We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We've been to Costa Rica 5 times and this is our favorite place overall! The villas are comfortable, large and built for relaxation. Roberto and his staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Roberto is a phenomenal chef. I took pictures of all the many courses he served- they were so beautiful and tasty! He was happy to accommodate our young son as well, with a not so fancy meal.
The villas are close to the beach (beautiful, uncrowded beach), close to many restaurants and to town. This was our second visit and we hope to make it an annual one!
This is a perfect place for a family or couple who want a low-key vacation in an authentic Costa Rican town. The beach is perfect for both kids and for beginner surfers. I haven't had such an easy, relaxing vacation in years!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 782 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our family spent 4 nights at Villas Kalimba and could not have made a better choice for Samara! The Villa we had was very nice, comfortable and clean. The daily maid service and the kitchen were a nice addition. The breakfast Roberto prepares is delicious and the dinner he offered was out of this world. This was a great place for us- 2 adults and 2 kids ages 10 and 13.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolcc757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Kalimba for two weeks over spring break with our 26 years old daughter. This was our first time staying with Villa Kalimba and when we arrived we felt as if we had stayed here many times before with the friendly and warm welcoming. We were checked in and in our swimsuits in the pool with a beer in our hand with in five minutes. There is a cooler by the pool with beer, wine and pop which you can buy. Roberto was not there when we checked in but he came over to the pool to meet us once he arrived. The Villas are wonderful!! They are very clean and well set up. There is lots of room to move around in the kitchen area. We had a two bedroom with A/C and two bathrooms with nice large showers. We loved having the dining and living area outside, again lots of room. We spent quality family time around the dining table or in the sitting area. There is a hammock in the sitting area which our daughter claimed. All the villas are steps away from the lovely pool but still spread far enough a part with lots of greenery to give you privacy.
Samara is small and easy to get around on foot. There is a mini mart a few doors down and also a larger grocery store about a 10 –15 min walk. In the morning watch for a fellow across from the larger grocery store he comes in with his truck and sets up a fruit stand with wonderful fruits and veggies at amazing prices. We did most of the tours that were in the book provided on the dining room table. We enjoyed them all. You can book them right at the villa. The one disappointment we had was that we missed the Turtle Run. We saw it posted on our arrival at the tour company just down the road from the villa but didn’t know it only lasted a few days and when we went to sign up for the tour the turtles were gone. I wish we had known this. So our suggestion is if you see it posted book it right away, we heard it is an amazing experience, hopefully next time. The beach was where we spent most of our time which was a short walk across the road; with in one minute you are on the beach. We walked through the C & C surfing school where we also took surfing lesson. Charlie and his instructors were very friendly and the lesson was outstanding. After our lesson they let us use the boards for another 5 days, we also used the boggy boards.
If you are looking for meals out, there are many wonderful beachfront restaurants where the tables are set in the sand and for the most part the food and drinks were very good. We also had one of Roberto outstanding meals he cooks up for his guest. Well worth the price. All in all it was a wonderful and very relaxing holiday in Samara, just what we were looking for and I feel our stay with Villas Kalimba made this possible. We are planning to return to tour more of Costa Rica with in the next few years and will most definitely finish our tour staying at the Villas Kalimba. Many thanks to Roberto and all his friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband, four children ( ages 7,9,11,&13) and I spent eight fabulous nights in Villa #5 at Villa Kalimba. After travelling in the rain forests for 4 days it was the perfect place to relax, unwind and soak up the sun. Roberto and his staff went above and beyond to make us welcome and comfortable. Finding accommodations that work well for a family of six can be challenging - but Kalimba provided us with two comfortable cots for the kids and we always had lots of towels. They provided beach towels as well - which was a bonus. The Villa and the grounds were absolutely spotless. The pool was cleaned daily. I loved the daily cleaning service - such a treat to leave in the morning and return to a clean villa. It was spacious and very well equipped.
We usually made our own breakfast and lunch at the Villa - ate on our lovely private patio. Roberto cooked at the Villa twice during our stay and both meals were spectacular!!! Truly the best meals we had in all of Costa Rica. Perhaps the best Italian food we have had anywhere.
The location was perfect - just across from the beach, so it was just to seconds to run back if you forgot something. Walking distance to everything you need and tons of restaurants The beach was great - loved all the little restaurants along the water - we could sit and enjoy a beer and watch the sunset while the kids played in the sand and waves. It is a great beach for learning to surf. We took all took a lesson at Tico's and all six of us were standing on our boards catching waves.
I would absolutely recommend Villa Kalimba to anyone travelling to Costa Rica

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I were in Samara for our last night in Costa Rica after 45 days in the country.
We were somewhat panicking to find a spot to stay and then met Rolando who mentioned he had a house we could stay in for the night. It was the perfect place to stay for the privacy and security that is not found in many spots. The villa is exceptionally clean and open with all you need to relax. You can cook your own meals with the great kitchen provided, hang out on the porch, or hit your private pool and watch the stars at night while swmming.
We have stayed in alot of places in Costa Rica but ,if your in Samara I would highly recommend looking into staying in one of Rolando's villas, they're exceptional.
Thanks Rolando, I'm happy we found you, we will be back to see you next year.

Don and Linda

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were traveling through Costa Rica with our extended family of 11 (6 adults and 5 kids ranging in age from 7-14). We stayed 3 nights at Villa Kamar, which is a private villa on the Villas Kalimba property. We enjoyed 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, a kitchen, living area and a lovely private pool. We made our own breakfast everyday in our well-equipped kitchen. There is a small grocery store 2 doors down from the property. We simply had to cross the street to get to the beach. Roberto and his staff were lovely and very accommodating. The property is centrally located in the small beach community. It was the perfect setting for our family. I highly recommend it. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The size and privacy of villa kamar is a terrific option for larger groups/families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in Villa Kamar for 6 nights as a group of 4. We had an absolutely amazing time. The pool is great - a decent size and is cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped and it has the type of fridge/freezer you need when it is so hot outside. The rooms were all nice and well air-conditioned. It's location is perfect. It's also really good value for money.

Our only issue was the boat trip recommended by the owners (although this is hardly a complaint about the villa/hotel). The trip was overpriced and really quite dull. Perhaps the owners should find a new company to recommend.

Still - this is a great place to stay and thanks to the owners for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
865 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
916 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range: $166 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing