We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had found it sooner!”

Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #2 of 2 Bakeries in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Canadian owned bakery with daily soup, sandwiches, stuffed baked potatoes, salads and personal pizza. Ice cream, cakes for all occasions. Alfajores, empanadas, Freshly ground coffee, cappuccino, espresso, latte, ice coffee, milkshakes & fruit smoothies. Cinnamon, Apple or Dulce de Leche Rolls Vegetarian options
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Once we discovered this place, we were here everyday. It's all delicious---the baked goods, the sandwiches with thick bread, the soup, the ICED COFFEE!! They have cheap daily lunch specials that you can see ahead of time on facebook. The owner was so friendly, too--we always enjoyed talking with her. Such a great find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Glad to hear you did find us though!
Thank you for the kind words
We appreciate it

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 111 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

really good bread too. friendly staff. alfajores ain't bad either. Go for the chocolate flavored iced coffee. Does not disappoint.

Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for the great review!
Happy you enjoyed the Iced Coffees and other items

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stopped in to get ice cream for our 2 young kids. Right away, the owner was so sweet with my kids, even let them come behind the counter and held them up to see the ice cream. After talking a bit, we even realized that we were from the same city in Canada and we knew her uncle! Joannie gave us great pointers of what to see in Costa Rica. Too bad we missed you on our way home!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank workhardtravellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure to meet you guys...small world...
Sorry I missed you too!

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was fortunate enough to celebrate my birthday in Samara and since this is the only bakery we could find we ordered a Birthday Cake with lots of frosting. Actually I like a little cake with my frosting but I don't like the frosting sweet. This cake was all that one could hope for and more. The cake was moist but dense almost like it had some Mascarpone Cheese in it. The frosting was absolutely fantastic. Not sweet yet oh so creamy. How I wish I could get her recipe. No cake has ever come close and everyone wanted seconds and thirds. That's unusual for Birthday Cake. We have decided to order another just for fun. Yum Yum.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank cjccl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Wow!
Thanks for the rave review on our cakes!
Much appreciated

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you are in Samara stop in to see the Pink Princess of Samara! Good ol Canadian girl Eh.... Free WIFI, awesome ice cream and cinnamon rolls to get anyone off their diet! She makes great cakes too, they look amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joannie P, Owner at Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks for the kind words eh!

The Princesas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Panaderia & Heladeria Princesa Bakery & Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing