We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas Kalimba
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$68
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$83
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (810)
Filter reviews
810 results
Traveler rating
724
77
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
77
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolthe ownercosta ricaitalian mealfull bathroomsvilla kamarplace to stayamazing chefdining tablegrocery storeadult childrenpura vidawithin easy walking distancedirectly across the streetbedroom villaover christmasin town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 810 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in Villa Kamar for 6 nights as a group of 4. We had an absolutely amazing time. The pool is great - a decent size and is cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped and it has the type of fridge/freezer you need when it is so hot outside. The rooms were all nice and well air-conditioned. It's location is perfect. It's also really good value for money.

Our only issue was the boat trip recommended by the owners (although this is hardly a complaint about the villa/hotel). The trip was overpriced and really quite dull. Perhaps the owners should find a new company to recommend.

Still - this is a great place to stay and thanks to the owners for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from Villa Kalimba and we stayed with two children ages 5 and 9. We all had the best time there. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds and the pool are immaculate. The kids just loved playing in the pool for hours....so much so that they barely wanted to go the beach. The kids said it was their favourite holiday and better than Disney. This surprised me since all we basically did was go back and forth from the pool to the beach. I think they just loved the beauty and being immersed in the Costa Rican culture. The area is non-touristy and it was great just to go for a walk and get some ice cream after dinner. The beach is absolutely beautiful. We all did surfing lessons which were great at C and C surf school across the street. We also did the ziplining tour which the kids loved. I had all these plans to do more, but at the end of the day, everyone just wanted to stay and relax at Villa Kalimba. It was also so nice to have that separate porch area and sit out there once the kids were in bed. We could listen to the music playing at nearby restaurants while sipping on a beer....pura vida! We are already booked for next year and this time we will be staying at Kamar with my entire extended family.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose Villas Kalimba because we wanted a self-catering villa that was close to the beach. The Villas Kalimba are very pretty and clean, and had everything we needed to make meals, etc. They are cleaned daily which is a really nice perk for a self-catering flat - normally you rent an apartment and it is cleaned at the end of your stay. We felt very spoiled. The pool is in the middle of 5 or 6 villas facing each other, so it could feel crowded for some people but there is so much foliage that we felt it was private enough. Roberto and his staff are excellent - very helpful with anything you need and any questions you might have. If we return to Samara some day will will stay at these Villas again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited VIllas Kalimba with my family during February. We stayed at Villa Bruga and Villas Kalimba. Both places are quiet and confortable. Villa Bruga, if you want a more private stay and Villas Kalimba is you want to just have a very short walk to the beach. By the way, Samara is one of the most quiet beaches in CR if you are looking for a pleasant stay close to nature, sand and ocean. The hospitality and confort at Villas Kalimba wont dissapoint you...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found the town on Google maps and Villa Kalimbas through Trip Advisor. Eveything everyone said about this place is true. Just a great vacation with our two young kids. And memories to get us through the next few cold winters.

Room Tip: The Monkey likes his peanuts with the shells off.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews