We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$84
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sol Samara(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$72
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso del Cocodrilo(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveler rating
450
164
32
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
164
32
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench couplecows and horseshot water systemexcellent cuisinein townthe ownercorner roomfabulous restaurantcosta ricashower headnearest beachclean hotelneeded a place to stayhotel locatedenjoyed our staynice swimming poolexcellent family
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 661 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I chose to book Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge after reading up on the Playa Samara area on Trip Advisor. While some of the reviews I read weren't the most positive (someone objected to farm animal noises; another didn't like that it wasn't located in the main part of town or on the beach), but all the rest of the reviews gave an impression of Hotel Samara Pacific as being the kind of place we'd like to stay at.

Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge is beautiful - like a postcard. White stucco, dark beams, a charming bar/restaurant tended by the equally charming Julie who makes a MEAN caipirinha cocktail which we were greeted with as a welcome and continued to enjoy during our stay! Julie, Clemence the proprietor, her father, and entire family were helpful, ever-present should we need them (from finding us a band-aid to letting us use their office printer) yet never intrusive. The rooms are simple and clean with a small back balcony which overlooked a neat back yard and yes, sometimes we heard farm animals. It was part of the charm!

The hotel is off the downtown path and we couldn't have been happier about that. It's close enough to be convenient but separate enough to be peaceful. The pool area reminded us of Europe and we enjoyed a swim and cocktail every evening after returning from a day of surfing.

We didn't have an opportunity to eat dinner in the intimate little restaurant on-site but were impressed by the menu du jour which had a definate European/French flavor with local fresh ingredients. Next time! And we will definately stay again at Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge - it allowed us to vacation like we like to vacation - in clean, hospitable surroundings that helped us to feel a part of the culture, not like strangers isolated from it.

We loved Playa Samara in general - it had been recommended to us by a local in the stead of the more 'touristy' beaches in Costa Rica and we were thrilled when we arrived. Samara is a small town with plenty of restaurant/shopping options if that's what you're wanting, but we were there for the beach and we could not have been more pleased. Holy Week was the week before and it was apparently quite a bit busier than we we arrived the following Tuesday. We'd been looking for an easily accessible beach with calm waves to try surfing with our two teenage boys and Playa Samara is PERFECT for that. We all left able to surf and ready to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelswithteenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We are usually very pleased with TripAdvisor´s hotel rankings. However, upon arrival we were extremely disappointed at how far this hotel is from the beach and from the town. It is an extremely long walk to the beach down a road with no businesses or homes (looked dangerous at night). Then, once you´re at the beach, you are far away from the closest restaurants. Also, the rooms were TINY and there seemed to be a creature living in the ceiling, not to mention the cow pasture, which is the only view from the hotel. (despite what pictures may show on here, you are not even close to getting any type of beach view). We have no idea what all the hype is about. After a day, we switched to a hotel on the beach with huge rooms at about the same price. Samara is always a quiet town, even if you are staying near the town center. Do yourself a favor and pick one of the many hotels on the beach or a block away that are the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wellington31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights back in August. We had an absolutely wonderful stay.

I have to admit when were first arrived I was disappointed for two reasons - it seemed far from town and the rooms were quite plain. But within no time at all I realized why this hotel was so wonderful - the hospitality of Clemence and all the staff.

In the end, we actually loved the location - far away from the noise of the town. It felt very secluded. The pool is great and each day after returning from the beach, I'd go for a dip and watch the monkeys play in the trees above. As for the distance, we ended up walking to the beach each day, which didn't take that long and since we were tired, we would take a taxi back -- for $2. That's right, $2. You get the quietness of this hotel and if you are too tired to walk it costs $2 to take a taxi.

We took taxis in to town a few nights for dinner as well, but ate at the hotel twice because the chef is amazing. We really had incredible meals at the hotel. And the included breakfast was quite good too with a different fresh squeeze fruit juice each day.

As for the room, while it was plain it was completely adequate for a nice stay at the beach. It was quite clean and the A/C worked fine as did the shower. It just didn't have much to it, very plain. It isn't the room of a luxury hotel, but that isn't what this place is about. It's fine to rest your head at the end of the day and to shower up - you should be spending all of your time outside the room in Samara anyway.

Finally, the reason we really loved this hotel - the hospitality. Clemence was helpful from the email booking to our very last day there. She was constantly asking how everything was going and seeing if there was anything she could do to help us. She booked a turtle tour for us which we enjoyed. They let us use their computer to check our flight info. The list goes on and on. She even invited us along on a trip to her personal favorite beach (which isn't walking distance) with her husband on our last day, which we drove their personal ATV's to. They were just going for a walk with their dog and insisted we join and see the beauty of this beach. It was wonderful.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Samara. The room is sufficient. The location is actually nice that is is not right in town, but town is easy to walk to or get a $2 taxi. And most of all Clemence is the most hospitable host ever, constantly making sure you have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Felt at home right away. Rooms are ok, but don't expect too much. But the pool area, the food and the personal service make this place a top holiday accommodation. If without car: rent a bike in town, as the lodge is a bit off map. Or just stay at the pool and sip your cocktail or milkshake away!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabennet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January and had a great time. We liked the beach of Samara very much, it's good for swimming and very tranquil. The Lodge is located 1 km from the town, but you don't want to walk because it's a dusty road. There is a good (Eco Friendly) solution: rent a bike (even if you're not Dutch :-) ) We had 'beach-cruisers' but you can also rent mountain bikes. I think we payed 25 dollars for 2 bikes, 3 days. That's not much.

Clemence, the owner of the Lodge knows where you can rent them. Because she knows everything you need. She knows the meaning of hospitality.and helped us very much with her recommendations. Helped us booked a tour (cheaper than the one they sell down town), helped us look for a next hotel and gave us some good restaurant suggestions. But if you don't want to eat out, you just can stay at the Lodge because they have the best Chef in town. Even if you decide not to stay here, you have to check out the food at night. (Menu changing daily) The price is a little higher then 'typical food' but for 10 euro's (for a main course) you have excellent food! It's worth it.

The rooms are a little bit simple. We had a spacious room but they could have done a little bit more with it. The air-conditioning wasn't working as strong as we experienced in other places we've stayed, but we could have change rooms if we wanted to. Maybe a tip for the future, but for now: we enjoyed our stay very much, the staff is very friendly and helpful.

ps: best Italian in Samara is El Dorado, thinnest pizza crust I have ever tasted. And you should check out Shake's Joe for an afternoon drink or snack.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HidWoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews