We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This French-run place was a real pleasure. Extremely welcoming and friendly, extremely well-organised, exceptional food, a good-sized pool. The three of us (wife, daughter and me) were given two adjoining rooms, each with own bathroom and balcony, but a shared "front door" , at a very reasonable rate.
We reckoned it was a good 15 minutes walk, in the heat, from the hotel to the town and main beach. Not a problem but bicycle hire, available in the town, is a worthwhile option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 544 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

When looking for a hotel in Samara we followed reviews on Tripadvisor and chose "Samara Pacific Lodge".
The hotel is a bit outside of town's center (10 min walk to center, 10 min walk to beach). It has a dozen rooms that are arranged around a pool. Our room was quite big, very clean and calm. The breakfast was very good too: Perfect value for the money.
In the evening the hotel serves dinner a la carte: We ate there twice and the food was excellent. The bar serves decent cocktails and the staff is very friendly.
If we happen to visit Samara again, we will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FalkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I really loved this hotel. It was clean, simple yet elegant. I enjoyed the location as well, I really didn't mind the walk to the beach. The breakfast was a generous portion and the coffee was delicious. Traveling alone I felt really safe in Samara, and had no problems walking around.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for a portion of our Honeymoon and it made our trip. The owner is so generous and accommodating. She gave us a lower floor room because they have private back patios. The room is a sufficient size and was always clean, fresh towels whenever we asked for them. Every morning the same staff were working which was pleasant to get to know some familiar faces. The hotel is a 10-15 min walk from the beach and is a great walk at that. We loved that it was out of town, yet so close. It is quiet in the evenings and you wake up to roosters in the morning!
The restaurant is AMAZING -- they have large 3-4 course meals, but you have the choice of having only 1 or 2 if that suits you. Again, friendly night staff.
All together I would recommend anyone to stay here, great for couples and families with children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a great place to stay. The entire staff was fantastic and very friendly. We felt right at home and safe with a security guard always on duty. The hotel is just a short walk or cheap cab ride to the main street. The rates were very reasonable. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job. The food and drinks were great. I don't have a single complaint about it. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

For the beach side of our 1 month trip in CR, we choose Samara as a small and quiet village. Based on excellent comments found in TripAdvisor, we booked 4 days at Pacific Lodge. First impression was good thanks to manager, Clemence, who made it quick and easy. From the very first minute, we knew it would be a good pick up : the hotel is few minutes away from the city center and also from Samara Wild Beach. The amenities are nicely designed and well maintained and we love the layout : everything surrounds the big and clean pool (including a kid pool). The lodge style open dining terrace is the good place for candle diners or fresh breakfast (conti with good pancakes or 'rican with the whole stuff + fresh fruit juice different everyday + fresh tropical fruit as well). We have also enjoyed the top open mezzanine for a better view on the rainforest just facing the hotel (good to know, the hotel being a bit remote of the center, lots of animal to spot : anteaters, iguanas, birds, halloween crabs and the howler monkeys picking up young leaves just over your head !). Lionel also indicated us a trail which give a good overlook and an access to a secret small beach...
Although we could not afford to dine there every evening (however, the nice chilean wines are rather cheap), we have been happily surprised by the food : quality and beauty, change everyday. Try it at least once and you'll come back even if you have to turn to the "sheriff beach cheap restaurant" for lunch to balance your budget !
We slept in a 4 pax rooms with our daughters. Appreciated the kids separate room (2 bunks) and the hyper comfy beds. Probably why we loved the place : best sleeping quality since the beginning of our RTW trip.
The rooms have both Fans and A/C. Bathroom are OK (spotless, roomy shower and hot water). N.B. Hotel Wifi is fast and catchable from the rooms (MacBook, Room 6).
The team there is at your service : the young french couple who runs the place is always there when needed and almost invisible when not. Their team is alike, the breakfast guy is a kind and quick one, and we also met Julie during diner (try her Banana Colada and you'll see she's not just pretty !).
We recommend the place for surf lessons (good beginner spot), beach is safe for kids, wilderness spotters, and follow Clemence's advises as for Horseback riding (she would join with Hugo !).
Overall, CR has good hotels in average but Pacific definitely made the difference with its unbeatable value for money ratio. We'll go back !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick_Dur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hotel is far away from town if you do not have a car. We had a car and did not have a problem - it was very easy to get to town and park. Would not recommend staying there if you do not have a car. We were traveling with our 3 children ages 11, 9 and 6 years. The kids loved the hotel pool and rec room. The staff was very freindly and helpful - but not ticos - everyone was European - which was a downer as they didn't speak spanish any better than we did. The rooms were set up nicely - we had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The bathrooms were small and not very clean. The bedrooms were great - but no sitting area in the rooms at all. It is noisy there in the morning - the howler monkeys start howling and I believe they wake up the cows, the horses, the rooster and the birds - quite a cacophony! But, actually a pretty neat way to wake up.
We had the hotel organize one tor for us - to see the turtle nesting. It turned into such a fiasco - the tour company was late, the guides were rude and we were given no preparation for what we had to do (cross a waist high tidal river in the dark!) Not the hotels fault - but ask a lot of questions when booking tours. The turtles were totally worth the trouble - an amazing experience - but a 4 hour tour turned into an 8 hour ordeal.
While in Samara if you want to rent boogie boards or take a surf lesson - check out C & C Surf School - they were awesome. Also the bakery up on the main road before town is phenomenal.
Over all - if you can get a place on the beach in Samara for close to this price - you should. We stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matzner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.5 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Flying Crocodile
Hotel Flying Crocodile
#6 of 16 in Playa Samara
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge

Address: Camino Playa Buenavista, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $70 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Samara Pacific Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing