We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place to stay in Samara for sure (surtout si vous parlez français)!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Samara for sure (surtout si vous parlez français)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

This was the best place we stayed during our 13 days in Costa Rica! The rooms are spacious, the pool is beautiful and there are monkeys who chill in the trees by the pool. It makes the stay even better isn't it? Food is great, and the owners are very kind. Et ils parlent français! During our trip, we had planned to stay 4 days in Mal Pais, but our plans had changed. We decided to come back in Samara. We ended up staying 6 days total, and it was perfect!

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    96
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
116
177
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Paulaul, Minnesota, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family of 4 with 2 young kids (2 years and 9 months), stayed here in March of 2012. Was a perfect spot just outside of town. The kids loved the pool, the atmosphere was relaxed and the owners were very accomodating hosts. The food was also of a very high quality, well worth dining in in the evenings - which was great for us as the kids were sleeping in the room just 20 yards away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a great stay at Samara Pacific. The place was away from the main road into town and nestled up against a farm. The kids loved their bunkbeds in the little front room while parents were comfy on the double bed. They also loved the sparkling pool. We all loved the food. Breakfast was outstanding. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious as well. The lemon pasta with salmon was to die for! Samara is a beautiful beach. Great for swimming and a little surfing and only a short walk from the hotel. There is even a little bakery you can hit up on the way back for a ham and cheese croissant! The locals were super friendly. The hotel owner and manager were both super nice and acommodating. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TolaMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We found this lodge thanks to TripAdvisor and have been meaning to write for ages to report on our stay during Christmas. We were 19 family members, ages 8 to 91 and it was the perfect place for us. Rooms are simple (just the way we like them!) and come in a variety of configurations sleeping 2 -6 people so everyone was happy. We all had our own space yet were very comfortable convening by the pool, bar, terrace, etc. Clémence and Lionel were extraordinary hosts. Extremely welcoming, they managed such a large group beautifully. They arranged for transportation from San Jose, negotiated rates for activities (snorkeling, fishing, horseback riding etc.), recommended reasonably-priced restaurants etc. On Christmas eve they - with their fabulous local chef - prepared an outstanding 5-course meal and provided a secluded eating area for the family. The distance from town/beaches is an advantage, in my opinion, and it was fun to walk back at night from town after a heavy meal. We were truly sad to say good-bye. WE WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: My room was by the pool, which I loved. My brother who doesn't have kids preferred his room behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessamanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mook, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were friendly welcomed by Clémence and Lionel, the owners of this nice and quiet hotel with some discrete attention of a group of howler monkeys from the treetops on the other side of the road.We feeled very comfortable and free in this pleasant hotel. Walking in the woods opposite the hotel (with the owners dog as an enthousiastic guide) , horseriding in a rivervalley nearby and a beautiful beach at walking distance added to the joys of our accommodation. The lodge is highly recommendable for visitors of all ages who appreciate nature, hospitality and a touch of french'-costarican cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_V776918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here as part of a three-week tour so had seen a lot of hotels by the time I arrived. This was one of the very few where everything worked. Clemence, the owner, runs a tight ship. She is also a good salesperson and very quick to suggest a drink, but the drinks are very good and the atmosphere is very relaxed and pleasant. She and her husband are great to chat with and very friendly. They have a dog and a cool cat that mostly hang out around the reception area.

The hotel is on the road between Samara and Playa Buena Vista, a beautiful and quiet beach that has a turtle conservation project. There is not a lot of traffic, but as the road is unpaved, there is quite some dust. The rooms are spotless, however.

Food: Breakfast is included (American, Continental, or Tipico with rice & beans). They have a snack menu for lunch/ afternoon, and a small, French-inspired menu for dinner. I had a sandwich that was very good and much bigger than expected with fries. Food is a bit on the pricy side, but there are a supermarket and a bakery that also does pizza just a few minutes' walk down the road. Samara town has loads of restaurants, but is about a 20-30 minute walk or a short bike ride away. While this distance is a bit inconvenient, it also means the main sources of noise are birds, howler monkeys, and the cattle next door rather than drunken tourists.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afternoonnap_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Samara Pacific lodge for 5 days. It was the most relaxing, peaceful and beautiful lodging in playa samara. The owners were the most hospitable and easy going couple. Their restaurant has awesome food. I would even go as far as saying the best compared to the local places in town. The hotel is not on a busy street, but it's still a good 10-15 min walk to town and the beach. We rented a car for 3 days only because we wanted to explore outside of town. You really don't need a car if you are going to be staying within playa samara. It's a safe area, and the lodge has a guard at night. Of course always be vigilant no matter where you are in the world.

The pool at this lodge is AWESOME! Breakfast is included and every morning was heaven. We loved their bacon and pancakes! so good!! It's a perfect piece of heaven hidden in paradise for an affordable price. If we ever go back to costa rica, we will definitely be stopping by the samara pacific lodge for a few nights.

Room Tip: If you stay here, get a room on the second floor. It has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.6 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Property: Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing