We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Holiday”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband, four children ( ages 7,9,11,&13) and I spent eight fabulous nights in Villa #5 at Villa Kalimba. After travelling in the rain forests for 4 days it was the perfect place to relax, unwind and soak up the sun. Roberto and his staff went above and beyond to make us welcome and comfortable. Finding accommodations that work well for a family of six can be challenging - but Kalimba provided us with two comfortable cots for the kids and we always had lots of towels. They provided beach towels as well - which was a bonus. The Villa and the grounds were absolutely spotless. The pool was cleaned daily. I loved the daily cleaning service - such a treat to leave in the morning and return to a clean villa. It was spacious and very well equipped.
We usually made our own breakfast and lunch at the Villa - ate on our lovely private patio. Roberto cooked at the Villa twice during our stay and both meals were spectacular!!! Truly the best meals we had in all of Costa Rica. Perhaps the best Italian food we have had anywhere.
The location was perfect - just across from the beach, so it was just to seconds to run back if you forgot something. Walking distance to everything you need and tons of restaurants The beach was great - loved all the little restaurants along the water - we could sit and enjoy a beer and watch the sunset while the kids played in the sand and waves. It is a great beach for learning to surf. We took all took a lesson at Tico's and all six of us were standing on our boards catching waves.
I would absolutely recommend Villa Kalimba to anyone travelling to Costa Rica

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
368
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I were in Samara for our last night in Costa Rica after 45 days in the country.
We were somewhat panicking to find a spot to stay and then met Rolando who mentioned he had a house we could stay in for the night. It was the perfect place to stay for the privacy and security that is not found in many spots. The villa is exceptionally clean and open with all you need to relax. You can cook your own meals with the great kitchen provided, hang out on the porch, or hit your private pool and watch the stars at night while swmming.
We have stayed in alot of places in Costa Rica but ,if your in Samara I would highly recommend looking into staying in one of Rolando's villas, they're exceptional.
Thanks Rolando, I'm happy we found you, we will be back to see you next year.

Don and Linda

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were traveling through Costa Rica with our extended family of 11 (6 adults and 5 kids ranging in age from 7-14). We stayed 3 nights at Villa Kamar, which is a private villa on the Villas Kalimba property. We enjoyed 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, a kitchen, living area and a lovely private pool. We made our own breakfast everyday in our well-equipped kitchen. There is a small grocery store 2 doors down from the property. We simply had to cross the street to get to the beach. Roberto and his staff were lovely and very accommodating. The property is centrally located in the small beach community. It was the perfect setting for our family. I highly recommend it. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The size and privacy of villa kamar is a terrific option for larger groups/families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in Villa Kamar for 6 nights as a group of 4. We had an absolutely amazing time. The pool is great - a decent size and is cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped and it has the type of fridge/freezer you need when it is so hot outside. The rooms were all nice and well air-conditioned. It's location is perfect. It's also really good value for money.

Our only issue was the boat trip recommended by the owners (although this is hardly a complaint about the villa/hotel). The trip was overpriced and really quite dull. Perhaps the owners should find a new company to recommend.

Still - this is a great place to stay and thanks to the owners for their hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from Villa Kalimba and we stayed with two children ages 5 and 9. We all had the best time there. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds and the pool are immaculate. The kids just loved playing in the pool for hours....so much so that they barely wanted to go the beach. The kids said it was their favourite holiday and better than Disney. This surprised me since all we basically did was go back and forth from the pool to the beach. I think they just loved the beauty and being immersed in the Costa Rican culture. The area is non-touristy and it was great just to go for a walk and get some ice cream after dinner. The beach is absolutely beautiful. We all did surfing lessons which were great at C and C surf school across the street. We also did the ziplining tour which the kids loved. I had all these plans to do more, but at the end of the day, everyone just wanted to stay and relax at Villa Kalimba. It was also so nice to have that separate porch area and sit out there once the kids were in bed. We could listen to the music playing at nearby restaurants while sipping on a beer....pura vida! We are already booked for next year and this time we will be staying at Kamar with my entire extended family.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose Villas Kalimba because we wanted a self-catering villa that was close to the beach. The Villas Kalimba are very pretty and clean, and had everything we needed to make meals, etc. They are cleaned daily which is a really nice perk for a self-catering flat - normally you rent an apartment and it is cleaned at the end of your stay. We felt very spoiled. The pool is in the middle of 5 or 6 villas facing each other, so it could feel crowded for some people but there is so much foliage that we felt it was private enough. Roberto and his staff are excellent - very helpful with anything you need and any questions you might have. If we return to Samara some day will will stay at these Villas again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited VIllas Kalimba with my family during February. We stayed at Villa Bruga and Villas Kalimba. Both places are quiet and confortable. Villa Bruga, if you want a more private stay and Villas Kalimba is you want to just have a very short walk to the beach. By the way, Samara is one of the most quiet beaches in CR if you are looking for a pleasant stay close to nature, sand and ocean. The hospitality and confort at Villas Kalimba wont dissapoint you...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing