We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Inn(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
437
157
31
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
157
31
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench couplecows and horseshot water systemexcellent cuisinein townthe ownercorner roomfabulous restaurantcosta ricashower headnearest beachclean hotelneeded a place to stayhotel locatedenjoyed our staynice swimming poolexcellent family
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 639 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a great place to stay. The entire staff was fantastic and very friendly. We felt right at home and safe with a security guard always on duty. The hotel is just a short walk or cheap cab ride to the main street. The rates were very reasonable. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job. The food and drinks were great. I don't have a single complaint about it. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

For the beach side of our 1 month trip in CR, we choose Samara as a small and quiet village. Based on excellent comments found in TripAdvisor, we booked 4 days at Pacific Lodge. First impression was good thanks to manager, Clemence, who made it quick and easy. From the very first minute, we knew it would be a good pick up : the hotel is few minutes away from the city center and also from Samara Wild Beach. The amenities are nicely designed and well maintained and we love the layout : everything surrounds the big and clean pool (including a kid pool). The lodge style open dining terrace is the good place for candle diners or fresh breakfast (conti with good pancakes or 'rican with the whole stuff + fresh fruit juice different everyday + fresh tropical fruit as well). We have also enjoyed the top open mezzanine for a better view on the rainforest just facing the hotel (good to know, the hotel being a bit remote of the center, lots of animal to spot : anteaters, iguanas, birds, halloween crabs and the howler monkeys picking up young leaves just over your head !). Lionel also indicated us a trail which give a good overlook and an access to a secret small beach...
Although we could not afford to dine there every evening (however, the nice chilean wines are rather cheap), we have been happily surprised by the food : quality and beauty, change everyday. Try it at least once and you'll come back even if you have to turn to the "sheriff beach cheap restaurant" for lunch to balance your budget !
We slept in a 4 pax rooms with our daughters. Appreciated the kids separate room (2 bunks) and the hyper comfy beds. Probably why we loved the place : best sleeping quality since the beginning of our RTW trip.
The rooms have both Fans and A/C. Bathroom are OK (spotless, roomy shower and hot water). N.B. Hotel Wifi is fast and catchable from the rooms (MacBook, Room 6).
The team there is at your service : the young french couple who runs the place is always there when needed and almost invisible when not. Their team is alike, the breakfast guy is a kind and quick one, and we also met Julie during diner (try her Banana Colada and you'll see she's not just pretty !).
We recommend the place for surf lessons (good beginner spot), beach is safe for kids, wilderness spotters, and follow Clemence's advises as for Horseback riding (she would join with Hugo !).
Overall, CR has good hotels in average but Pacific definitely made the difference with its unbeatable value for money ratio. We'll go back !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick_Dur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is far away from town if you do not have a car. We had a car and did not have a problem - it was very easy to get to town and park. Would not recommend staying there if you do not have a car. We were traveling with our 3 children ages 11, 9 and 6 years. The kids loved the hotel pool and rec room. The staff was very freindly and helpful - but not ticos - everyone was European - which was a downer as they didn't speak spanish any better than we did. The rooms were set up nicely - we had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The bathrooms were small and not very clean. The bedrooms were great - but no sitting area in the rooms at all. It is noisy there in the morning - the howler monkeys start howling and I believe they wake up the cows, the horses, the rooster and the birds - quite a cacophony! But, actually a pretty neat way to wake up.
We had the hotel organize one tor for us - to see the turtle nesting. It turned into such a fiasco - the tour company was late, the guides were rude and we were given no preparation for what we had to do (cross a waist high tidal river in the dark!) Not the hotels fault - but ask a lot of questions when booking tours. The turtles were totally worth the trouble - an amazing experience - but a 4 hour tour turned into an 8 hour ordeal.
While in Samara if you want to rent boogie boards or take a surf lesson - check out C & C Surf School - they were awesome. Also the bakery up on the main road before town is phenomenal.
Over all - if you can get a place on the beach in Samara for close to this price - you should. We stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matzner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed a few nights with my family (3 kids: 8, 6 and 3) and with a friend family (2 kids same age + 1 baby).
Very nice and simple accomodations. Excellent food - best in a long time in the area. The owner was always around and this was over our expectations. Just fantastic to stay with kids and friends. Very good price - quality relation.
Just one minor issue: the noisy old air conditioning; but for us, most of the time we just shut it off and stayed with the ceiling fans on.
Enzio von Saalfeld / Costa Rica

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evsCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed at the Samara Pacific Lodge during a recent trip to Costa Rica. We had a perfect experience there! Our room was quiet, clean, and had a beautiful balcony off the back. The pool was another highlight, as it was really big - and never crowded with people.
Breakfast is included in the price and we loved waking up to delicious coffee and fresh fruit in the morning. The dinner menu here is also top notch.
I dream about going back as it was such an easy place to get to, and to stay. Although it was a bit of a walk to the main strip in town, we really enjoyed being removed from all the busy-ness of the town.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff and owner - everyone really went out of their way to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edenarabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews