We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in Samara”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samara Tree House Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We spent 8 nights here and loved it. I did a lot of research before hand, and this is the only hotel in town and on the beach. Everything else is either a block or 2 back from the beach, or on the beach a long walk from town. Or it's a backpacker's hostel.

It's the most convenient location, with the grocery store across the street, and the surf school (C&C) 2 doors down.

It's true that there's no AC. But there are fans in the bedrooms, and even a Canadian like me was perfectly comfortable at night without the AC. My husband even turned the fan off a few nights.

I do wish there were screens on the front windows. We had to close the windows at sun down, otherwise the room would fill with flying bugs.

And my husband was getting a little sick of other tourists taking pictures from the beach while he was laying in his hammock, and then coming up and asking questions about the room, because it is a unique setup.

It must be booked well in advance. There is actually only 5 rooms, since one is used as an office. We saw lots of people arrive and hope to get in, only to be disappointed. Our friends that were travelling with us had booked the Mirador on the suggestion of someone who had spent their honeymoon there. But when they saw the Treehouse, they asked for a room. They were only able to move 3 days later.

Rooms 2 & 3 have the best views of the beach, 4 & 5 have a bush in front of them. #1 is the ground floor unit.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 344 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2007

We stayed in the Treehouse for 2 of our 4 nights for part of our honeymoon in Samara. They were really great nights! The hotel books up pretty fast, and has we known that we would have reserved space for all 4 nights.

We had the lower level room; it had beautiful vaulted ceilings with all wood & teak beams, tile & bright decorations. There was no A/C, however there were 2 fans in the bedroom which really cooled everything off quite well. The hotel is directly on the beach, and there is a good flow of air that circulated through our room the whole time.

The staff were all very friendly and helped with anything we needed. The location was the best in town, two houses down from the surf shop so that we could walk a few feet away to rent our surfboards & sea kayaks. It was a truly wonderful experience and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone going to visit Samara!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kmdurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We had three nights here and the location is spot on, literally on the beach front. Each tree house comes with 2 hammocks, private bbq and table where you are served breakfast. The rooms are large and new, including your own kitchen. All of this is brilliant and from what we saw, if you can afford it this has to be the place to stay in Samara. You can hire from the surf shop next door though the waves are fairly tame so good for beginners.

But the reason we didn’t give it a 5 is cos of the following few gripes:

- We booked months in advance but got allocated room 5 which has all views of the ocean blocked by trees – rooms 2 or 3 are best
- Owners were friendly but we met lots more friendly people in Costa Rica … we couldn’t quite put our finger on it but this was our impression
- Our room was only cleaned once during our 3 day trip

Tips if you do go there:

- There’s a cheaper supermarket than the one directly opposite … go left out the front gate, turn first right and its at the end of the road on the right
- EL Lagarto’s is brill for bbq dinners by the beach

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

I took my girlfriend to the Treehouse Inn for her birthday. The place is AWESOME....except there is no A/C. Costa Rica is about 80 degrees year round. We got lucky with a rain storm on the first night which was VERY cool; however, the next three days saw no rain and increased temperatures. By day four, we were sweating in bed making it difficult to sleep. Our only other complaint was the mattress which was extremely low quality and killed our backs.

The Treehouse is VERY clean. Esther at the front desk is awesome!!!!!!!!! She put us in touch with Mel Gibson's masseuse(her friend) ..only a short walk from the Treehouse. Massages were great and the massage parlor was outdoor and very relaxing. If you get the massage don't get "mint" if she asks you!! It is basically like putting Icy Hot or Ben Gay on your entire body and it burns!

The Treehouse is RIGHT ON the beach which is wonderful and not possible in most parts of coastal Costa Rica. The only place to buy food (or anything you need) is literally 20 feet from the front gate. Super convenient. We bought chicken there and BBQ'ed on our own BBQ Pit under our treehouse. The sunsets in Samara are straight off athe postcard. Just beautiful!

We went during the Rainy Season (USA Summer). We had sunshine and blue skies 4 out of 6 days. It did rain for 21 days straight before we got there so Samara bay was not as blue as you see in pictures. 2 rivers drain into Samara Bay. It was clear enought by day 4 to snorkel though (which we reccommend). We rented a car and drove from Liberia Int'l Airport. Don't forget to add 2 extra hours on ANY drive you make ANYWHERE in Costa Rica! During the rainy season bridges get swept away and road that were normally passable may or may not be out. We had a GPS in our rental SUV. GPS and 4x4's are worth their weight in gold in Costa Rica. Get the GPS! Very easy to use and they even have the dirt roads clearly marked. You will thank me later.

Wingnuts Canopy Tour is right up the road from the Treehouse. Esther at the front desk lined that trip up for us. Do the Canopy Tour!! Do not do the Turtle Tour...it's long (7 hours) and you might not see a turtle for three hours...we learned the hard way. Sol Azteca Mexican Restaurant is also just up the road and we loved it.

The pool at the Treehouse is immaculate and the service is amazing. The Treehouse is probably the newest and nicest place in Samara; however, we would have given up the luxury of the Treehouse for Air conditioning. I would reccommend the Treehouse to anyone who does not have a problem with sleeping in 80 degrees.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnroymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights! It was the first of 4 places on our Costa Rica adventure. It was sooo nice to pull up to the front and be greeted by friendly staff and shown to our Treehouse. It was very relaxing and a true vacation. The staff was very helpful with directions around town and helping us if we needed anything.

The hotel lets you take the reclining chairs from the hotel to the beach which was great and I highly recommend. There is also a very convenient surf camp next door to either enjoy surf yourself, or watch beginners successfully stand up.

We walked the beaches looking for shells and sea glass, but unfortunately all was confiscated at the airport since they called them "National Treasures". Not sure if sea glass really counts...but just keep this in mind.

The breakfast everymorning under our treahouse every morning was so nice, great food and view.

There is also a wonderfully warm (small) pool in the center of the complex which was great to hang out in after time in the ocean. Everything is still very new, it's only 10 mos old, so a very nice treat.

There is a smal bakery around the corner with great treats (fruit with ice cream or pizza). A few doors down is Shake Joe's where you can sit out on large couch like seats and drink wonderful milkshakes.

The only thing we regret is not staying longer. As we stayed there we thought it would be a great place for a family vacation with multiple families renting out different units.

Highly recommend flying into Liberia. It's worth the extra $100 to not deal with San Jose and the drive is so much closer.

Driving was not as bad as we thought. We never drove at night! The roads aren't great, but I wouldn't say they were terrible. We had a 4 wheel drive but only needed that up in the Mtns near Montevede. There are lots of pot holes, especially because of the rainy season. Just don't drive as fast as you would in the states.

Enjoy your stay, play in the ocean, open the french windows and listen to the waves crashing at night. Great place to relax!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flipper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Our friends recommended this place to us and we weren't planning on making the trip to Samara, but we were sooo glad that we ended up going! This place is just so unique and amazing. You are literally on the sand, about 50 feet from the water. The places are so cute and it was so funny to see everyone on the beach walking by looking very jealous of us staying in the tree houses.

The location is perfect. Right near the downtown area and also on a really good stretch of beach. There is a surf school next door where you can rent surfboards or boogie boards - the waves are really fun to play in!!

Also the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. They is always someone to answer your questions, provide you with directions and map, etc. Every morning we would wake up and our breakfast would be waiting for us downstairs at the table below our tree house.

The only complaint we had about this place was that it didn't have air conditioning. When we were there last month it was HOT. There was a fan in the bedroom but we definetly had trouble sleeping at night because it was hot and humid. If this place had air conditioning we may have never left.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendall129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

If there could be a more ideal, a more energizing, a more refreshing vacation than our 10-day stay at the Samara Tree House Inn I'd like to hear about it. For us the place was the perfect balance of comfort and protection from the elements while feeling completely in touch with the elements AND the ocean 24/7. We were a bit worried that the rainy season would 'dampen' (excuse the pun) our time there, but - in fact - it made it much, much more comfortable. The air, the gentle showers (except for a few exciting thunderstorms), the cloudy skies, the humidity were all added incentive to walk into the rolling waves right on the other side of our gate - morning, noon and evening. On the days when the clouds had dissipated and the sun was blasting down, it was too hot for us... and we actually preferred rocking on our hammocks in the shade.

Sleep was so easy with the sound of the waves continuously thrumming through our days and nights. (Our bed was a bit stiff - the only minus that we could point a finger towards.)

Ten days is a rather long time for a vacation, so we were more than glad to plug into an ESL class being offered by an international group of volunteers. The standard of living for many of Samara's citizens is pretty rough, and we enjoyed the opportunity to share our teaching experience for their benefit.

We chose Samara Tree House Inn based largely on the comments of others on this website. As we walked around the town, checking out the alternatives, we never saw a place that gave us even a flicker of regret about our choice of accommodations.

Oh... one other thing: fly into Liberia. It will save you about 3 hours travel time, and that way you'll never have to see San Jose, which is not so swell.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjinmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Tree House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Tree House Inn

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range: $70 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Samara Tree House Inn. We offer six luxury tree house style apartments right in the heart of Samara Village. We are located directly ON the beach and in the middle of town, close to numerous activities, shops and restaurants, including surf rentals and lessons next door. These charming tropical hardwood units all have WiFi and are situated amongst beautiful tropical gardens and an idyllic pool with a shallow area for sun tanning while partly submerged in the water. Wake up every morning to breakfast, the sound of the waves, and the cool breeze of the ocean. Don’t walk by and wish you had stayed here. DO stay here! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Samara Tree House Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing