We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Older and comfortable location in center of town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Samara Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Samara Beach
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Older and comfortable location in center of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights here while attending a language school. The room was large and had two double beds. I really appreciated the AC. Breakfast was included and was pretty basic. Scrambled eggs and hot dogs mascarading as sausages. Instead of juice, normally in abundance here, there was lukewarm weak Tang. The location is pretty nice, although no ocean view. Bathroom was big and clean though a grout job would make the place sparkle. This is a less expensive option for staying in a nice beach town. Try the restaurant across the street, La Gondola, for some very good eats.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    20
    7
    11
See reviews for
16
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Dirty, the worst bed I ever had, and the worst breakfast I ever had... One Night... And happy we didn't booked more!!!
Also we had many troubles with the creditcard... The charged twice the price...
If you want relaxed holidays, stay away from this place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gapsplit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

sedona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am writing this review to encourage others to try the Hotel Samara Beach. The staff was incredibly friendly, the rooms clean, and the location was very desirable in most all ways. An easy walk to the beach or the supermarket and centrally located. The only possible drawback for light sleepers is the central location, as the beach town absolutely parties on the weekend, and because of the hotel's proximity to everything, the music definitely penetrates one's sleep. However, if you bring earplugs, I'd highly encourage you to experience this very moderately priced hotel. The AC worked great, thank goodness!!

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room on the second floor away from main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berruezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Buyer Beware! My friend and I booked a full week, we only stayed 2 nights! We asked for a refund of the 5 nights... Expedia will not refund us!!

The room was dirty! We had to keep our flip flops on will in the room. We pulled the bed away from the wall to help avoid the fire ants from getting into our beds! Another couple we spoke to at breakfast said the swimming pool area is full of fire ants and not to bother even going there. We didnt see one person use the pool during our two nights.

Also, the Expedia website for the hotel said they had "free in-room wifi"... not true. At first we told the front desk the internet was not working... the response...no comprenda. How Rude! Then we were told the internet is only in the lobby.

The first night we didn't have hot water! We informed the front desk and the next night it was working, but by then we were fed up and decided to move to a nice hotel in Samara. That was the best decision!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JH2641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here when our original hotel Villas Playa Samara was damaged in the Earthquake.

From moment one this place was horrible. There were 12 people in our group staying in 6 rooms. Our room was not very clean, the beds are futon mattresses at best. The bathrooms were outdated and dirty. Stains on the plastic toilet seats. The Hotel tried to give a tropical welcome with some flowers and towels on the beds, however the flowers had small bugs in them which got onto the bed and bath towels. The thought was there.

There was no hot water, for the 4 days we were there. On day 1 we actually had no water in the shower, my wife washed her hair in cold water in the sink.

There are no ironing boards or Irons.

Some Rooms were missing TV's Refrigerators, and telephones. One room was missing a toilet I kid you not, the toilet was gone. The couple was asked to use the hotels washroom by the pool until someone checked out of another room and they could be moved. This didn't last long since heavy rains caused a sewage back up on the lower level of the hotel and everyone down on that level were moved to another location.


There was a security incident one night, no one every got a straight answer, police were at the hotel checking doors, looking around the property. No one in our group had any problems but they were checking our doors. Not really sure what happened, I can say I always felt safe in Samara, just use some common sense and don't leave valuables laying around.

The Staff were brought in from Villa Playa Samara, so I can't comment on the staff of Hotel Samara Beach, for the most part all the staff were great.

There was one woman who worked mostly nights, she seemed to have an attitude, and was pretty lazy, spending most of her time in the back office on a computer.

Food was average, we only ate breakfast at the hotel it was nothing special, but was included. The coffee was great.

This hotel could be a great place, the location in the town is fantastic. If they spend some time updated the rooms and fixtures this could be a real gem, however it has been let go and just isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Upper level if you have to stay here. Closer to the front of the hotels, rooms 11-15, little more se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank am1belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alajuela
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

There were two rooms broken into in one night - what a coincidence that also the "safety " boxes were also emptied - but were not forced open - which means that someone on the staff has an extra key.
We cancelled the rest of our stay there , and asked for a refund of the nights that we had already paid - but this was refused as they said the booking has already begun!
We lost everything to this hotel and they wouldn`t even reimburse the nights we didn`t stay.
Staff were rude, unhelpful and more interested in having lunch than helping us.
We are now filing an official complaint.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank costaricachica15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three weeks while I was studying Spanish at Intercultura (the school is a different review) in Sámara during Nov and Dec 2011. The school actually arranged the hotel and paid them as part of a package, so I can't really comment on whether it was a reasonable price or not - but I loved staying there. Sámara doesn't have any "4 or 5 star" hotels (hence the very good rating instead of excellent), but that is part of the town's appeal, at least for me. The hotel is about a block away from the beach, and about two blocks from the school, but the blocks are small there, so it's literally about a 2 minute walk or less. It's right across the street from the Ariba bar, which is a fantastic place to meet, or meet up with, other people. And since all the walls in the hotels are made of concrete, there was never a noise problem. The hotel has a night watchman, but I doubt they even need that - I always felt perfectly safe no matter where I was in town, and especially at the hotel. The pool and grounds are cleaned every morning and it was always spotless. Even though swimming at the beach is the thing to do, having the pool to rinse off in, or to just sit around if you want to quietly read a book, is wonderful. The staff were all super helpful, even assisting me with my tarea (homework) on several occasions. The supermarket, church, and car rental agency are all really handy. And the local tour company is only meters away if you want help planning any outings. I hope this helps!

Room Tip: Room 7 is the best position. Ground floor beside pool and it has a swinging door instead of a slidin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giada
Hotel Giada
#7 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samara Beach

Property: Hotel Samara Beach
Address: Main Street, Next to Alamo Rent A Car, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samara Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samara Beach Hotel is located just 50 meters from the beach, on the Main Street of Playa Samara. Our Hotel is decorated in a tropical style with a Garden with unbelievable blooming flora everywhere and swimming pool where YOU CAN RELAX AND ENJOY A PEACEFUL ATMOSPHERE. Our Hotel has 20 spacious rooms, everyone equipped with a private bathroom with hot water, air conditioning, king size bed and one double bed, TV, mini-refrigerator, security box and balcony overlooking our garden and pool. For those arriving by car, vehicles can be left in our private secure parking lot. THE BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN THE RATE and it is served in a typical "Rancho" SURROUNDED WITH A RICH AND VIBRANT VEGETATION full of flowers, plants, and unexpected surprises. SAMARA BEACH HOTEL's wonderful location offers our guests RICHNESS AND COMFORT. Our friendly staff will help and assist you in organizing a wonderful holiday in Samara. Guided tours available for those who wish to truly immerse themselves in this BEAUTIFUL PARADISE. For those looking for adventure we offer horseback riding, boat tour, diving, canopy, kayak tours, surfing, sport fishing, turtle tours, and more. We also offer transportation and assistance. We are very close to bus stop; taxi service is available from Liberia Airport (2 hours away) or from San Jose Airport (4 hours away). Bus service is available from San Jose (get off at in the center of town), and Nosara Airport (1 hour a half away) offers domestic flights to and from San Jose Airport. Our Hotel is the perfect place for replenish yourself with the positive sensation of this enchanting atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Samara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samara Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing