We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Tree House Inn
Ranked #4 of 33 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We stayed at the Treehouse Inn for eleven days and had such a wonderful time. The staff was very attentive, and gracious. To be able to step through the beachside gate and have the water be literally 25-30 yards away at high tide was amazing. Truly a beautiful place and wonderful staff.
We will definetly go their again!
TK

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tklm96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    68
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
45
220
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

I just got back from a week's stay at the Samara Treehouse Inn. It was honestly one of the best vacations I've taken. I was there with four of my friends and we took 3 of the 5 rooms available. The hotel is only 3 months old, thus everything was in tip-top shape. As with most hotels in the area, there is no A/C. However, it really is not needed. The combination of ceiling fans and the ocean breeze keep the rooms cool. Every morning we were greeted with a friendly 'Buenas' from the staff. Carmen, Ester, Roberto, and Victor do excellent job in making sure that the guests are comfortable. Breakfast was provided and was always more than enough. However, I do recommend walking around the corner to the 'panaderia' (bakery) and buying something fresh from the oven. They have this chocolate filled pastry that goes perfectly with your morning coffee.

The hotel is literally right on the beach. The oceanside rooms have the best views in town. You look out the window to a sight of crashing waves. If the sun get too intense, you can basically lay in the shaded hammock but still enjoy the view. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I do know that I will be a repeat customer.

  • Liked — Location/Friendliness of Staff
  • Disliked — Water pressure in showers is lacking
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the bakery around the corner
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2006

This small "hotel" was more than you can ask for--just got back after 3 nights there Nov 7-9, it was hard to leave. First off, many of the hotels in Playa Samara are not directly on the beach--all are in walking distance b/c the town is quite small but the Samara Tree House Inn is directly on the beach. You hear the waves from you room around the clock and the atmosphere of calmness and relaxation is perfect for a holiday.

The staff was wonderful--Carmen, Roberto, Esther, Victor (night desk worker--we asked him for a wakeup call at 5AM as we had to leave the last day, he knocked on our door EXACTLY at 5AM), Joel (owner), the rooms excellent. Like others, I suspect the place will fill up quickly so reserve/call ahead--excellent value for the money, albeit a bit more pricey than many of the other options in Playa Samara. The rooms were around 100/night, with the poolside room being slightly less, although this is the one we stayed in and loved it. The poolside room is not on the "stilts" but as you open the door you still see the beach and can hear the waves thru the night. The layout of the rooms are the same with the exception of the location of doors. I suspect the rates will increase during "high season".

Restaurants--
El Lugarto--steaks, BBQ chicken, fish--excellent but pricey, about 10$ US pp, only menu I saw with prices in USD

El Dorado--DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE. Italian, run by a couple from Italy. Off the main road on a small road towards Nosara, near the bank. AWESOME PIZZA, AMAZING HOMEMADE PASTA, the spaghetti was the best I've had. Pizza's were about 5-6$, pasta was about 6-8$.

Casa de Coco--on the main road. Good chalupa and nachos. Dinner was about 6-8$

  • Liked — Location, people, accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brymerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica and North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2006

My boyfriend and I just returned from only 2 nights at the treehouse inn and we could have stayed for weeks. Besides the incredible view, breeze, rooms, kitchen, and environment, the people that we met at the inn were very genuine and caring. I highly recommend this wonderful, romantic retreat!

  • Liked — the view and the empty beach (location was awesome)
  • Disliked — nothing! (maybe lack of a/c, but not really needed)
  • Tips/Secrets — book ahead
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilymoore3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Tree House Inn Oct. 22nd thru Oct. 27th. This place is totally awesome! The weather turned out great considering it was the end of the rainy season. We only had one day of rain. The rates are very reasonable and you are within walking distance of everything you need. The best thing about this place is that you are right on the beach. I cannot say enough about the staff of the Treehouse Inn. The service is excellent and you couldn't meet a more genuine and down to earth group of people. The tree houses themselves are wonderful. The houses are equipped with a full kitchen(refrigerator, stove, oven, sink, microwave, pots and pans, all utensils), nice tiled bathrooms, ceiling fans, and satellite TV. You will get some of the best sleep of your life listening to the waves crash onto the beach all night. The Inn offers complimentary breakfast each morning which includes fresh fruit, your style of eggs, toast, great coffee and juice. The beach is really nice. Surfing at high tide is a lot of fun or just swimming throughout the day is also nice. The water temperature is great. We will definitely be going back to the Tree House Inn.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan to spend more than one week
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jmorrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2006

Just go back yesterday and we are already miss the Tree House Inn. We were staying at another hotel and were walking on the beach when we noticed the Tree House Inn. One of the staff let us see one of the rooms and we immediately reserved the next three nights. The location is great, in town and right on the beach. Everthing is new....double bed,satelite TV, bathroom (hot water 24/7), kitchen w/ stove & refrigerator, microwave, toaster, sofas and front windows that open up with a great view of the beach. The rooms come without air conditionings but there are 2 ceiling fans and a wall mounted fan to keep you cool. There is also a small space under the rooms with 2 hammocks, small tables/chairs and a bbq pit. We spent many hours either reading or sleeping in the hammocks. The staff was great. They were very friendly, always helpful and kept the grounds well manicured. We looked forward to the fresh fruit, eggs, coffee and juice served every morning. There is also a small pool to cool yourself in you get to hot just lounging around. Everything is in walking distance as the town in small. There is a great panaderia (bakery) right down the street, several small stores to buy your snacks, a post office and bank. The bank has an ATM but we had trouble since our card had the VISA logo. We were told it takes many attempts for the ATM machine to make a connection to get your cash. If you still have trouble you can alway go inside and they'll help you out. There is a great little bar called La Vela. The drinks are reasonable, play good music and it's right on the beach. The best thing about La Vela are the rocking chairs. I highly recommend the Tree House Inn as it made our stay in Samara, Costa Rica a great experience. This place will become popular very soon so visit quickly or reserve a room well in advance.

  • Liked — Everything was brand new and it was only step away from the beach.
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserve well in advance.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank soccerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We went to Samara not knowing what to expect and without reservations and found the Treehouse which made our experience in this beautiful little place really worthwhile. The staff at this small hotel was friendly and helpful. They have onsite kayak rentals and arranged for a wonderful (and cheap!) local horseback ride. The small pool is great, too. The rooms on stilts are on the beach with a perfect view through palm trees. Although there is no a/c, the cross breeze and ceiling fans create a very comfortable temperature. The windows facing the beach open completely so it is like you are outside. The furniture is pleasant and comfortable and there is a full kitchen with plates/utensils/sink/stove/oven/coffee maker, etc. Nice beach towels are also provided by the hotel. Breakfast is served poolside. Beneath each treehouse is a comfortable sitting area with 4 person table and chairs, lighting, two hammocks, a sink and a barbeque. It was our best hotel experience in Costa Rica and we can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — I liked just about everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead, this place is new and will become very popular
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Tree House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Tree House Inn

Property: Samara Tree House Inn
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Samara Tree House Inn. We offer six luxury tree house style apartments right in the heart of Samara Village. We are located directly ON the beach and in the middle of town, close to numerous activities, shops and restaurants, including surf rentals and lessons next door. These charming tropical hardwood units all have WiFi and are situated amongst beautiful tropical gardens and an idyllic pool with a shallow area for sun tanning while partly submerged in the water. Wake up every morning to breakfast, the sound of the waves, and the cool breeze of the ocean. Don’t walk by and wish you had stayed here. DO stay here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samara Tree House Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing