We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tico Adventure Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$84
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$72
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Paraiso(Playa Samara)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Kalimba(Playa Samara)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
96
43
22
3
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
43
22
3
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenstudio apartmentcasa del solthe ownercosta ricabusy roadtwo blocksyoga spacein towncleaning staffhowler monkeysnice poolsurrounded by treesnice sizeexcellent hostswarm wateropen air
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 177 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I had a great experience here. The staff is super helpful in advising what to do/see in and around town. Feels like my home away from home. Great pool, super clean, super friendly. Stayed in the "mini" apt. Perfect for one or two people. Had a full kitchen and loved my neighbors the Howler monkeys!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hi Gowander!

Thanks Chica! We miss you! It was so nice having your here with us for over a month! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the fun things to do in the área, including getting a stand up paddle board! You rock! Please stop by and visit, and you know "nuestra casa es su casa" :)

Que le vaya bien!
Tico Adventure Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I loved my time at the Tico Adventure Lodge! The staff was wonderful & property very welk maintained with lush trees & flowers throughout. The communal kitchen is great for your morning coffee break. The pool is nicely shaded to keep the pool nice & cool on hot days. I live the outdoor gym for true Costa experience. Congo the property mascot (3 legged blacklab) is a sweetheart. Rooms are very clean & cleaning staff great!. I will definitely return on my next Samara visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rastasurf, Front Office Manager at Tico Adventure Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi Nicole! It was a pleasure having you here! Whenever you want to come back we will have hot coffee and a cool pool awaiting your arrival! Oh and Congo will be wagging his tail! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wonderful, beautiful, comfy hotel! The open air kitchen has fridge, freezer, blender, etc. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The surf shop they partner with was great!!!! (C&C surf)
STAY HERE!!! it's a little bit of a walk to the beach, but not enough to matter.
We LOVED it here!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool will be noisy in the mornings with cleaning staff and children. Room 5 was awesome! comfy bed, quiet, clean, private.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The American owners are proud to have built Tico Adventure Lodge without cutting any trees. The place is charming and exotic. Our room was small with a cool balcony. The common kitchen is very basic and I would not count on it to really cook. Common fridge to share was a nice touch. At the reception, Anina was super helpful and we could not thank her enough for her guidance with the area and possible activities. There was a wind storm on one of the night we stayed at Tico Adventure. We woke up to a loud bang and it kept banging all night with avocados and other fruits falling on the metal roof. We fell like we were under attack :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our one week stay at the TAL was in the poolside bungalow. It was comfortable, clean, private and there were no concerns over security. The communal kitchen was open-air, clean and well stocked with everything we needed to prepare our meals. It was also a nice spot to visit with other guests over morning coffee. The swimming pool was truly an oasis with lush gardens surrounding it and a refreshing water temperature. Samara is a small town so everything was in walking distance and by our calculations only 5 minutes to the beach. Chris, Janice and their staff were very friendly, helpful and committed to making our stay very pleasant. We traveled around Costa Rica for three weeks and this was one of our favorite stays.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews