We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casitas LazDivaz
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Playa Samara
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Inn(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
207
4
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
4
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstina turnerlaz divazb bpalm treesmosquito netevery morningsunset ritualsqueezed orange juicesunset beershowler monkeysshort walk along the beachbeautiful casitaceiling fancosta ricalovely soundthe ownerdelicious coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 215 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Staying at Laz Divaz (Berit and Sara) have been a joy for us. Together with staying at Villas Roca in Manuel Antonio it was a highlight in our Costa Rica holiday.
We stayed in Marlene Dietrich ( the first of the cabins). It imediately felt very fresh, and in the warm humid season we where there this is a good thing. We met our Dutch girlfriends Nienke en Petra there and enjoyed a drink on the beach. We we were woken up by the monkeys in the morning wich was great.
Berit en Sara thank you for your hospitality and maybe till next time.


Sibrand en Tom
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thgiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in Casita Marlene Dietrich, the first in a line of 3 cabins, with a striking view of the water right out your front door.

The cabin was beautifully designed, open air and kept cool with a ceiling fan. Some may find it challenging to deal with wildlife that makes its way inside (we had ants, which Berit and Sara took care of right away, a few geckos, and a walking stick insect--mosquitoes really weren't much of a bother, actually).

Berit and Sara were stellar hosts and, more generally, great people--we felt like we were staying with relatives who knew all the inside information about Playa Samara. They made amazing breakfasts (eggs; gallo pinto; french toast, pancakes, beautiful fresh fruit plates). Their location makes you feel like you have the beach to yourself, with hammocks and chairs just for guests (we were the only ones there at the start of the rainy season). It's a 7 minute walk along the beach to town--pleasantly secluded; bring a flashlight.

Berit and Sara take care of the Diva Dogs, the 3 most well-behaved canines we've met. The owners are extremely involved in the community, stewardship of the land, and local animal welfare--for example, they recommended Chon [--] or Augustin [--] for horse rides down the beach, as opposed to the poor guys you see tied up allllll day out in the sun. We enjoyed the daily "sunset ritual" on the beach with chilled beers and great conversation.

Overall, we loved the peace and quiet: This is the kind of place where you can actually finish a book. The beachfront locale can't be beat. For an authentic slice of beach paradise, this is your base camp.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

we were looking for a unique beach retreat and we found it!! hosts were wonderful, very helpful, the breakfast was wonderful and setting was perfect. We enjoyed the roosters and the howler monkeys talking through the night. Bring a flashlight to use when walking to town at night, it is very dark. Will stay there againg when we return to Samara!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitefishtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We had a lovely stay with the ladies and dogs at LazDivaz. The casita was so adorable, the view amazing, breakfast incredible, and the hammocks amazing. The ladies were so attentive and helpful, they really provided us with everything we needed and gave us insight into the local happenings. We had a very relaxing stay just bumming around at the beach. It is a sleepy town, so if you're looking to party, you will be disappointed. It's perfect for us people that don't mind heading to bed before 10pm!

One of the pros was also the only con that we experienced. The casitas are open air, which is lovely when you're at the beach. The wildlife is also plentiful, as the ladies describe on their website. We had some lovely gecko visitors, and an armadillo at night! However, we did get a big bitten up by bugs. They do provide a mosquito net which is a must, however a few critters did manage to find their way in. Nothing too bad, and we're not afraid of the great outdoors so we didn't mind much. But if you are afraid of bugs just beware...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We spent a couple of days in Playa Samara at the tail end of a relatively short trip to Costa Rica just before Christmas. We had chosen Samara based on its being less developed and tourist-ridden than Tamarindo, and we chose LazDivaz based on the reviews here. Berit and Sara are fabulous hosts who clearly love Samara and CR, and we soaked in their stories over sunset beers. During they day they put out hammocks for us, and we so enjoyed the shade on those lovely sunny days, we spent two full days just lying there. The hosts show their creative flair in many ways, such as the beautiful home that Berit, the architect, designed, and the yummy breakfast brought out with a flourish each morning (chosen from a menu!). Skip the Treehouse down the beach, and go with LazDivaz for something that's less predictable and is truly special.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews