We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casitas LazDivaz
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$83
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
207
4
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
4
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstina turnerlaz divazb bpalm treesmosquito netevery morningsunset ritualsqueezed orange juicesunset beershowler monkeysshort walk along the beachbeautiful casitaceiling fancosta ricalovely soundthe ownerdelicious coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 215 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This place is great. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts (the best we had in Costa Rica). Berit and Sara were great hosts. They hang hammocks from palms on the beach, right across the street from the hotel - very, very comfortable!

I want to give them a terrible review so no else finds this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgbSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We spent a month (Dec 11 to Jan 11) at LAZDIVAZ - There are 3 casitas, which are intimate, comfortable and in-keeping with the surroundings. All the furniture at Lazdivaz is hand made by Sara & Berit, which give your room and breakfast seating area an individual and rustic feel. Elga and the girls keep the rooms immaculate. Our bed was welcoming, comfortable and easy to fall asleep in while listening to the waves. There are nets to ward off the mozzies, though we never used them much the plug in repelant seemed to have done the job. Of coarse there are insects and lizards, we expected them, this is the tropics!
Wake up calls are not needed, the howler monkeys and cockerals will do that for you most mornings.The Howlers traipsed through the trees a number of times, which was a delight, seeing them close up! have your camera and zoom lens on hand.
We used Tina Turner casita, which is self catering - it has a two ring burner, toaster, coffee maker and all the pots and pans - (minus the bowl i broke) you need, to cook everything from pork chops to freshly caught fish. We found the local butcher, he sells fresh eggs and huge double pork chops!
If you need the Supermarket, i suggest going early morning, the walk along the beach loaded with supplies is very hot!
Its an easy walk to the restaurants, but bring a torch, it gets very dark after sunset.
Sara & Berit are the soul of Lazdivaz, each of the gals have their own "unique" sense of humour and personalities, they have vast knolwedge of Costa Rican history, geography and demographics. They and are also avid about eco sustainability both domestically and locally regarding wet lands and the like, which is diverse to say the least.
If you like scrabble, i dare you to challenge them. I won 1 game out of 3.....but i think that was good luck rather then competance.
The Diva Dogs are part of the package, we love dogs and were lucky that the Diva Dogs liked us so we all got on well.
We were looking for a getaway for relaxation and sun, but If you want to be adventurous, ask Sara and Berit,they will give you the best advice and best companies to book with.
There were many highlights to our stay, too many to mention here, but sunset drinks on the beach lounge was our favourite, i dont think we missed one - Horse riding with Juan was a treat and the Tico night at a local inn was not to be missed. Staying for a month allowed us to perhaps see more into the local life than the norm.
New years eve fireworks and building a bonfire on the beach was fantastic. Our early morning walks along the ever changing landscape was inspiring and if you like to paint or draw, theres plenty to fix your eyes upon to relay onto canvas. Sara & Berit know all the local people, where to eat, where to go and what to do if your in a fix.
Carolina and her family at Bar Bahia next door to Lazdivaz are forever warm and friendly, dont miss the Argentinian Steak night! and day time drinks.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Lazdivaz, we really didnt want to leave and will be back next year.
If i had anything negative to say about Playa Samara - they use too much salt in the food - tell them beforehand "IN SPANISH" not to use it when preparing your meal.

We miss you Sara & Berit and look forward to next years vacation with you.

Room Tip: Tina Turner for self catering
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TAFYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at Laz Divaz for a week in August. The four of us (2 couples) stayed in two casitas. One casita had a kitchen, so we walked to the food store in town and were able to make lunch/dinner some days. The porches were good for sitting and playing games when it rained a little bit at night (we went in the rainy season). Sara and Berit even joined us for some games, and Berit can get competitive!! The breakfast at Laz Divaz was great! We loved the fruit platters and all the coffee and casado.

Berit and Sara and the dogs made our stay in Playa Samara fun and relaxing. The Divas gave us good advice and recommendations on where to eat, and what to do. Ask about the vegetarian restaurant, we went there twice! We went birding with Sara (try to go if you can!), and Sara and Berit helped us plan other activities and even made the phone calls for us (hiking, kayaking, surfing, zip lining, horseback riding -- ask the Divas who to call instead of riding the horses from the beach). The best part of staying at Laz Divas is "hammocking." The Divas strung hammocks on the trees, and we all relaxed for hours and hours and days and days and days. The Divas have boogie boards and there is a island you can kayak to that is filled with hermit crabs! -- We actually had some problems kayaking, but that's because we don't know how to kayak, but even when someone gets hit in the nose with a kayak paddle, the Divas know just what to do! We LOVED the Divas. They really take care of you, they make you love Playa Samara, give you great suggestions and recommendations and are amazing women with amazing stories. Pura Vida!

Tips: Bring flashlights...the walk into town is not long, but it gets dark at night.
Bring a New Yorker magazine....Sara will appreciate it!

Room Tip: All the casitas are great! Only one has a kitchen.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mllbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights in the Marlene Dietrich bungalow the first week of January. Let me begin by saying that the casita is spotless and ever so charming with a comfortable queen bed and spacious bathroom, no lack of hot water. This casita is closest to the beach and we really enjoyed sitting on our front porch listening to the waves. We felt safe and privileged to be staying in what we considered the best spot on Playa Samara. Samara is quaint and just the right size to explore on foot and the water is divine for bathing. A flashlight is handy if you want to walk the beach after dark. Also, earplugs might be a good idea as the monkeys and roosters do shout it out in the early morning. Hey, you're in the jungle. Our favorite dining spot was El Lagarto for dinner. Some have commented how expensive it was but I had a wonderful salad with a delicious fish filet for about $12. The BEST breakfast on all of trip to Costa Rica was enjoyed at LAZ DIVAZ served with love and care and having the little extras like real maple syrup and freshly squeezed o.j. From the early stage of booking until the day of departure, hostesses Sara and Berit were super. They are charming, unpretentious, and very informed about their community. And thanks Berit for giving us the tip on the macaws. They were right where you said they would be. Even though this was the longest place we stayed during our 2 weeks in C.R., it passed far too quickly. We will definitely return and not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PPaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent four days at laz divaz and really enjoyed every bit of it. There are only three cabins which gives it an intimate feeling. The cabins are tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable (including hot shower and mosquito nets). They are located in a lush tropical garden, directly on the quiet part of Samara beach but only minutes away by foot from restaurants and other activities in Samara. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious. We liked it so much that we wanted to return the next week, but it was booked. We have seen other places and beaches in the area and think this is definitely the nicest in this price range.

Room Tip: Of the three cabins, Tina turner is furthest away from the beach yet has a kitchenette which is useful if you plan on staying longer. Marlene is closest to the beach, its small porch faces the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews