best fresh red snapper I've ever had. We also enjoyed the on the beach restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwithkiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 532 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful time back at the Hotel Fenix. It was like coming home to the newly painted Unit number 4. The beach is ever changing but was as beautiful as ever. It was great to be welcomed by by Phyllis and Bill. This year we took advantage of the barbeque supplied by the Fenix and what could be more perfect than to bbq steaks,while sipping wine and watching the sunset from the beach in front of your room. Jessica's fresh pastries and quiche arrived every morning to start our day. We used Fenix as our home base and explored from there and found some wonderful hidden gems. The best patio to watch the sunset, a waterfall off the beaten path, breathtaking views from the top of the mountain and a wonderful patio looking over a valley to have lunch. Phyllis is a wonderful source of information on the best places to go. Phyllis and Bill are always there to make sure that you are having the best time possible.
If you are looking fo a vacation away from tourists and crowds this is the place to go. Beautiful location, friendly hotel guests, exceptional hosts. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanniToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This was the best place we stayed in costa rica! The hosts were fantastic and very welcoming, we felt really at home. The location is fantastic, right on the beach. Could not have asked for more. Thank you very much, Kate and Scott

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlboroughstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My wife and our two teenager daughters stayed at the Fenix at the end of our 2 week travel holliday in Costa Rica. It was a perfect setting to relax after travelling and exploring in Costa Rica. We had spent a few days in a big resort in La Fortuna doing all the tourist attractions and rented a car and drove to Monteverde for the ziplines. We pampered ourselves at an all-inclusive at a picture postcard beach with the rest of the crowds but we were glad to leave. After a week and a half we had not yet felt we had had a real Costa Rican experience..until we hit Samara and Hotel Fenix. The hotel is a little off the beaten path, which was perfect as it was peaceful and quiet. (except for the mangos falling off the trees and hitting the tin roof) It is located right on the beach, about a 15 min walk along the beach to town, but is accessed through a typical Costa Rican neighbourhood. This may throw a few people off who are not too adventurous as it is not the cleanest or prettiest area around. The hotel has 6 quaint little rooms, (only room 6 has a TV and A/C) which we had booked and would definately recommend. The room was clean and modern with a little kitchen perfect for preparing lunches and the odd dinner if you didn't feel like walking into town. (there is a little Tico supermarket 1 block behind the hotel that offer the basics) Laying in the hammocks in the shade of the palms watching the waves roll in was truely relaxing and one of the best experiences of our trip. The beach was a little rocky near the hotel, but this was due to a winter storm but once past that, the beach and water were great. The owner's daughter stops by every couple of days with fresh baking for breakfast. The hotel has a beer/cooler/pop fridge which is used on the honour system and you pay when you leave. This is a place to get away and to recharge, read a book and take siestas. If this is what you are looking for, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flash2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed there for 2 weeks late Feb-early March and had a wonderful time! This hotel is perfect for the traveller seeking:
- ultimate relaxation WITHOUT crowds, motorized activities on the water
-beautiful, perfect for swimming beach 20 steps away from your room
-comfortable, very clean rooms with full kitchen and grill outside. We stayed in an air-conditioned unit (#6) and non-air conditioned as well. I was very concerned about our stay in the latter, but the proximity to the ocean, and very powerful fans with high ceilings made the room very comfortable.

Local fishermen sell fish daily and there is a small grocery store 3 min walk away, a big supermarket 20 min walk/ 5 min car drive away for anything you need to cook on your own. Everyday locals sell ceviche and sometimes fresh fruit right near the hotel. The wireless is strong and consistent and my husband had no problems working online right on the beach.

The hotel is located right in the middle of Samara beach and 10-15 min walk on the beach to the town. There are couple of great restaurants right on the beach. Our favorite was by far El Lagarto. Unbelievable steaks and grilled fish. There are surf schools, kayak rentals 10 min away from the hotel. The rest of the activities y can organize in the town. There is even an outdoor gym (3-4$ a day) 3 min walk to the right from the hotel.

The owners, Phyllis and Bill were wonderful hosts, very personable and attentive. The baked goodies their daughter makes daily that everyone else is raving about are indeed, delicious and impossible to resist.

The area and the hotel are perfect for a very relaxing, comfortable stay in a beautiful setting. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 5, 4 were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracekellyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed at the Fenix for 12 days with two small children aged 3 years and 8 months. The room was large enough for the four of us, and the kitchen well equipped. There was no baby crib, but staff was very helpful with making a nice bed for the baby. Fenix is a little out of town, but the walk to town was beautiful during late afternoon sunsets, and you can easily walk to town along the beach with a stroller during low tide - however the 15 minute walk is strenous during sunny hours with small kids. Taxis are very cheap and easy to get hold of and the staff was always helpful to call when we needed it. Lovely shady and windy area with hammocks between hotel and beach which was enjoyed by kids as well as adults - perfect for putting a baby to sleep. Nice little cool pool which is nice for the kids to play in. Lots of beach toys to borrow. Perfect place to just relax and get away from it all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolkirstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

The Fenix is a small ocean front hotel on a quiet beach within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Interesting birds and howler monkeys are close by for viewing. It is so relaxing to sit in the hammock in the shade and look out at the ocean. The main draw at this hotel is the friendliness and extreme helpfulness of the owners. Phyllis was especially helpful in arranging transportation to our other destinations. Many guests were repeat clients who were staying for their second visit. Don't miss out on Phyillis' daughter's spinach quiche for brunch whenever it is available.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mew5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
313 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel - On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel - On The Beach

Address: Mts Sur de Pulperia Stephanie 100 | Samara de Nicoya, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Samara
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $133 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six time winner of the Traveller's Choice Award for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, and 2009! Thank you to all of our wonderful guests. We are a small (6 rooms), beach-front hotel just footsteps from the ocean. Our rooms are clean, colorful and comfortable. We are NOT an all-inclusive, luxury resort. More like your place at the beach, but with someone else doing the daily cleaning, changing the linens and yard work. The rooms are in a semi-circle and face the pool, gardens and the ocean. (see photos) Great way to meet new people and exchange information and stories. We have been here 17 years managing our "little piece of paradise". Our front yard is sand with ranchos and palm trees for plenty of shade. Hammocks, sunbeds, small pool, gardens and BBQ complete our front yard. All of our rooms have fully equipped kitchens with separate bedroom. The deluxe room has AC & widescreen TV. Standard rooms have upper and lower screened windows and two ceiling fans. Our neighborhood has a small grocery store & fish market, along with local deliveries of fruits and fresh ceviche. An enjoyable 15 minute walk to Samara Central. Most of our guests return or have been recommend by friends. Thank you for considering our special place by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fenix Hotel - On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing