We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel is just up the hill from the beach, which makes it very quiet and tranquil. Yet, the beach and restaurants are an easy and quick walk.

The room was clean with a refrigerator and air-conditioning. The breakfast was delicious, with a menu that you could choose from several freshly prepared items. The breakfast room had a nice view. Both pools were very pretty and refreshing. There was also an honor bar for $1 beers.

The hosts were very kind and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Guidebooks seem to say to choose a room in the new wing, but the ones in the original wing appear to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiKenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Davis, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

June 2012, I stayed a week at Hotel Belvedere. Manfred, the owner, and his son Marcel were very welcoming and helpful. There are two properties to the hotel, on the same road. Belvedere is very clean, lush with gorgeous plants and trees. The pool is huge and gorgeous, very clean. Breakfast is delicious, served upstairs in a beautiful dining area with amazing views. The staff are very friendly - both in the dining room and in housekeeping.

There are so many monkeys that visit this property! It was a complete delight! Also lots of iguanas, squirrels, and beautiful birds. Bring your binoculars and long lenses - it's amazing how many animals you can see here up.

The rooms have safes. Plenty of hot water! There is an "honesty bar," in which you may take whatever beverage you want from the fridge, just write down in the notebook what you have taken.

You can take your laundry to the office, and they will have it done in town and bring it back to you for $5 (for small load). Very nice!

I stayed in Room #3, which had no wifi, which was a disappointment, since I was on a working trip and needed wifi. I asked for wifi, but was told it wasn't available. However, I paid $40/night, and I discovered later that other rooms for the same price had wifi (for example, Room #5).

My only suggestions would be that better (and newer) sheets, pillows, and pillowcases would be a nice update, and a much heavier blanket would be very appreciated. The mirror in the bathroom is way too high, and the bathroom in general needs updating.

The property has no security guard, which is worrisome if you are traveling alone, as I was, and isolated in the area of Rooms 1-3.

A lovely hotel run by a very friendly family!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 did not have wifi at the time of my visit (June 2012), and they are in an isolated area (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavisCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

at the edge of samara, beach not to far within 5 minutes by feet, also all restaurants. Nice ocean view from the restaurant. The hotel is back-layed with wilder surroundings, you can watch animals even monkeys at your way to the restaurant. really nice german people run the place. beautiful garden right before the rooms, swimmingpool within. laundry-service (same day back).
we enjoyed it very much!!!

Room Tip: if you are traveling in the low season you might prefere the rooms departed from the restaurant. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfdf h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful and quiet Hotel 200 meters from the beach. Walking distance to the village.
Nice rooms with private bath, hot shower, a/c, refrigerator and safety box. Each room has his own little garden. Huge swimming pool, jacuzzi and community terraces surrounded by a lush tropical garden.Amazing custom decoration everywhere. Delicious breakfast with coffee, orange juice, fruits , eggs, gallo pinto , muesli ........
You will notice that the owners are always around and looking that everthing is perfect.
They are always available to their hotel clients . If you are looking for a quiet and lovely place in Samara - go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sibylle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is situated slighly elevated at the border of the town but you can reach the beach on foot in 5min. The staff is very friendly and competent. Breakfast is served (no buffet) but there is always plenty to eat. Therefore there is nothing to complain about.
Considering the room however, which was clean and nicely decorated on arrival, I was a little bit disappointed. The A/C was working and it was clean, but compared to the rooms of the other members of our group the room was more a hole than a room. Not enough place to open my suitcase, only if I put it on the bed. The bathroom was also tiny and there was no fridge and no safe in the room neither. I could however deposit my valuables at the reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cirrus75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a good budget hotel with a lot of facilities and very solid round experience. The rooms were clean and airy enough with a well functioning air conditioning (rare place where the air conditioning is placed in a way that you don't get ill). The hotel provides breakfast on a lovely veranda with a great view and a very nice pool which is large enough to swim in and has lounge chairs around it to catch some sun.
The location is slightly away from the main street which is probably not bad for a good night sleep. Samara is tiny so it is still within 10 minutes walk of all restaurants.
It is not located on the beach though, the beach is about 10 minutes walk through the city.

The wifi is available in the hotel although like in a majority of places, the signal was not strong enough to catch in the room. There was always a possibility to sit near the pool which had plenty of chairs and tables and where the signal would work well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chear_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Wow , thinking back to the month we spent at this fabulous Hotel ,I find myself running out of superlatives to lavish on this place . Michaela and Manfred, the owners of this special Hotel , have created a little Paradise . We rented one of the appartments , which was great for an extended stay, and just drifted into ecstasy . I would like to say thank you so much Manfred and Michaela for one of the best "Overwinterings" we have ever had !

Viva la Pura Vida at Hotel Belvedere !!!!!!!!!

Lee Morris , The Netherlands .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.2 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#12 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Samara Beach
Hotel Samara Beach
#11 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara

Address: Playa Samara, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#