We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to catch your breath”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The perfect place to catch your breath”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the perfect place to book at that point of the vacation where you anticipate needing some space and relaxation. After going to restaurants for several days, it was nice to fix something simple in the kitchen, get a bottle of the Italian wine available by the pool and read a book in the hammock. It all seemed so private and relaxing. But, the beach is half a block away for activity and we booked some horse riding as well. In the evening we booked a turtle watch at a nearby beach which was totally cool. The rooms are clean and comfortable, our unit had 2 full bathrooms. The staff was great. We were sorry that the owner was not there because the staff told us he is Italian and makes an Italian meal once a week when he is there. I also saw a laundry service on the main street, but did not need to use it. I would definitely consider coming back, maybe with another couple or the kids for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyInItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    75
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
368
184
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family of four stayed at Villas Kalimba during spring break. The grounds are beautiful, with a swimming pool steps from our cabin and lush gardens hiding other cabins. Our cabin has two air conditioned bedrooms, one with a king bed and en suite bathroom, the other with two twins and each as a tv. The main room is a kitchen and the outside patio has a hammock and chairs as well as a dining table with a fan above. Roberto is very helpful in setting up tours and transport to and from the airports. His dinners are superb and are served in their open air kitchen next to the pool. The town of Samara is lovely and easy to navigate. The beach is across the street and there are many restaurants, a grocery store, and a bank within walking distance. It was better this was not on the beach, because it was the Easter Holiday and was sometimes noisy and crowded. This was a very relaxing and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for a terrific stay.

Room Tip: AC in bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at Villas Kalimba the last two nights of our Costa Rica trip, and we all wished that we could have stayed longer. Since we were five adults, we stayed in Villa Kamar, which is right through a locked wooden gate from Villas Kalimba. We felt very pampered with our own beautiful living space, veranda, and swimming pool, and almost had to pry ourselves away to go to the beach, which was right across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful, lending us beach chairs and even umbrellas when it rained the last night. Roberto was a wonderful host, and we were lucky enough to be there for one of his feasts. It was an unforgettable experience, almost as if we were guests in his home. We had a lovely breakfast there, too. We would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautiful facilities, very knowledgeable and helpful staff. They gladly provide as much assistance as you want (or as little as you want). If you are lucky enough to be there on a night when the host (Roberto) is cooking dinner, do not miss it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay here. After travelling around Costa Rica for the previous 2 weeks, it was a great place to relax and unwind. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the villa was fantastic. For our family of four, there was ample space, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. In each of the bedrooms there is a TV, although we didn't use these much as we preferred to sit outside and enjoy the lovely gardens and pool. Each villa has its own large patio with a dining table and chairs, and also a hammock, which my son spent most of his time in! It was also great to have our own kitchen, having spent most of the holiday up to that point in hotels and lodges. For the first time we were able to cook our own meals. The Villas are ideally situated, with everything close at hand - the beach is directly opposite and there is a supermarket next door. There are also many restaurants within walking distance, including some on the beach itself. We would certainly like to come back to Samara and would definitely stay at the Villas Kalimba again. Thank you very much to Roberto and family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

All of the reviews here pretty much sum up how we felt about the Villas Kalimba. Very friendly staff, great little pool and fully equipped villa where you can cook if you like or treat yourself to a feast lovingly prepared by the owner. The price is a bit steep but not when you make savings on preparing food for yourself, and avoid having to drive to the beach, as it's only a 1 minute walk from there. We enjoyed Roberto's Italian style grill and even took some of the leftovers with us the next day for a delicious lunch. We just wished we could have stayed for longer! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetaJ2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were travelling across Costa Rica and stopped in Samara for a two night stop-over at the villas kalimba. Immediately we had a warm welcome at the reception. The villas were big, fully equiped (kitchen, bath rooms, AC, extra beach towels etc.), very clean and located around a smaller but nice pool surrounded by lush greenery. There was nothing we can complain about and we can only strongly recommend a stay in the villas. The most outstanding experience but was the dinner prepared by Roberto, the owner, which you shouldn't miss. Not a cheap pleasure but worth every cent and one of our highlights during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Property: Villas Kalimba
Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing