We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woken by howler monkeys and morning birds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Woken by howler monkeys and morning birds”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It is a great hotel located in the pacific coast of Costa Rica. Once you get there you'll be welcomed by an incredible staff, very humble and helpful. The hotel is not very big but it is well maintained, the rooms are very clean in which you'll get a good and comfortable sleep, and it has a very refreshing pool that you'll enjoy a lot after a day at the beach.
In the morning you'll be waken by howler monkeys or the morning birds, the sun will light the forest around you, and you'll get to know part of the great biodiversity of Costa Rica. The food in the restaurant is outstanding, you can get a great coffee in the morning with a typical Gallo Pinto, at night they serve especial food which may be accompanied by a good wine.
The only thing I have to mention is that it isn't located very near to the town and if you want to get there you'll have to walk for a while.
I highly recommend this hotel, it's been a great experience there and I would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    116
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
158
231
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Clemence and Lionel are a sweet French couple running a labour of love in beautiful Samara. The clientele are mostly Euro or French Canadian as the Tout Costa Rica people recommend them highly in their listings. We are a family of 5 and all of us were a little sad to leave...even after an extended stay (four nights). We've now been in Costa Rica almost a full month and this was one of our best experiences. And we have had almost nothing but excellent experiences throughout the country. The rooms are clean and well maintained every day. The pool is warm and clean and has a small children section. We saw howler monkeys on two mornings. They travel the same path through the trees at about 7:30 am on most mornings. The food is quite good and the owners are very kind, hard-working entrepreneurs who are doing a superb job. Lionel actually waited tables and cleared tables with an infant child strapped to his chest. Can-do people, with good hearts and great attitudes. I highly recommend the hotel to families, young people and the young at heart. Snobs and jet-setters will find things to complain about and should stay at a 5-star resort...I think there is a Westin close by for you folks.

Room Tip: We like being close to the pool. Our kids 8, 10 and 13 loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBinding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic times at the pacific lodge, Toby on front desk could not do enough for you giving maps and directions for us to get around. It is about 15 minutes walk to the beach and to the town but it is nice to have a bit of a wonder after breakfast. The rooms are very basic but it is all you need as there is a bar on site. Really nice swimming pool which is cleaned every night. Nice and safe in there car park at night time as there is a night watchman on till 7 in the morning. We ate in the restaurant on one of our nights and the fish was top notch.would like to thank Toby again for all his useful information.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tortiseshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were in Samara for 2 weeks and stayed at the Pacific Lodge our first week. We had a little trouble the hotel because we didn't know our way around at all, and it is a little outside of town, so make sure you have a map and know how to get there. But once we were there, we fell in love with the place. Clarence and Lionel are so friendly and warm and they have the best staff. We love Tobius and Danielle, who are fabulous. They speak four languages and are friendly to all the guests. The best thing about this hotel is the food. It was, without a doubt, the best food we had during our stay in Samara. Every night there was something different and it was all delicious. Even after we left the Pacific lodge to stay at another hotel for our second week, we came back in the evening for the food.
The rooms were kept clean and tidy and we had everything we needed. The beds were a little hard, but forgivable. It's a lovely hotel and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Samara. I miss it already and can't wait to go back again in the future!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this hotel.
We enjoyed the cocktails (tip: Rio Celeste), the swimming pool, dinner, breakfast,...
The staff/owners are very friendly and helpfull. They speak English, French, German, Spanish.

There were several families, but we still, it was very quite. The bed was good and the room was clean.

One of the staff gave us the good tip to go to Playa Buenavista, which is better than the crowded Playa Samara. He also told us where we could shop the cheapest (Pali supermarket) and where it is good to eat with a good value.

We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ok here we go,
We stayed at the SamPac as we stopped by driving north. Several times thru this area.
1 night stay.
Did not eat at the restaraunt, but the wine list was standard and acceptable.
The room was small , very clean, with strong AC and fan. Clean bed and bath.
The first night we were there we had asked to use the phone and were graciously given that privledge, for local call.
The girl from Deleware working at the front desk is very nice and helpful.
This said.....
the next morning I asked to use the phone for a local call and another front desk girl said no with a look as if i had ask her to borrow her car to drive to Columbia.
The Deleware girl offerd us her personal phone after hearing this rude turn down.
My wife used this phone and a small child came out of the back and followed here around screaming with no parental response. I asked him to please be quite and that my wife was on the phone which led him to scream even more. The child appeared to be a child of the owners friends.
For a rum and coke at the bar $8 Gin and tonic $6
Room $70
Rude girl at the front desk ..........priceless.
Cudos to the Deleware girl, goodbye to all the others.

Room Tip: As far from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeMarco13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samarapacific, Gérant at Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Customer,

First of all let me thank you for the first part of your comments. Nevertheless I am surprised for the second part.
We try to create a family atmosphere and relax in our establishment. I just wish to inform you that the child you are complaining about was a customer's child and had nothing to do with us.
99 % of the comments about us on trip advisor are excellent. Usually, I attend personally all my clients, I'm sorry if i can't be on board full time.
I apologize in the name of our employee who seemed to be rude.
Bear in mind that all our customers are attended equally.
Thank you for your stay with us.

Best regards,

Clemence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This was the best place we stayed during our 13 days in Costa Rica! The rooms are spacious, the pool is beautiful and there are monkeys who chill in the trees by the pool. It makes the stay even better isn't it? Food is great, and the owners are very kind. Et ils parlent français! During our trip, we had planned to stay 4 days in Mal Pais, but our plans had changed. We decided to come back in Samara. We ended up staying 6 days total, and it was perfect!

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Property: Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing