We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Villas Kalimba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas Kalimba
Ranked #1 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Beautiful facilities, very knowledgeable and helpful staff. They gladly provide as much assistance as you want (or as little as you want). If you are lucky enough to be there on a night when the host (Roberto) is cooking dinner, do not miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 778 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay here. After travelling around Costa Rica for the previous 2 weeks, it was a great place to relax and unwind. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and the villa was fantastic. For our family of four, there was ample space, with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. In each of the bedrooms there is a TV, although we didn't use these much as we preferred to sit outside and enjoy the lovely gardens and pool. Each villa has its own large patio with a dining table and chairs, and also a hammock, which my son spent most of his time in! It was also great to have our own kitchen, having spent most of the holiday up to that point in hotels and lodges. For the first time we were able to cook our own meals. The Villas are ideally situated, with everything close at hand - the beach is directly opposite and there is a supermarket next door. There are also many restaurants within walking distance, including some on the beach itself. We would certainly like to come back to Samara and would definitely stay at the Villas Kalimba again. Thank you very much to Roberto and family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poppycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

All of the reviews here pretty much sum up how we felt about the Villas Kalimba. Very friendly staff, great little pool and fully equipped villa where you can cook if you like or treat yourself to a feast lovingly prepared by the owner. The price is a bit steep but not when you make savings on preparing food for yourself, and avoid having to drive to the beach, as it's only a 1 minute walk from there. We enjoyed Roberto's Italian style grill and even took some of the leftovers with us the next day for a delicious lunch. We just wished we could have stayed for longer! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetaJ2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were travelling across Costa Rica and stopped in Samara for a two night stop-over at the villas kalimba. Immediately we had a warm welcome at the reception. The villas were big, fully equiped (kitchen, bath rooms, AC, extra beach towels etc.), very clean and located around a smaller but nice pool surrounded by lush greenery. There was nothing we can complain about and we can only strongly recommend a stay in the villas. The most outstanding experience but was the dinner prepared by Roberto, the owner, which you shouldn't miss. Not a cheap pleasure but worth every cent and one of our highlights during our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cajus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We really enjoyed out stay at Villas Kalimba and would highly recommend this boutique hotel for travelers going to Playa Samara. Our very clean villa had two bedrooms (king bed in one room and two twins in other) and two bathrooms which was perfect for our family of four. One night Roberto the owner and his wife cooked an absolutely delicious Venice style Italian dinner for all the guests which included Italian wines, appetizers and a main entree. Delicious! Roberto arranged a tour for us to see the sea turtles, gave us towels to use on the beach and was very helpful with all our requests. The hotel is perfectly located steps from the beach. It has a nice pool area to relax and they have hot coffee brewing in the morning and cool beverages at your disposal. You can buy breakfast there if you pre-order it. Villas Kalimba felt like a little home away from home. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sphorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

One of the better hotels on Samara Beach. We stayed at the Villa Kamar. Has a dedicated pool . Great to rent if you travel with kids or a larger party. Cross the road and you are on the beach (great location). Roberto (owner and his staff) were really helpful. They arrange all the tours you need. The compound has high electric fences for safety and also has safety locker in the house. Should try Roberto's Lobster dinner...was excellent...just a word of caution, the whole meal from start to finish is big, so worth sharing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppppkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Loved IT!! We visited Villas Kalimba from July 22-25 and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in Villa Gouchito and it was perfect for our family of four.(children age 12 and 14) The interior was decorated beautifully and the garden was lush and green and the pool refreshing. It was not on the beach, but the walk to the beach was brief and it was nice to be away from the noise and live as a local. Many restaurants and small markets were within walking distance of the villa. A fully functional kitchen was a nice addition since our son is hungry all the time! Roberto and his staff was were very kind. Unfortunately, we missed the dinner he cooked, so we will have to return because I hear it is an experience not to be missed!! I would highly recommend this property and Samara beach. Most importantly, every person we met from Costa Rica was friendly, happy and helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.7 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 16 in Playa Samara
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Kalimba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Kalimba

Address: Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price Range: $116 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the Pacific Ocean and within easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, shops, grocery, and other services. Our villas feature fully equipped kitchens, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, internet connection, in-room safes, and 24 hour security. We offer a perfect and safe place from which to explore the many attractions of the area, or for relaxing in the swimming pool and inviting jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Kalimba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Kalimba Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing