We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a peaceful location”
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed at Samara Pacific Lodge for 5 nights and couldn't have been happier. It is located about 1 Km from town and the main beach. I would suggest that you rent a scooter or car if you do not like walking. We rented a scooter and it was very convenient. I prefer their more isolated location than being right in town, since it is quiet and peaceful. The staff was very nice and gladly helped us with arranging tours.

They offer different dishes for dinner every night, if you want to eat there, which are usually cheaper then eating at a sit-down restaurant in town. Breakfast was great, and I especially enjoyed the different fresh juices every morning, very refreshing!

Our room was in the main two story building on the second floor. The room was plenty big and had a nice back porch that we used to dry our wet clothes. The bed was big and comfortable, the air conditioner worked well and the cleaning crew did a great job. My only suggestion would be to perform a little maintentaince on the shower head. There were streams of cold water coming out during our showers. I am sure they would have fixed it right away but we kept forgetting to bring it to their attention. Anyway, this was minor and did not affect our enjoyment at all.

I would recommend Samara Pacific Lodge to anyone staying in Samara, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3monthsineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    118
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
163
233
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Hi to all,

If you plan to go to Costa Rica, you HAVE TO go to the Pacific Coast, any tico or tica will tell you this. It's the nicest coast with the nicest beaches!!!

If you plan to go on the Pacific Coast, you HAVE TO go to Samara, it's the cutest LITTLE town, a mix between a traditionnal coastal town and a now becomming hype spot for Tourism where IT IS happening but not too over crowded yet, just the perfect combo!!!

Now if you plan to go to Samara, you HAVE TO go to SAMARA PACIFIC LODGE!!!!
This place is just PERFECT: perfect for singles to mingle with other people, meet hot surfers on the beach (male OR female) talk to the very friendly staff: local staff and super cool French owners (yes there ARE cool French people! :) Clemence and Lionel are the perfect example.

Perfect for couples who want to keep it intimate, on a honey moon or just a trip.

Perfect for a long stay or a short week end.

Perfect for families as you have the convenience of the swimming pool and the proximity of 2 beaches walking distance from the hotel on your left or on your right when you gte out, you choose!!!! Kids want to come back !

Perfect to relax by the pool, to have fun at the bar, to have a nice break fast or dinner at the restaurant (the best cook ever, all Samara knows that by now!!! Locals come as well !!) or perfect have fun at the little BBQ parties on Thursday nights!

Perfect to observe the iguana by the pool, the butterflies flying around the multiple flowers, the colibries in the trees and the monkeys jumping from branch to branch just over your head when you're in the swimming pool!!!

Perfect to take the hotest pictures of what will undoubtebly be your most spectacular trip ever....

Just one thing at this point... I still can't tell if it felt like being with friends or being at home.,.. People are so nice.,.. it felt like both I guess.

This place is a 100% MUST!!!!!

Have a nice trip!
PURA VIDA!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTicaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My partner and I ( americans living in Paris ) stayed at samara pacific lodge 5 days early august. We loved the hotel. Clean, excellent food, full attention from owners and staff, far enough from busy and noisy village center but close enough to reach the nearby beaches. Excellent road signs in the village to find the hotel located few minutes from center.
Nice clean rooms, hotel totally renovated, large chlorine free swimming pool, lovely gardens with tropicals plants....

claire.ferlet@hotmail.fr

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairettedeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I just want to confirm what i have learned before to go to samara on this website, it's absolutly true !
This hotel is particulay wonderfull ! It's not in the town center where cars truck and quad bike are noisy, but not too far also (1km). It's just near two beaches very different the one from the other. The first one Buenavista, is the better to see a beautiful sunset, and the other one "Samara" is much more for the surf, sunbath...
Rooms are very confortable and clean. The swimming pool is huge and it is so wonderfull to swim just next to monkeys !
What else....you absolutly have to test the caipirina to the bar, and to have a diner in the restaurant where the food is delicious...
I think that I will always remember my stay in this place, thanks also to the couple of French's owner ! There are so friendly !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julee_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

What a wonderful place! The owners of the Samara Pacific Lodge are a young couple full of love and enthousiasm!
The lodge is located 800m from the beach in the middle of the nature (a chance to see birds and monkeys and to enjoy a very quiet place). No need at all to take the car: the true "farniente"!
The pool is beautiful and very clean (as the rooms). Moreover you can enjoy very tasty meals and breakfasts and a large choice of natural fruit juices!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clochette29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Samara Pacific Lodge is by far the best option, it offers great service, good accommodations. Although it is not in downtown, it is less than 5 minutes to good beach area and downtown. It is convenient for families as some of the rooms offer privacy for parents, rooms are well kept: clean and confortable, its price and the quality is pretty fair. Their location is convenient, if you are not into party and nightlife, and if looking for a more relaxing experience, then this is the place to be. The managers are corteous, friendly and they are hands-on every detail, the rest of the staff is the same way.
The overall experience is excellent, I would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to be on a nice beach and still experience wildlife and tranquility. The hotel's location offers access to two beach areas: North Samara and Buena Vista. Samara is a tranquil beach, you can swim and snorkel right off the shore. This area shows a natural enviroment with the real Costa Rican taste.

The food is very good, their restaurant offers an ample menu and prices are reasonable. All in all, this is my favorite hotel in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2009

It was my first trip to Costa Rica and I loved the Samara Pacific Lodge. If you like to be surrounded by gorgious nature in a quiet retreat near the ocean with warm weather, this is the place.

The 10 minutes walk to the beach is a superb dirt road along a forest with monkeys hanging out in the trees, very friendly sqirrels and beautiful exotic birds. The beach is pristine, with very few people, warm water, and next to a wild life refuge for the tortugas, where their eggs are watched until they hatch.

The village is a 10 minutes walk as well, where you can find small restaurants on the beach, ATM machine, rental cars and boat rides. I did the latest for 2 hours and was lucky enough to see 2 tortugas and 2 dolphins swimming on the side of the boat. Wales can be seen as well, but not that day.

The rooms at the hotel are clean, with air conditioning and WiFi, the restaurant is good and service is very friendly. I cannot wait to go back and discover more of the region, which is filled with other wild life refuges.

Actually, Costa Rica is the greenest country in the world when it comes to preserving nature. Enjoy !

Francois Jantzen, Los Angeles USA.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
838 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
869 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Property: Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing