We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great trip to remember and return to!”

Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$799.00*
and up
Essential Costa Rica: 8-Day Tour
More Info
$899.00*
and up
8-Day Best of Costa Rica and Nicaragua Combo Tour
Ranked #3 of 28 Tours in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Monkey Tours is dedicated to provide the visitor of Costa Rica an experience. An authentic experience of Costa Rica Traditions, its roots and the vast wild life. We have over a decade of experience organizing Tours, expeditions and adventures.We guarantee to our clients to organize activities to fully license and registered locations with the highest safety rules and regulations. Let us work on your visit so you can simply kick back and enjoy from location to location transportation on our private shuttles to the most beautiful locations with the most magnificent views and adrenaline filled activities.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My bestfriend and I took this tour this past July and we had a great adventure! The tours, accomodations, and tour guides were fantastic. We loved Hector! If you can, pick him as your tour guide. He's smart, informative, and easy on the eyes. ;) Not only did we enjoy our time in Costa Rica but we also made friends wth some of the locals. We hope to visit again next summer. :) Here's to the simple life, Pura Vida!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank garnabocor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for the review, it is great to let people know that this tour is not only meant for couples but for friends and family too!

It would be great to have you here next year, you can be a part of the new circuits we'll be launching very soon! It was great meeting you and we appreciate the feedback on our employees I will make sure he knows about it!

Thank you for taking the time in writing this review! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 468 of 500 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Still coming off of the joy from the trip. Every activity exceeded expectations. Did optional extreme zip line in Monte Verde and that was amazing too. Would highly recommend but if you have kids leave them at home. Not for them. First hotel is fine (at airport). Second hotel is rustic and basic but food is decent and you are so tired from the day that you just want to sleep. Third hotel is great and the tour should spend two nights there. We all thought this. Last hotel at the beach is owned by the Monkey Tour folks so the whole reason for the tour is to get you there. It has its dated elements and the maintenance is just enough to get by. 3 out of 5 stars for the resort. Beach is much better closer to town. Do the 3 hour horse ride and don't pay a penny over $20. In all, a great group and a great trip with a few things to work on but not enough to take a point off of the review.

1  Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review! It is great to see how much fun you had, we know our adventures are full of adrenaline and they are great for experiencing what Costa Rica has to offer. I'm glad you enjoyed the Adventure Expedition Tour.
In regards to the last hotel, there might have been a misunderstanding. Costa Rica Monkey Tours has no other affiliation than a travel agency contracting provider hotels, which is the same agreements we have with all the hotels you stayed at.
This tour is all about adventure and relaxation, reason why we decided that the best way of ending this tour, was relaxing next to the beautiful beach of Samara, which has been voted as the #2 best beach in Central America by TripAdvisor.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/TravelersChoice-Beaches-cTop10-g291958

Once again thank you for all the time you took in writing the review! It would be a pleasure to have you here once again!

Its great news for us to find out you arrived home safe and sound.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We did the 8 day trip via Groupon and had an amazing time. It's tough getting the trip booked in the beginning because Monkey Tours can be a bit unresponsive sometimes, but in the end they do make sure to get you all set, so don't stress over it. We didn't do anything upon arrival because we were tired from the long flight - but the hotel is very relaxing. The next day is action-packed fun so we were glad we rested. Zip lining was incredible (and I am terrified of heights - you can do it!!!) with stunning views and a great rush. The tubing was quite possibly the most fun and beautiful experience of the whole trip. The scenery is UNREAL and it's really exciting going down the small rapids (not dangerous!!). You really have to pinch yourself a few times to make sure you aren't in a dream. The horseback riding was fun, and the hot springs and mud bath was also a really neat experience. You learn a lot on this day as well - the guides are great, friendly and informative. You stay at a decent hotel (nothing special, but its a place to sleep, and that's all you will really want to do) and the next day you are off to the cloud forest. You won't see animals, so don't expect to. Instead, ask as MANY questions as you can to the guides - they are full of information and you won't get any of it unless you ask. The best part of this day is the hotel you arrive at for the night - it is stunning! Bring fun games, most people make a bunch of friends on the trip and it gives you something to do at night. The next day is the river boat tour, which is pretty cool. We saw an anteater, lots of lizards, crocodiles, exotic birds, etc. The lunch this day is really great, it's a meal cooked by a very small restaurant that is very authentic, flavorful and healthy. Probably our favorite meal. You then go to a local potter where you can buy some of his amazing pottery. It is a bit pricey, and the piece that we bought ($50 bowl) broke when we got home and put it on the counter. We were pretty upset about that because it was our only souvenir. After that you will stay at the Playa Samara. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EXTRA MONEY FOR THIS! You will probably be pretty bored if you don't dish out some cash - but it's worth it. We did horseback riding through the mountains (through Monkey Tours - there are other vendors in the city but this was definitely the best option) and we had some pretty incredible views. The best of the trip. We saw more wildlife here too - monkeys, hawks, etc. We also did a surf lesson through Monkey Tours (SO FUN - they take you out on long boards and instruct you step by step. The waves are the perfect height to learn and do some good surfing when you get the hang of it). Anyway, we would highly recommend this trip. It is a great way to see the country and enjoy all it has to offer!

2  Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Nadia,

Thank you for being so descriptive about the tour, this is what trip advisor is for! Once again a great review from our customers. It was great to have you here and we are glad you got to enjoy many areas Costa Rica has to offer!

We would love to see you here some other time!

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

we just came back from our stay in samara and took the kayak tour to isla chora this is a beautiful island located just in front of the hotel it is completely virgin and you can swim between the island and the bay "tutenka" i hope i wrote that right luis was a great guide i highly recommend thid tour to everyone and it is for all ages

1  Thank nicaviajero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Im glad you got to enjoy the Island Chora Tour, its amazing what you can find there in such a short distance from the beach. Thank you for encouraging the rest of the people to do the tour. Im glad you had the opportunity to travel with Luis (tutenca) since he is very knowledgeable of the area.

Thank you for your time in creating a review!

Lots of love from Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this trip via a groupon and I wish I could do it all over again, it was so much fun. The first four days were a whirl wind of activities and awe-inspiring views and the last four days even better than the last. The activities were perfectly planned and I never had to worry about a thing. The tour guides always had our back and best interest at heart. Sergio, Juan Carlos, Hector, and Luis. Guys- I'll never forget you. You were absolutely amazing hosts. Super informative, kind, and worldly. Knowledge beyond their years and absolutely thoughtful with their recommendations of how to best absorb every second of the trip. I hope your employers know what gems each of you are.

If you are wondering whether or not you should go on a Monkey Tour, ask yourself this- Do I want to see, feel, hear, smell, and experience as much as possible within eight days? If your answer is "heck yeah I do", then don't hesitate. Go for it. Just don't forget to bring a book for the bus rides and bug spray. They guys will take care of the rest.

3  Thank CynthiaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMonkeyTours, Front Office Manager at Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Cynthia! Thank you so much for the time to write us a review, it is great to hear such good feedback in regards to the employees and the activities.

We would love to have you here again, so you are more than welcome to join us!

Once again, thank you for your time and choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Costa Rica Monkey Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing