We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We spent the last three night s at this location through Monkey Tours. I was very disappointed. There were no phones, clocks or TV's in the rooms. Although I would not. Have needed a TV (there were hookups for. One), I would have liked to have had a phone and a clock. Also we were told that they had daily happy hour when we arrived, they had it the first night, but not after that. The website advertised wireless in the room but it was not available there, if you were lucky it was available sometimes at the restaurant. There was also a strange man who seemed to be everywhere we went on the property. He appeared to be a manager and the employees seemed quite intimidated by him. He was not at all friendly, I greeted him twice, and only got a scowl, he was kind of creepy.
All in all, Samara is a beautiful location, I would go back again, but this hotel would not be my first choice.

Room Tip: Get close to the office area, many back areas are torn up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpatchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    231
    145
    95
    106
See reviews for
279
319
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful setting in lush gardens on the beach! Very private, separate units with one bedroom, living area & full kitchen, also a nice deck with hammock.Gorgeous huge pool and outdoor dining area as well as poolside bar. The beach was just steps away and you could easily walk to town on the soft white sand. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast included with the stay was a delicious full meal with lots of choices! We celebrated my 60th birthday there and they even cooked up a special cake for me! Highly recommend for couples and families!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms were especially nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hattierae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to honeymoon at this resort after finding a fantastic deal on Groupon. It's difficult for me to understand why there have been negative reviews about this place. The staff COULD NOT have been more outstanding! They were incredibly attentive to our needs, and if something ever went wrong they made up for it immediately. It's not a 5 star resort, so don't go expecting the Ritz (i.e. no room service), however it is clean and very lovely. The best part about this place I think is the privacy. Having your own villa is an amazing experience, and since there are no surrounding resorts, the beach is almost entirely private! I was even blown away by the food. Sure if you just stick to the nachos and pizza you may be a little disappointed, but push yourself - get the seafood, it is incredible. There are also many fantastic restaurants in the city of Samara, which is just a $6 cab ride away (and yes the hotel calls the cab for you).

If my husband and I decide to come here again, it is going to be with kids or friends! The resort has a tour company on site (Monkey Tours) that offers some really amazing adventures, right from the front steps of Villas Playas Samara. Many of the larger adventures require 4 people however.

I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and very much appreciate the feedback. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

hotel location is great, beautiful beach front, wild dogs running around, staff are not the friendliest, forgot about my laundry had to keep reminding them about my clothes for two days..., the restaurant was expensive and everything was over priced. the bathrooms are in poor condition, weak Wi-Fi coverage and mobile coverage. few miles from the hotel is an amazing beach, the horse back riding was great.
I wouldn't visit Samara again due to over pricing, I paid $10 for a large bottle of water just for not speaking Spanish I guess...

Room Tip: if your like me and need to be wired get a room close to the main desk for WiFi and cell coverage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moe410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villas Playa Samara, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of your trip; we are working hard to make improvements and your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are glad to hear, though, that you enjoyed the hotel's location, the beautiful scenery and the activities. You may have noted while you were here that the hotel has been under some renovations; since Villas Playa Samara has been a popular resort for nearly 20 years, we've been busy making improvements to the the areas that you may have noted were not up to your expectations. Bathroom renovations, are in fact, near the top of our list!
While it's true that being digitally connected is not always a strong suit while in the beaches of Costa Rica, it is one of those things that we continually strive to improve as we understand that some of our guests simply cannot be disconnected; still, it is also something that we sometimes just grin and bear given the abundance of beauty, tranquility and peace that is our tradeoff.
If you ever decide to give Samara a second chance, we recommend that you make a stop in Nicoya (just a half hour before arriving at the beach) and pick up some groceries at the Maxi Super Market; we know you'll find comfortable prices on all of your drink, food and snack needs there and many of our guests love to bring groceries with them and take advantage of the fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes that come with their villa. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our family has been visiting this hotel for years, and we keep considering it to be our favorite choice in Costa Rica! Great location in the most quiet area of Samara, and very close to Isla Chora, which is easy to reach by kayak. The villas are comfortable and full equiped, and not too close one to another for you to be disturbed by other guests, so you can always enjoy a relaxing environment. No noise at all from the street, just the rumor of the sea and the birds on the trees! Nice gardens too. The staff was always kind and helpful. The guy from Monkey Tours gave a lot of tips about the attractions on the area. I fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the best choice, of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uyuiyio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I came to the area three ago and discovered Hotel Villas when we were walking down the beach. We fell in love with it, so much that we have now stayed here twice - once for two months and once for three months! The beach is incredibly serene and gorgeous. The villas are beautiful, clean, and comfortable, with a great bed, spacious living room/dining area, good sized kitchen, modern bathroom, and a terrace with a hammock to relax on.

Love the large pool with swim up bar next to their newly re-done, open air restaurant, which has delicious food.

The owner and staff have always been friendly and helpful, especially Phillipe, Faride, Jose, and Martin. They've made us feel like we are part of the family, and always do their best to take care of any of our needs.

Can't wait to stay there again this winter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-lovers-iad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

we found this hotel will driving around in samara we were really happy to found it really good price great service, gracias stephany for the great rate we will be back! have the ceviche at the swim up bar it is delicious! and ask for ocean view room right on the beach

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicaviajero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Samara
0.3 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Playa Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Playa Samara

Property: Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Address: South From the Center of Samara Going Towards Playa Carrillo 3km, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villas Playa Samara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel with fully equipped villas and deluxe rooms. We are located in front of the beach very close yo downtown Samara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villas Playa Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing