We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Giada
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“close to perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were in Playa Samara for a wedding, and Hotel Giada was a good pick for a three day stay. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The road-facing restaurant serves tasty Italian fare for lunch and dinner, and 5 selections for the included breakfast.
The restaurant is perfect for people watching, too.
Nearby are banks, a grocery store, bodegas, and sodas.
Our only issue was our room's wonky air conditioner - it was out the first night, fixed, out again the second night. At that point, the staff switched us to the room next door.
We spend a lot of time in Costa Rica, and are used to the heat... my main objection is that screens are uncommon everywhere. I'd suggest asking when you book here, as a breeze would have helped the hot nights pass more quickly.
I'll also note that the staff comped us lunch for the inconvenience -and lunch was great.
Lastly, and very cool, an iguana visited our balcony, and cooperated for photos and a video.
We don't sweat the small stuff, (although we did sweat in our room) and will return to Hotel Giada.

Room Tip: I liked the second floor... nice balconies overlooking the back pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcallenont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We are sorry for the problem with the AC in your room and other than that we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and restaurtant and hope you will be back to the hotel again as well as to return to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    128
    42
    13
    2
See reviews for
49
139
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My sons and I stayed at the Hotel Giada, and it was a nice experience. The room was simple, but there were two nice swimming pools that were clean, and a restaurant in front that was open to the street. Sámara is a small, simple beach town, and there isn't a lot there, and this hotel is on the main street. Breakfast was included, and the price for a room for two beds and the four of us was $110 USD. It is a very convenient location, just a few blocks from the beach, other restaurants, shops, etc. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed the hotel as well as the restaurant. We hope you see back at Hotel Giada and hope that you will return to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed at hotel giada for 3 nights. It was a great experience. Playa samara is great traditional Tico beach town. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the beautiful grey sand beach of playa samara and was a lovely place to stay. The staff were great, lovely and really helpful with book tours or navigating the town... I got loads of information about what was going on in the town and the best places to go on certain nights etc. the sun lounger space around the pool is small, but when you have the beach just down the road it's not really and issue. The room was very clean, basic but good enough for 3 nights, the same goes for the bathroom. I felt very safe in the area and was surprised that even though the hotel is on the main strip and all rooms either face the restaurant or street, the noise wasnt an issue. The food in the restaurant is average at best, but there are some other great places to eat in the town within 5 minutes walking distance. I would definitely stay here again if I went back to playa samara. Great easy location, simple hotel wit everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige_Sullivan_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su comentario en Trip Advisor. Estábamos contentos de tenerlo aquí en el Hotel Giada se alegró de tenerlo aquí. Esperamos que regrese al Hotel Giada, así como Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Giada is 200 metres from the beach, on the main street of Samara. It has two pools and a jacuzzi. In the front there is an italian restaurant with nice pizzas.
All the rooms have air conditioning, tv and a fan plus a safety box. The breakfast is not self service, you can choose between the typical, pancakes, eggs, toasts, which.are really tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giorgio c, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you here at Hotel Giada and we are glad that you enjoyed Hotel Giada. We hope you will be back to Costa Rica as well as Hotel Giada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
205 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent only one night. The room was small any yet very nicely equipped. There were two small pools. The restaurant was downstairs and the food was good although my waiter was a bit snobby and he brought me ravioli instead of the fettuccine I ordered. My biggest complaint is when I checked out the guy at reception was on the phone for a long time before I could give him my key and then he addressed me as "señor" instead of "señora" it just set my day off to a sad start.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiada, Owner at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We was glad to have you as a guest here at Hotel Giada. We are sorry for the mistake in the restaurant and I will speak with them so they can be more careful when they take a order. With the gentelman at the front desk I did speak with him, yes he was on the telephone for a reservation and some call take longer than other, he inform me he look up quick to see the number of your room in order to check you out since you been waiting a few minutes and yes he did make a mistake and called you senor and he did say that he was sorry for the error and did correct the error and called you senora. Thank you for staying at Hotel Giada and we hope you will return to Hotel Giada as well as Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am surprised that this restaurant does not get a higher rating. While there may be some issues that the hotel is working on, the restaurant is run very well, the food is consistently good, and we have had some great meals there. In particular, we enjoyed the Penne Pura Vida - perfectly cooked, attractive, great flavour. Will definitely order it again and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Puravida999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiada, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the restuarant and are looking forward to your return to the restuarant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Giada for a week at the end of our honeymoon, what a great place to relax and unwind reflecting on our four weeks in Costa Rica!! The room was great with a balcony overlooking the main pool, the staff were all super friendly and sorted any questions or issues instantly and the integral restaurant served really tasty food. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to the beach and is located at the top of the high street with easy access to banks, shops and restaurants. With the two cool pools which get both sun and shade all day and the beach down the road you are spoilt for choice. I would highly recommend this hotel in Samara.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiada, Manager at Hotel Giada, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your Honeymoon and the hotel and the restaurant. We hope you will be back to Costa Rica and return to Hotel Giada for a Anniversary. We wish you a great many years of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lodge Las Ranas
Lodge Las Ranas
#5 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giada

Property: Hotel Giada
Address: Main street, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Samara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Giada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giada Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing