We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Everything we hoped”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found the town on Google maps and Villa Kalimbas through Trip Advisor. Eveything everyone said about this place is true. Just a great vacation with our two young kids. And memories to get us through the next few cold winters.

Room Tip: The Monkey likes his peanuts with the shells off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
372
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in a lovely villa with kitchen, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms decorated nicely, one of five villas around a beautiful stone pool and gardens. Very clean and excellent service. Roberto offers a great breakfast, upon request, and cooked an unbelievable Italian dinner twice during our one week stay. The long, quiet, sandy beach is just across the road. Since this resort is not directly on the beach you need to bring a chair to the beach, if you want to relax on something other than a towel. Some available, comfortable beach chairs that adjust to a lying position would have been a great addition to a perfect vacation. Definately go!

Room Tip: Any room is perfact
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a great spot! We were a family of 21 on a surf trip. We had 3 villas at Kalimba and the big house next door. The villas/house were exceptionally clean with maid service every day. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. Roberto loves to cook and the meals were 5 star. This beautifully landscaped property is located in town, easy walking distance to all restaurants, shops and right across the street to the beach. If your looking for a surf/beach getaway, this is the spot! Thanks for the best trip ever. We will be back with out a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the second time I stayed with Roberto and Carmen. This year it was at Samara Rocks/Villa Sandy and the previous year was Villas Kilimba, either location is an outstanding choice. Villa Sandy is a standalone villa with a private pool, gated driveway, and spectacular views. The design is fantastic with each of the lower bedrooms having access to the veranda overlooking the pool and ocean. Private bathrooms for each bedroom with an extremely well appointed kitchen make this a true home away from home. This does not detract from Villas Kilimba because they do offer the convenience of being across the street from the beach and are equally well appointed and designed but Villa Sandy is a nice option if you are looking for privacy and serenity. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did! Gary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in Villa Bruga in Samara Rocks for 3 nights and loved it. It's very close to Samara, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful (except for the birds and monkeys). The house is very comfortable and well-equipped with a roomy kitchen (including pots & pans, espresso maker, etc.) master and kids bedrooms, family room, including cable TV. We spent most of our time on the patio or by the pool. Hosts Roberto and Carmen are very friendly and helpful. On our second night, they made a great Italian family style dinner for all guests (~15). I would definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

When you are not used to driving on dirt roads for extended periods of time and you are in the Samara area during the dry season, it can feel hot and dry, indeed. When you enter Villas Kalimba, you feel as if you are entering a little oasis – your eyes are drawn to the beautiful pool surrounded by lush tropical foliage. All the bungalows - and the “restaurant” area - are surrounded by the lush foliage, as well. The property is smaller in reality than it feels – again, because the beautiful landscaping creates privacy and makes it feel spacious. We stayed in a two-bedroom, two-bathroom bungalow (with kitchen, laundry area – this means a sink and handy drying rack – and sizeable porch with eating area). We really wanted the kitchen because we were staying for an extended visit and it was key to saving some money and to not burning out on restaurant food (by the way, the kitchen is nicely equipped, as mentioned in other reviews); however, be warned, it is extremely hot cooking at any time of day besides very early or very late in the day (this is one of the reasons, you will note, that you see so many outdoor kitchens, I believe, in the area). The AC works very well in the bedrooms (by the way, we heard from expatriate residents in Samara that the best way to acclimate to the hot weather is probably to avoid using a/c, but that is awfully hard to do when you have it so very accessible!), but even if you tried to crank the AC in both bedrooms and used the fans (in all three major rooms), it really didn’t cut it for the kitchen – we did it twice, but since it didn’t work well and it’s a barbaric use of energy, we didn’t do it more. Having said all of this, it is still great to have a kitchen, even if you use little more than the refrigerator, sink, countertop and toaster oven (yes, there was a toaster oven!)

We were so glad that Roberto and Carmen encouraged us to “upgrade” to a bungalow with two bedrooms– since we have a 5-year old who goes to sleep early, it would have been difficult for us to enjoy the villa, again, because the kitchen area was so hot. With a separate bedroom for our son, it was great.

Roberto and Carmen were wonderfully warm, Juan easily and readily let our son “work” with him around the grounds, and all the housekeepers who cleaned our room (and assisted when Roberto made gourmet dinners : ) were very nice (the rooms were nicely made-up every day, as well). There was no pressure from Roberto or Carmen to use any of their services (tours, laundry, dinners, breakfast, car rental), but they were so gracious if you needed assistance – or services – of any kind. They also promptly took care of any issues that arose (we had a light burn out and a squeaky door that bothered us the first night, for example). We heard (after we arrived) that Villas Kalimba was one of the top places to stay in Samara and we believe it! Thank you to Roberto, Carmen, Juan, and all the great staff at the Kalimbas family for a wonderful visit.

PS. Did I mention location, location, location? C&C surf school with boogie board, surf board and kayak rentals (and beach access!) right across the street, run by Charlie, a supermarket nearly next door, a natural foods store/restaurant (Natural Center of Samara) three blocks away and multiple beach-side restaurants within 25 meters.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JBandToofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

7 years in a row and always great. Travel with wife and three kids (now 4,7 and 9) and we always have a great time. Roberto is the best host I have found anywhere. Take his advice on what to do and where to eat and it will be even better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebussiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
530 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing