We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #2 of 2 Bakeries in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Canadian owned bakery with daily soup, sandwiches, stuffed baked potatoes, salads and personal pizza. Ice cream, cakes for all occasions. Alfajores, empanadas, Freshly ground coffee, cappuccino, espresso, latte, ice coffee, milkshakes & fruit smoothies. Cinnamon, Apple or Dulce de Leche Rolls Vegetarian options
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The ice cream was good, and the made to order sandwiches were huge and quite delicious. It was easy walking distance from our hotel.

Thank DDDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for the great review

We appreciate it!

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 122 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

It´s very good, the food! it´s also very varied, soups are nice. Drinks and juices too. Baked goods are perfect with the coffee that is just….best in the world? Costa Rican coffee is best in the world and you should pare it with coconut bread and something tropically chilled for those steaming days,

I worked in samara a while back, and I would visit almost every day.

Owner is friendly. But the old dog that kept me companied in the shade, always had me a smile, looking so guilty at the ice-cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Manager at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for the nice review

We appreciate it

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We were craving ice cream and found this place on the main strip in Samara. It is so good! My friend got a smoothie, which she said was delicious and I got ice cream, which hit the spot. The young lady who helped us was so nice and helpful. And they have great prices! We went to dinner and had to come back for the pastries. We got a chocolate cake and a coconut pastry. We're here for two more days and will go back for sure. Great place!

Thank Trisha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for the great review!
We appreciate it a lot.

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Once we discovered this place, we were here everyday. It's all delicious---the baked goods, the sandwiches with thick bread, the soup, the ICED COFFEE!! They have cheap daily lunch specials that you can see ahead of time on facebook. The owner was so friendly, too--we always enjoyed talking with her. Such a great find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Glad to hear you did find us though!
Thank you for the kind words
We appreciate it

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

really good bread too. friendly staff. alfajores ain't bad either. Go for the chocolate flavored iced coffee. Does not disappoint.

Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for the great review!
Happy you enjoyed the Iced Coffees and other items

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing