We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Easy Button"!”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“The "Easy Button"!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the second time I stayed with Roberto and Carmen. This year it was at Samara Rocks/Villa Sandy and the previous year was Villas Kilimba, either location is an outstanding choice. Villa Sandy is a standalone villa with a private pool, gated driveway, and spectacular views. The design is fantastic with each of the lower bedrooms having access to the veranda overlooking the pool and ocean. Private bathrooms for each bedroom with an extremely well appointed kitchen make this a true home away from home. This does not detract from Villas Kilimba because they do offer the convenience of being across the street from the beach and are equally well appointed and designed but Villa Sandy is a nice option if you are looking for privacy and serenity. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did! Gary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
368
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in Villa Bruga in Samara Rocks for 3 nights and loved it. It's very close to Samara, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful (except for the birds and monkeys). The house is very comfortable and well-equipped with a roomy kitchen (including pots & pans, espresso maker, etc.) master and kids bedrooms, family room, including cable TV. We spent most of our time on the patio or by the pool. Hosts Roberto and Carmen are very friendly and helpful. On our second night, they made a great Italian family style dinner for all guests (~15). I would definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

When you are not used to driving on dirt roads for extended periods of time and you are in the Samara area during the dry season, it can feel hot and dry, indeed. When you enter Villas Kalimba, you feel as if you are entering a little oasis – your eyes are drawn to the beautiful pool surrounded by lush tropical foliage. All the bungalows - and the “restaurant” area - are surrounded by the lush foliage, as well. The property is smaller in reality than it feels – again, because the beautiful landscaping creates privacy and makes it feel spacious. We stayed in a two-bedroom, two-bathroom bungalow (with kitchen, laundry area – this means a sink and handy drying rack – and sizeable porch with eating area). We really wanted the kitchen because we were staying for an extended visit and it was key to saving some money and to not burning out on restaurant food (by the way, the kitchen is nicely equipped, as mentioned in other reviews); however, be warned, it is extremely hot cooking at any time of day besides very early or very late in the day (this is one of the reasons, you will note, that you see so many outdoor kitchens, I believe, in the area). The AC works very well in the bedrooms (by the way, we heard from expatriate residents in Samara that the best way to acclimate to the hot weather is probably to avoid using a/c, but that is awfully hard to do when you have it so very accessible!), but even if you tried to crank the AC in both bedrooms and used the fans (in all three major rooms), it really didn’t cut it for the kitchen – we did it twice, but since it didn’t work well and it’s a barbaric use of energy, we didn’t do it more. Having said all of this, it is still great to have a kitchen, even if you use little more than the refrigerator, sink, countertop and toaster oven (yes, there was a toaster oven!)

We were so glad that Roberto and Carmen encouraged us to “upgrade” to a bungalow with two bedrooms– since we have a 5-year old who goes to sleep early, it would have been difficult for us to enjoy the villa, again, because the kitchen area was so hot. With a separate bedroom for our son, it was great.

Roberto and Carmen were wonderfully warm, Juan easily and readily let our son “work” with him around the grounds, and all the housekeepers who cleaned our room (and assisted when Roberto made gourmet dinners : ) were very nice (the rooms were nicely made-up every day, as well). There was no pressure from Roberto or Carmen to use any of their services (tours, laundry, dinners, breakfast, car rental), but they were so gracious if you needed assistance – or services – of any kind. They also promptly took care of any issues that arose (we had a light burn out and a squeaky door that bothered us the first night, for example). We heard (after we arrived) that Villas Kalimba was one of the top places to stay in Samara and we believe it! Thank you to Roberto, Carmen, Juan, and all the great staff at the Kalimbas family for a wonderful visit.

PS. Did I mention location, location, location? C&C surf school with boogie board, surf board and kayak rentals (and beach access!) right across the street, run by Charlie, a supermarket nearly next door, a natural foods store/restaurant (Natural Center of Samara) three blocks away and multiple beach-side restaurants within 25 meters.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JBandToofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

7 years in a row and always great. Travel with wife and three kids (now 4,7 and 9) and we always have a great time. Roberto is the best host I have found anywhere. Take his advice on what to do and where to eat and it will be even better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebussiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to the Villas Kalimba and this time we stayed in El Gauchito an amazing home a 2min walk to the beach for 9 days. The villas are right at the beach where Roberto and his staff make delicious breakfasts and guests relax by the beautiful pool. But El Gauchito was so comfortable and a perfect place to relax after spending the day at the beach. The pool was so relaxing and listening to some great music through the window while cooling off made our evenings so peaceful. Everything is just outside the door great restaurants and shopping. We can't wait to come back to this magical place in the sun Samara.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for a week and loved our experience there. The couple that run the facility are very attentive to good service and the villas are excellent value for the price. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for two wonderful weeks at the Villa Kalimba. It was fantastic! The Villa we stayed in was beautiful. It had 2 bedrooms, two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, and an outside dining and visiting area. The pool is right in the middle of the courtyard just steps from our Villa. The pool is clean, cool and inviting. It was a great place to meet people and make new friends. My husband took most of his naps in a hammock on the porch. The Villa is comfortable and very beautiful and clean. The ladies come everyday and take care of the Villa. It is truly a vacation. Roberto is a wonderful host and unbelievable cook. Several times while we were there he prepared delicious dinners. It is well worth the money. The Villa Kalimba is close to everything. We did not have a need for a car. We were just across the street from one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. We have been going to Playa Samara, Costa Rica for 18 years. This was our first time staying at the Villa Kalimba, but it sure will not be our last time. Carmen and Roberto are a great help and can work out any transportation arrangements for you. They even rearranged our Villa and put up another bed for a surprise visitor we had. If you're looking for a "real tropical vacation" this is it!

Room Tip: Any Villa I'm sure would be wonderful. We were in Villa #3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing