We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel various times and have been very happy. Conveniently located, quiet, nice pool, good food and helpful staff. The beds are comfortable, the ac/ good and plenty of hot water for showers. Best of all just 2 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel also has wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you back at Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed your stay here. Looking forward to your return trip to Hotel Giada as well as Playa Samara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Giada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 299 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Clean and decent size rooms with fans. Great location, two great pools, attractive garden and plants everywhere, very friendly staff. Some rooms on the second floor have balconies facing the pools.
Affordable and with good breakfast included.

This is a good choice!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the restaurant are quieter. Rooms on the second floor and facing the pool have a nice...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi5grana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada and are glad that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is nice except we had no hot water, no phones in the rooms. If you have a problem you to go to the front desk. The hot tub is not hot. I think I would check out another hotel when I come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. If we would of know that you did not have hot water we would of fix the problem. Yes we do not offer telephone due to the hotel offer WiFi with no charge. Sorry we do not offer hot tube we only offer Jacuzzi at outside temperature. Thanks for staying at Hotel Giada and we hope you will be back again as well as back to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 days on the recommendation of a friend. The rooms are clean and a decent size, with fans, a/c (although we didn't use ours much), and hot water. We had a patio right on the pool side, and the rooms were very quiet even though we were so central on the property. The location is fantastic, very central to Samara downtown and all the restaurants, stores and the beach. The breakfast is simple but offers options for everyone. The staff are friendly and very helpful. We would totally stay there again. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista_E_Eric_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada. We was glad that your friend told you about Hotel Giada and that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope you will be back to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica someday. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed about 8 days at Hotel Giada in July, 2013. It is in town and close to everything, including the beach, which is about three city blocks away. The pools are excellent and staff seems to always be working on keeping the grounds, rooms and building neat and clean. The restaurant offers a free breakfast with a choice of three options and they do a great pizza business judging by the number of people dining and picking up orders to go. The WIFI was EXCELLENT and we had great connections at all times which is important to us when we travel. The only down side we found was that the rooms did not have refrigerators and ice at the hotel was hard to come by. We solved the problem of course by buying an ice chest and then purchasing ice from one of the local stores. The hotel could enhance their service by simply installing an ice machine for their customers but we also recognize that we may have stayed longer than their average customer.

Would be stay there again? Yes, unless we could find a similar hotel in town with the same features and a refrigerator or ice machine--trivial perhaps but important to us as we travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at the hotel and that you enjoyed the hotel. I will get with the owner on the ice machine to see if it would be possible to put one in the near future. We hope you will be back to Hotel Giada someday as well as Costa Rica. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We decided to free wheel it this vacation not prebooking any hotels in Costa Rica. Highly recommended by the way. We originally planned on staying here one night but loved it so much we stayed and extra night. The place was very clean with a beautiful pool and tropical surroundings. We watched two aquana's (sorry bad spelling) while swimming in their pool and listened to beautiful birds. It was only a short walk down to the beach. We had a comfortable king size bed and air conditioning. Our view overlooked the pool and had a balcony. One night we ordered the 2 for 1 pizza deal (very tasty). The other night we drove 10k to the next town that had a great bbq/steak place. The price we paid included a breakfast for both of us that included anything on the breakfast menu with a drink. The staff were very helpful and friendly. My wife and I would definately stay at this hotel again! By the way the night before staying here we stayed at Playa Nigra, a nice quiet place about 90k by paved road or 30k by 4x4 only road. We had a 4x4, had to cross 3 rivers and almost didn't make it across one. You may want to take the paved way, expecially in the rainy season when we were there. Oh and one more thing, the rainy season was not that bad at all, beautiful mornings, afternoons then evening rain/storms most days. Both places are easy driving distance to the Liberia airport (2 hr PlayNigra Max, 3 hr Play Samara max) PlayaNigra to Samara 1 to 2hrs paved 3hrs 4x4 road.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor. Sorry can't remember the room #.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Man_Stan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here and that you enjoyed the hotel & restaurant. We to see you back at Hotel Giada son and hope will return to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Giada in March 2012 and April 2013. We have enjoyed both stays.
The hotel is relatively small, 25 rooms, not fancy, but very clean and comfortable. We have stayed at the back of the hotel both times and it has been very quiet. The hotel is far enough off the beach there is no noise. It is about a 3 minute to walk to the beach.
There are several good restaurants in Playa Samara. The hotel restaurant is as good as any in town. There is a small grocery store around the corner that sells beer. Drinking a cold beer on the balcony is really nice.
The hotel is well run, the staff is attentive and friendly. When we go back to Costa Rica, we will make it a point to stay at the Giada again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_J_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiada, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you for the second time and will looking forward to seeing you next year. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant as well as Playa Samara. We hope you see you back soon on your return trip to Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
854 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Samara Beach
Hotel Samara Beach
#14 of 16 in Playa Samara
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#7 of 16 in Playa Samara
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirador de Samara
Mirador de Samara
#16 of 16 in Playa Samara
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range: $60 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing