We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Place to Stay”
Review of Casitas LazDivaz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casitas LazDivaz
Ranked #4 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Casitas LazDivaz, in the Tina Turner casita. Highlights included the fabulous breakfast and coffee every morning, hours of lazy hammocking on the beach, sharing a beer with Sara and Berit during their 'sunset ritual', making lunch every day in the Tina Turner kitchen and enjoying it with some cold Imperial on the deck.

We did get bit up my mosquitoes our first night, but we had forgotten to plug in the mosquito repellent device that was provided for us in the room. Mosquito nets and mosquito coils are also provided.

The location is great, because you're just a short walk from town and all the good restaurants (we especially liked Ahora Si veggie restaurant), but a little removed from the noisy beach bars and activity.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oribia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 209 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed with Sara and Berit over new years, and had the best vacation ever. Right on the beach, beautiful little bungalows and a perfect balance of friendy socializing host who still give you your space and privacy when you wish. There is tons to do in Samara, just ask, or lay in a hammock all day and enjoy being in paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ylvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My ladyfriend and I stayed with Laz Divaz in January for a week. It was probably the laziest, most relaxing week we will ever have.

The accomodation: Laz Divaz are about a 10 minute walk along the beach from the main town. The casitas are clean, beautifully built from gorgeous timber. A mosquito net and the resident geckoes meant we weren't troubled by mosquitoes at all. Rocking chairs on the balcony are comfy and very Costa Rican. The bed was very comfy, with crisp cool sheets and colourful blankets. The walls are adorned with art made by Berit from driftwood, shells and found objects. On the property there is plenty of amusing driftwood art.

The hosts: Sarah and Berit are a hoot! They will help you with everything, from recommending the best restaurants for your tastes (we're vegetarian, and they steered us to a few wonderful places), to helping with transport to your next place, and advising which tours are good value and which are dodgy. They clearly care deeply about the local area, and are passionate about low impact, eco-friendly tourism. Their ritual of a sunset cocktail on the beach is delightful.

The location: Playa Samara is a postcard perfect beach. Shimmering blue water with gentle waves, driftwood and coconut trees. All the hotels and bars are set back from the beach and are only one or two stories, so standing on the beach you can only see trees, not buildings. The area has enough going on that you can buy trinkets, go dancing, hiking or surfing, but it is not crowded. The town's energy is laid back and it doesn't seem like you need to spend a lot of money to have a great time.

activities: Our days went something like this: eat a fantastic tropical breakfast in the palm thatched hut. Walk along the beach. Eat lunch at delicious restaurant. Lay in hammock on beach. Read. Nap. When the day has cooled and the waves are perfect, borrow boogie board and go for a surf. Walk along beach to watch sunset. Eat again, this time with cocktails. Go to bed and snooze to the sounds of the jungle. There are lots of things you can do in Samara, but we just lazed about.

food: The breakfasts at Laz Divaz are wonderful, with great bread (a rarity in latin america), delicious fresh fruit and a great varied menu. Samara has a variety of restaurants. We loved the Italian vegetarian place, Ahora si, and the amazing Thai restaurant - delicious! Fresh tacos on the beach at lo que hay were a perfect light lunch, and it seems everyone makes great fruit smoothies and pina coladas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElviraJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Samara was our last stop in costa rica before heading home.... I had researched places to stay in Samara extensively and was really unsure - but I am so glad we ended up with Laz Divaz! The casitas were excellent - all done by hand and very unique - the ceiling was beautiful. The location of the Casitas are excellent - close enough to everything but just far enough way that it's not loud. The sunsets were beautiful each of the 3 nights we were there. Berit and Sara were wonderful as well - so kind and accommodating. Berit will be happy to know too that when we got home we rented the Cesar Milan videos. :) The breakfasts were also wonderful and prepared each morning by Berit and Sara. My boyfriend and I couldn't be happier we stayed here! I highly recommend this place!! You won't regret it. Did I mention it's just a minute stroll from the beach. :) Thanks Berit and Sara for a wonderful end to our trip here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This place is great. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts (the best we had in Costa Rica). Berit and Sara were great hosts. They hang hammocks from palms on the beach, right across the street from the hotel - very, very comfortable!

I want to give them a terrible review so no else finds this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgbSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent a month (Dec 11 to Jan 11) at LAZDIVAZ - There are 3 casitas, which are intimate, comfortable and in-keeping with the surroundings. All the furniture at Lazdivaz is hand made by Sara & Berit, which give your room and breakfast seating area an individual and rustic feel. Elga and the girls keep the rooms immaculate. Our bed was welcoming, comfortable and easy to fall asleep in while listening to the waves. There are nets to ward off the mozzies, though we never used them much the plug in repelant seemed to have done the job. Of coarse there are insects and lizards, we expected them, this is the tropics!
Wake up calls are not needed, the howler monkeys and cockerals will do that for you most mornings.The Howlers traipsed through the trees a number of times, which was a delight, seeing them close up! have your camera and zoom lens on hand.
We used Tina Turner casita, which is self catering - it has a two ring burner, toaster, coffee maker and all the pots and pans - (minus the bowl i broke) you need, to cook everything from pork chops to freshly caught fish. We found the local butcher, he sells fresh eggs and huge double pork chops!
If you need the Supermarket, i suggest going early morning, the walk along the beach loaded with supplies is very hot!
Its an easy walk to the restaurants, but bring a torch, it gets very dark after sunset.
Sara & Berit are the soul of Lazdivaz, each of the gals have their own "unique" sense of humour and personalities, they have vast knolwedge of Costa Rican history, geography and demographics. They and are also avid about eco sustainability both domestically and locally regarding wet lands and the like, which is diverse to say the least.
If you like scrabble, i dare you to challenge them. I won 1 game out of 3.....but i think that was good luck rather then competance.
The Diva Dogs are part of the package, we love dogs and were lucky that the Diva Dogs liked us so we all got on well.
We were looking for a getaway for relaxation and sun, but If you want to be adventurous, ask Sara and Berit,they will give you the best advice and best companies to book with.
There were many highlights to our stay, too many to mention here, but sunset drinks on the beach lounge was our favourite, i dont think we missed one - Horse riding with Juan was a treat and the Tico night at a local inn was not to be missed. Staying for a month allowed us to perhaps see more into the local life than the norm.
New years eve fireworks and building a bonfire on the beach was fantastic. Our early morning walks along the ever changing landscape was inspiring and if you like to paint or draw, theres plenty to fix your eyes upon to relay onto canvas. Sara & Berit know all the local people, where to eat, where to go and what to do if your in a fix.
Carolina and her family at Bar Bahia next door to Lazdivaz are forever warm and friendly, dont miss the Argentinian Steak night! and day time drinks.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Lazdivaz, we really didnt want to leave and will be back next year.
If i had anything negative to say about Playa Samara - they use too much salt in the food - tell them beforehand "IN SPANISH" not to use it when preparing your meal.

We miss you Sara & Berit and look forward to next years vacation with you.

Room Tip: Tina Turner for self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TAFYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at Laz Divaz for a week in August. The four of us (2 couples) stayed in two casitas. One casita had a kitchen, so we walked to the food store in town and were able to make lunch/dinner some days. The porches were good for sitting and playing games when it rained a little bit at night (we went in the rainy season). Sara and Berit even joined us for some games, and Berit can get competitive!! The breakfast at Laz Divaz was great! We loved the fruit platters and all the coffee and casado.

Berit and Sara and the dogs made our stay in Playa Samara fun and relaxing. The Divas gave us good advice and recommendations on where to eat, and what to do. Ask about the vegetarian restaurant, we went there twice! We went birding with Sara (try to go if you can!), and Sara and Berit helped us plan other activities and even made the phone calls for us (hiking, kayaking, surfing, zip lining, horseback riding -- ask the Divas who to call instead of riding the horses from the beach). The best part of staying at Laz Divas is "hammocking." The Divas strung hammocks on the trees, and we all relaxed for hours and hours and days and days and days. The Divas have boogie boards and there is a island you can kayak to that is filled with hermit crabs! -- We actually had some problems kayaking, but that's because we don't know how to kayak, but even when someone gets hit in the nose with a kayak paddle, the Divas know just what to do! We LOVED the Divas. They really take care of you, they make you love Playa Samara, give you great suggestions and recommendations and are amazing women with amazing stories. Pura Vida!

Tips: Bring flashlights...the walk into town is not long, but it gets dark at night.
Bring a New Yorker magazine....Sara will appreciate it!

Room Tip: All the casitas are great! Only one has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mllbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.4 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
885 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas LazDivaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas LazDivaz

Address: 600 meters east of Samara center | Entrance From The Beach, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range: $65 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stand-alone cottages in an intimate beachfront compound, for adults only. Each bright, breezy casita, shaded by many trees, has a queen-size bed, hot shower, ceiling fan, refrigerator, free WiFi, and safe; one, "Tina Turner," has full kitchen. Coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice served each morning. We practice sound ecological management. Share our excitement and concern for the environment and resident wildlife, from the armadillos to the zompopas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casitas Lazdivaz Hotel Playa Samara
Casitas Lazdivaz Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing