We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you don't need to...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you don't need to...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

No phones, TV's, shower curtains or maid service (apparently some people had a maid). Anyway we spend the last 3 days here with Monkey Tours (who should seriously cut ties with this hotel as its by far the worst of the tour). It has a nice pool, thats about it. Every single couple on our tour had complaints about their room, whether it be mold, amenities etc. Woke up like many other to the sound of construction and the view of what looked like a junk yard. You can get a better place to stay and a better location if you just stay at a hostel for 15-20$ a night.....and yes I said Hostel, and yes, It would definitely be better than this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurtis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    221
    142
    92
    104
See reviews for
267
310
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Last August I decided to take a trip with my two girls to Costa Rica, by far the best we have made. We had an amazing time at Villas Playa Samara, where we stayed for a week. We enjoyed canopy, horseback riding and aquatic activities suggested and offered by the hotel to the nearby areas, they were great. The facilities and the nature were beautiful and the food and service were good. The place is excellent and well suited for a family trip. We would definitely recommend this place and hopefully be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredPlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here during our last 4 days of our monkey tour. No hot water or water pressure, was in a remodeled unit! We asked for a change of rooms, they would not accommodate us, kept telling us the place was full! The place had 20 guest, rooms were found dirty with no maid to clean. The place was not full. I was told the staff went on strike a couple of days we were there! Food, reception and maid service terrible! I had one woman at front desk, scowl at me every time and she ignored me most of time! I was just so shocked about the laziness of workers. Martin at pool bar was awesome, then someone else replaced him the last couple of days and he was worthless and lazy! Construction started every morning at 5:30am, right next door and they still would not move us! The pool was nice and monkey tours employees were great! For the hotel, well...I would just stay somewhere else, let that land go back to the jungle!! One couple from our tour was moved 3 times due to major issues!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Samara hotels

Cheshire, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited this hotel from Oct 30 to Nov 2, 2013. My favorite thing about this hotel was its large and warm pool with a swim up bar. It also has great access to the beach. Unfortunately, nearly everything else about the hotel pretty much stinks. We were in the newest building and our room consisted of two queen size beds and a small area with a fridge and microwave. Our tiny porch had a table and two chairs. Not even a hammock like many of the other rooms had. Really, no phones?! How do you even reach the front desk if you need something? You can't even ask for a wake-up call, which you will need because there are no clocks either! We woke at 6:30 am each morning to the sound of construction on the building next to ours. There was a coffee pot and mugs, but no coffee. There were no hooks to hang our wet clothes to dry. There is no door on the shower stall. There are no shelves big enough to hold a suitcase and no drawers in which to put your clothes. There was a closet with a few hangers and a couple of shelves, but the doors were so narrow, I still couldn't just plop my suitcase in there. Wifi only worked in the main lobby and by the pool. The hotel has a mini mart, but it is never open. There is no shuttle into town, you have to pay for a taxi, unless you walk via the beach, in which case you have to time it with the tides. If it wasn't for the company we had while we were there, and a few excursions we took, we'd have been miserable while at this hotel. If you want to visit Costa Rica and stay in a really wonderful hotel, go to El Establo in Monteverde!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came to this hotel at the end of the monkey tour. I was thoroughly disappointed. The service was terrible, food and drinks were worse. The absolute worst part is that on our last day they booked a private party in the middle of the hotel that blasted music until 1230 am and we could' nt sleep. When. Asked the hotel to turn it down, we were told it was more important to cater to the private party. It was horrible. The setting is beautiful, but there are plenty of hotels in the area. I would NOT stay here. Ruined my honeymoon. The monkey tour was fun, but the last hotel was so bad, i would pick a different way to see costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was in Villas Playa Samara this past September and had previously visited in 2011 as well. I love Costa Rica and Playa Samara is beautiful as always. The resort and staff make you feel at home, this is the main reason I decided to go back to this hotel. It is paradise and the wildlife and scenery are amazing. We had a great time with the excursions the hotel offered. We visited once more the Chora Island which is located in front of the hotel. We had previously gone by kayak but this year be decided to go back with a group by boat. It was as beautiful as I remembered. I greatly recommend this Hotel for anyone looking for a great time, relaxation time, adventures, great friends and for an amazing little piece of paradise. I can't wait to visit once more this beautiful location and it's surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arsene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent the last three night s at this location through Monkey Tours. I was very disappointed. There were no phones, clocks or TV's in the rooms. Although I would not. Have needed a TV (there were hookups for. One), I would have liked to have had a phone and a clock. Also we were told that they had daily happy hour when we arrived, they had it the first night, but not after that. The website advertised wireless in the room but it was not available there, if you were lucky it was available sometimes at the restaurant. There was also a strange man who seemed to be everywhere we went on the property. He appeared to be a manager and the employees seemed quite intimidated by him. He was not at all friendly, I greeted him twice, and only got a scowl, he was kind of creepy.
All in all, Samara is a beautiful location, I would go back again, but this hotel would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: Get close to the office area, many back areas are torn up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpatchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Property: Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing