We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai on the playa”
Review of KaiBella - CLOSED

KaiBella
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fresh, Flavorful Food Cooked from the Heart, tropisch-thailändische-Fusion-Küche
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai on the playa”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very good Thai which is unusual here. Loved the preperation - it takes time so we ordered ahead (small place must make reservations) even with ordering a head we did wait for quite abit - the smell of the pizza next door gets increasing more tempting! Well worth the wait, freshly prepared lovingly spiced Thai food

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank skl-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sámara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands down the best food in Costa Rica!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Not having been a huge fan of Thai food in the past, KaiBella has made me a devoted convert. Being a transplant from the New York City area I have enjoyed the opportunity to dine at some of the best restaurants available. With plenty to compare it to, KaiBella has never left me disappointed. KaiBella's fusion of Tropical, Thai and Asian is a perfect blend of ingredients that makes each dish unique and flavorful, every dish I order becomes my new favorite. After reading the last review of the Pad Thai I am left baffled, after ordering this meal over the last two years it still remains my very favorite. This review left me questioning its' author. Who asks to bring home the worst meal they ever had AND THEN offers it to a friend without any warning, that's just strange (things that make you go, hummm). Every aspect of the restaurant sets the tone for a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience from start to finish. The reasonable pricing, the atmosphere, the service, food presentation and the flavor all contribute to what is certainly the best available in Samara and I have no doubt throughout all of Costa Rica.

The food presentation is so colorful and beautifully arranged that it is a bit unsettling to disturb the plate. I often see visitors taking photos of their meals before consuming them. It is often typical to see one table asking another table what they ordered when they see the food arrive to the table. The real treat is the flavor, 5 stars out of 5 stars, every delicious bite is well seasoned, healthy, fresh ingredients, cooked to your desired spice level and the sauces are just out of this world. The Spring Rolls, in particular, are uncharacteristically crunchy and are spiced perfectly in a way that is unique in comparison to others.

If you travel through Samara and do not take the opportunity to dine at KaiBella, than you will simply have missed out one of Samara's best experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid the Pad Thai!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not your average Thai, pad thai and orange chicken were disappointing. Service was good, waitress hooked us up with some great surf spots...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadameia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A real treat, something different!!!!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Visited this Thai restaurant with family and we all enjoyed our meals, the staff were lovely and friendly and recommended us dishes to have and did special non spicey food for children. Very clean and well presented meals. Ask your hotel where it is as it is down a side strip still in centre of town but a bit difficult to find. You must visit for something different to the norm!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Simplicity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great food. Who knew one could find such great Thai in Costa Rica. This is the first place I ate upon arrival to Samara. The presentation of the food was also great. Good service

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaiBella also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing