We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It's Mexican!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco's Mexican Restaurant

Coco's Mexican Restaurant
Main Street | 75 meters Norte de Correo Postal, Playa Samara, Costa Rica
+506 2656 0665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 63 Restaurants in Playa Samara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Playa Samara
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Born & raised in Texas, now living in Samara - so one of the things we really missed was good Mexican food. Coco's is as close as we've found - "it ain't TexMex" but the food has great flavor and their menu has plenty of choices you can experiment with. Try the soups - especially Sopa Azteca!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank costaricabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    150
    49
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Not especially friendly to tourists. Food was okay, not bad but nothing memorable. It was pretty sitting in the back but smelled bad, sewers or something.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our group ordered 5-6 different things and all were delicious. Bit pricey for my taste/for the portion size.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank guenthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Margarita's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food was good. I loved the enchiladas camerones. We enjoyed the atmosphere. The margies were tasty and the service was friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3littlebirdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved this restaurant! The food is delicious, well presented and large portions! We ate the Mexican salad and the chicken fajitas. We loved them so much that we decided to come back to that restaurant 2 days later and order the exact same thing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ksunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coco's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing