We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Rustic and Idyllic!”
Review of Entre Dos Aguas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entre Dos Aguas
Ranked #6 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming, Rustic and Idyllic!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two day in this lovely little place located in the sleepy town of Samara. While on the main road, it has a feeling of isolation as it is tucked away in a verdant, lush environment sound-proofed of any traffic noise. We are very sensitive to street noise and look for the more remote pensions and this was definitely one of them. The little path to the lodge was flanked by all the beautiful foliage and the welcoming pool.

The lounge had some lovely hammocks that we spent a lot of time lounging in, relaxing in the soft breeze from the ceiling fans, the swishing sounds of the trees and the merry birds flitting through the shrubbery. There was also a book exchange in the lounge.

Our room was simple but inviting, adorned with pretty wooden décor. There was no hot water but you do not need it even in December (the winter season). The cool showers were actually quite refreshing.

Guests had access to a kitchen and a steady supply of aromatic coffee all day. By the way, we drank water straight out of the faucet all over Costa Rica. We cooked a simple breakfast one day and a lot of people even cooked their other meals very easily.

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and have an adorable little toddler. We had some interesting conversations with them.

The beach is a short walk away and so are a myriad of restaurants – ranging from the simple to the more elegant ones right on the beach. Two of the restaurants we tried had wonderful food!

Playa Carillo is another beautiful beach that is a 5-minute drive from the lodge. I highly recommend it.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable experience in the quaint town of Samara in the tranquil Entre Dos Aguas and would definitely return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmingNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    36
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
90
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to Entre Dos Aguas for a family vacation with our adult children, and what a treat it was! We spent a week there and it was our most relaxing vacation ever. Lilah and Brandon Park provide an inviting, comfortable environment that is so welcoming! Our biggest decision (aside from what restaurant at which to have dinner) was whether to go to the beach or to hang out at the pool. The second hardest choice of the day was deciding if we should nap in our room, or on the hammock on the veranda. Our kids chose to surf and to do yoga, but my husband and I are good to just regroup. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: There are only eight rooms. From the ones i saw, they are all unique. We stayed in the "suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel was very eclectic and laid back. The owners were very helpful when we needed to book tours. They even fixed my camera for me! The hotel is a 10 min walk to the beach and has a small swimming pool too where you can chill out at. There is akao a patio area with hammocks to relax. The rooms were basic but very clean and the shower area is a great feature. The only draw back is there is no a/c but tons of fans. I would definitely stay here again. Value for money. Big plus was free wifi!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our family has stayed at Entre dos Aguas two times, and we would easily go back again. This is a really pleasant place to hang out, close to the beach, but still quiet. It's a smaller hotel, friendly and relaxing. The rooms are spacious and they serve a nice breakfast. This is a great place for families as there is a convenient kitchen for guest use so you don't have to go out for meals, unless you want to.
The owners helped us in so many ways, arranging fishing trips, helping us make reservations in a remote area we wanted to visit, and much more. We enjoyed hanging out in the hammocks and by the pool in between surfing and fishing. Plus the rooms are really cool, as other reviewers have noted, the bathrooms are designed with local shells and stones.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I have just enjoyed our last week of an extended holiday here, and it was perfect. Just a short walk to the beach, set in a lovely quiet location but steps to everything. Awesome pool etc. The owners Brandon and Lilah are great. Totally helpful, yet unobtrusive. I've read some of the comments about the dogs and trust me, as someone who is very scared of aggressive dogs having been bitten twice myself, these are two of the sweetest ones around. Once the dogs know you are a guest they treat you like family, while at the same time giving me the feeling of being very safe. They just have big barks. Loved Entre dos Aguas and if I return to Samara I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WealthyInSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Entre Dos Aguas was one of the best stays I have had in quite some time, and I am a travel photographer. Thanks to Budget Travel magazine's article on the town of Samara, we knew to book our stay at Entre Dos Aguas, but we had no idea it would be THIS awesome! Both Brandon & Lilah were very helpful in letting us know where to eat and surf and take day trips. We stayed in the tree house which was an amazing large room with a balcony and kitchen. We also spent lots of time in the lobby's hammocks and the private pool. I HIGHLY recommend staying here, ASAP!

Room Tip: "Splurge" for the tree house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyT853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Peninsula, ON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights but I could have stayed for weeks! Our party was 3 adults and a baby and we stayed in the tree house. It's so nice and so big! The big bed was very comfortable and convenient for us with the baby. The pool was lovely as were the hammocks in the common area. The owners were away when we were there but Mike was a great host! THE BEST VALUE IN COSTA RICA!!! Oh yeah, and there was a family of 9 monkeys that had breakfast and lunch beside our balcony every day, which was so cool!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeGoThereToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
396 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
218 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entre Dos Aguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entre Dos Aguas

Property: Entre Dos Aguas
Address: First property in Samara, Playa Samara 5235, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an eight room hotel located close enough to walk to the beach, while still maintaining an environment of private jungle tranquility. We offer spacious rooms with comfortable beds hand-crafted from locally grown woods. Our private bathrooms feature unique stone or mosaic hot water showers. Don't forget our pool, tropical garden, and popular hammock area.Please join us in lovely Playa Samara, Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entre Dos Aguas Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing