We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in one of Costa Rico's top beach towns”
Review of Hotel Samara Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Samara Beach
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Hotel Samara Beach offers the best overall bang for the buck in Samara. Located in the center of town just steps from stores restaurants and the beach, the hotel's unique layout of rooms overlooking a beautifully landscaped courtyard and sparkling pool makes this our favorite hotel not only in Samara but out of the many many beach places and towns we've stayed in Costa Rica. Plus they include a free breakfast with great coffee and deliver on the wifi in the room and across the property. Everyone of the staff was friendly and responsive. When we checked in our room did not have a fridge and within minutes of our mentioning this they delivered a fridge. We originally planned on staying just 3 nights but kept extending our stay and ended up staying for a week. We only left because we had to be in Coco Beach for a meeting. Again, we cannot overstate what a pleasure it was staying here and how easy and convenient the location was to everything Samara offers

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cshwnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisPeart, Front Office Manager at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Sirs,

thank you for your comments, we're so happy you've enjoyed your stay here and all the benefits of our hotel. We do our best every day to exceed the expectations of our customer

Looking forward welcoming you at our property

Kind regards

Martina Sacchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Samara Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 122 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is reasonably situated in the small cosy village. Personnel was nice. Setup was well made. Problem was that it was technically outdated. During the evening the dirt water from the room above came down into our bathroom! Also the water of the sink poured out on the bathroom floor! Breakfast was ok. Swimming pool nice.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisPeart, Front Office Manager at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Mr.Theo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am sorry about your latest experience at the Samara Beach and please be assured that this is certainly not representative of our hotel.
I apologize if you had problem with the bathroom, I know our staff offered you immediatly another room and it seems that behind this event you've enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.

looking forward to welcome you back at our hotel

Best regards

Martina Sacchi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a great spot. Have been here before. New AC units rock, staff super friendly and accommodating, pool refreshing after being hot in the sun. Really convenient to beach 1 block away. Zanate birds sing in trees, iguanas traipse across lawn, butterflies everywhere. Can hear howler monkeys some mornings. Palm trees in flower, bird nest in trellis near pool. Lovely, sweet spot. Beds comfy, rooms on second floor big, plenty of room for 4 people to sleep comfortably, and real hot water shower! Guard 24/7. Across street from shops, restaurants yet backyard area has private feel. Balcony great place to relax. Fresh fruit, pancakes standard breakfast fare. This is a great deal for the price, in an increasingly expensive town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorisPeart, Manager at Hotel Samara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Mrs Anita,
thank you so much for this lovely review!
I am glad that you loved your accommodation with us, We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards

Doris Peart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a ´work trip´ trough the country. I work for a travel agency so I have seen quite a lot of different hotels. This was one of the reasons also to come down to Samara. My first night was assigned in this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised!
It is clearly not an upscale hotel, but perfect for budget travelers. It has everything you need:
clean room, private bathroom with hot shower, I had room 2 with king size comfortable bed, little fridge, safety box and closet.
Also the hotel has a little swimming pool and restaurant where they serve CONTINENTAL breakfast. This means some toast, eggs, fruits, tea and coffee. Nothing fancy but just fine!
The hotel is located in the mean street just 1 minute walk from the beach. For the price I am very surprised this hotel does not have better ratings. I would definitely recommend this to my budget travel clients.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

spacious room air con, we found it comfortable and to sit looking out at the pool was nice. The breakfast was ok scrambled eggs and toast with jam the staff were great helpful.
With the beach down the road it was great.

Room Tip: top floor but steps to go up
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights here while attending a language school. The room was large and had two double beds. I really appreciated the AC. Breakfast was included and was pretty basic. Scrambled eggs and hot dogs mascarading as sausages. Instead of juice, normally in abundance here, there was lukewarm weak Tang. The location is pretty nice, although no ocean view. Bathroom was big and clean though a grout job would make the place sparkle. This is a less expensive option for staying in a nice beach town. Try the restaurant across the street, La Gondola, for some very good eats.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, the worst bed I ever had, and the worst breakfast I ever had... One Night... And happy we didn't booked more!!!
Also we had many troubles with the creditcard... The charged twice the price...
If you want relaxed holidays, stay away from this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gapsplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
894 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#12 of 16 in Playa Samara
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Beach

Address: Main Street, Next to Alamo Rent A Car, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range: $67 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samara Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samara Beach Hotel is located just 50 meters from the beach, on the Main Street of Playa Samara. Our Hotel is decorated in a tropical style with a Garden with unbelievable blooming flora everywhere and swimming pool where YOU CAN RELAX AND ENJOY A PEACEFUL ATMOSPHERE. Our Hotel has 20 spacious rooms, everyone equipped with a private bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, king size bed and one double bed, TV, mini-refrigerator, security box and balcony overlooking our garden and pool. For those arriving by car, vehicles can be left in our private secure parking lot. THE BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN THE RATE and it is served in a typical "Rancho" SURROUNDED WITH A RICH AND VIBRANT VEGETATION full of flowers, plants, and unexpected surprises. SAMARA BEACH HOTEL's wonderful location offers our guests RICHNESS AND COMFORT. Our friendly staff will help and assist you in organizing a wonderful holiday in Samara. Guided tours available for those who wish to truly immerse themselves in this BEAUTIFUL PARADISE. For those looking for adventure we offer horseback riding, boat tour, diving, canopy, kayak tours, surfing, sport fishing, turtle tours, and more. We also offer transportation and assistance. We are very close to bus stop; taxi service is available from Liberia Airport (2 hours away) or from San Jose Airport (4 hours away). Bus service is available from San Jose (get off at in the center of town), and Nosara Airport (1 hour a half away) offers domestic flights to and from San Jose Airport. Our Hotel is the perfect place for replenish yourself with the positive sensation of this enchanting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Samara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing