We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel in a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Heiden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place was a gem. We made our booking by e-mail the day before our arrival, and everything was ready for us on arrival.
Our room had been very lovingly prepared, and was very clean and comfortable. Michaela and Ralf (the German owners) were very attentive to our needs and you can tell that they both work extremely hard to make this hotel the success that it is.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a terrace at the top of the hotel complex with nice views over the Pacific.
The hotel is ideally situated, just a couple of hundred metres from the beach but still away from the main street which would certainly have been noisier.
The hotel has a nice pool and also offers a laundry service.
All in all, a great place to stay in what was probably the nicest town we stayed in during our holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    71
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
160
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trollhättan Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This family-driven Hotel Belvedere has a "soul" created by the owners, Mikaela and Manfred.
Rooms, garden, pool, the five minutes walking distance to village and sea is perfect. The self-
-service bar "Trust and Karma" makes a feeling you belong to the family!

Leif, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed just for 1 night, but as soon as I arrived I got a really clear idea of the kind of hotel I was. Great staff, great breakfast, great price too. The owners attended me at the reception and guided me to my room, which by the way is right in front of the pool. The room was very clean, the bed was perfectly accommodated, it even had some flower petals on top.The whole room had an spring odor and that is really difficult to find. The bathroom had an odor sprayer, details like this would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Samara. Perfectly located just 100 mts from the bus stop and just 2 minutes from the beach. This is the kind of hotel that you really feel welcome and willing to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was thrilled to find Hotel Belvedere! My room was charming and spotless. The owners and staff were very kind and helpful. I think my favorite part was the great breakfast, served in an outdoor dinning room with a great view of the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is in a great location - close enough to walk to the small town or beach yet just enough distance for peaceful reflection in the morning and evening. The setting is just what I wanted - in the middle of gorgeous jungle plants/trees and flowers with occasional visits by raucous monkeys and shy iguanas!
Hotel Belvedere is very lovely and the owners (Manfred and Michaela) are friendly and kind - taking great care to make sure their guests are happy and satisified.
The two pools are lovely, the grounds are clean, and the rooms are immaculate. Breakfast was wonderfully delicious (fresh picked fruit every morning) and the dining room - set on the second floor - has a marvelous view of the town and and the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel is just up the hill from the beach, which makes it very quiet and tranquil. Yet, the beach and restaurants are an easy and quick walk.

The room was clean with a refrigerator and air-conditioning. The breakfast was delicious, with a menu that you could choose from several freshly prepared items. The breakfast room had a nice view. Both pools were very pretty and refreshing. There was also an honor bar for $1 beers.

The hosts were very kind and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Guidebooks seem to say to choose a room in the new wing, but the ones in the original wing appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiKenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

June 2012, I stayed a week at Hotel Belvedere. Manfred, the owner, and his son Marcel were very welcoming and helpful. There are two properties to the hotel, on the same road. Belvedere is very clean, lush with gorgeous plants and trees. The pool is huge and gorgeous, very clean. Breakfast is delicious, served upstairs in a beautiful dining area with amazing views. The staff are very friendly - both in the dining room and in housekeeping.

There are so many monkeys that visit this property! It was a complete delight! Also lots of iguanas, squirrels, and beautiful birds. Bring your binoculars and long lenses - it's amazing how many animals you can see here up.

The rooms have safes. Plenty of hot water! There is an "honesty bar," in which you may take whatever beverage you want from the fridge, just write down in the notebook what you have taken.

You can take your laundry to the office, and they will have it done in town and bring it back to you for $5 (for small load). Very nice!

I stayed in Room #3, which had no wifi, which was a disappointment, since I was on a working trip and needed wifi. I asked for wifi, but was told it wasn't available. However, I paid $40/night, and I discovered later that other rooms for the same price had wifi (for example, Room #5).

My only suggestions would be that better (and newer) sheets, pillows, and pillowcases would be a nice update, and a much heavier blanket would be very appreciated. The mirror in the bathroom is way too high, and the bathroom in general needs updating.

The property has no security guard, which is worrisome if you are traveling alone, as I was, and isolated in the area of Rooms 1-3.

A lovely hotel run by a very friendly family!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 did not have wifi at the time of my visit (June 2012), and they are in an isolated area (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavisCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Property: Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Samara
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing