We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 33 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just returned from Villa Kalimba and we stayed with two children ages 5 and 9. We all had the best time there. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds and the pool are immaculate. The kids just loved playing in the pool for hours....so much so that they barely wanted to go the beach. The kids said it was their favourite holiday and better than Disney. This surprised me since all we basically did was go back and forth from the pool to the beach. I think they just loved the beauty and being immersed in the Costa Rican culture. The area is non-touristy and it was great just to go for a walk and get some ice cream after dinner. The beach is absolutely beautiful. We all did surfing lessons which were great at C and C surf school across the street. We also did the ziplining tour which the kids loved. I had all these plans to do more, but at the end of the day, everyone just wanted to stay and relax at Villa Kalimba. It was also so nice to have that separate porch area and sit out there once the kids were in bed. We could listen to the music playing at nearby restaurants while sipping on a beer....pura vida! We are already booked for next year and this time we will be staying at Kamar with my entire extended family.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
367
183
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose Villas Kalimba because we wanted a self-catering villa that was close to the beach. The Villas Kalimba are very pretty and clean, and had everything we needed to make meals, etc. They are cleaned daily which is a really nice perk for a self-catering flat - normally you rent an apartment and it is cleaned at the end of your stay. We felt very spoiled. The pool is in the middle of 5 or 6 villas facing each other, so it could feel crowded for some people but there is so much foliage that we felt it was private enough. Roberto and his staff are excellent - very helpful with anything you need and any questions you might have. If we return to Samara some day will will stay at these Villas again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I visited VIllas Kalimba with my family during February. We stayed at Villa Bruga and Villas Kalimba. Both places are quiet and confortable. Villa Bruga, if you want a more private stay and Villas Kalimba is you want to just have a very short walk to the beach. By the way, Samara is one of the most quiet beaches in CR if you are looking for a pleasant stay close to nature, sand and ocean. The hospitality and confort at Villas Kalimba wont dissapoint you...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found the town on Google maps and Villa Kalimbas through Trip Advisor. Eveything everyone said about this place is true. Just a great vacation with our two young kids. And memories to get us through the next few cold winters.

Room Tip: The Monkey likes his peanuts with the shells off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in a lovely villa with kitchen, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms decorated nicely, one of five villas around a beautiful stone pool and gardens. Very clean and excellent service. Roberto offers a great breakfast, upon request, and cooked an unbelievable Italian dinner twice during our one week stay. The long, quiet, sandy beach is just across the road. Since this resort is not directly on the beach you need to bring a chair to the beach, if you want to relax on something other than a towel. Some available, comfortable beach chairs that adjust to a lying position would have been a great addition to a perfect vacation. Definately go!

Room Tip: Any room is perfact
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great spot! We were a family of 21 on a surf trip. We had 3 villas at Kalimba and the big house next door. The villas/house were exceptionally clean with maid service every day. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Roberto loves to cook and the meals were 5 star. This beautifully landscaped property is located in town, easy walking distance to all restaurants, shops and right across the street to the beach. If your looking for a surf/beach getaway, this is the spot! Thanks for the best trip ever. We will be back with out a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the second time I stayed with Roberto and Carmen. This year it was at Samara Rocks/Villa Sandy and the previous year was Villas Kilimba, either location is an outstanding choice. Villa Sandy is a standalone villa with a private pool, gated driveway, and spectacular views. The design is fantastic with each of the lower bedrooms having access to the veranda overlooking the pool and ocean. Private bathrooms for each bedroom with an extremely well appointed kitchen make this a true home away from home. This does not detract from Villas Kilimba because they do offer the convenience of being across the street from the beach and are equally well appointed and designed but Villa Sandy is a nice option if you are looking for privacy and serenity. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did! Gary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
El Pequeno Gecko Verde
#3 of 33 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing