We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST ON THE BEACH”
Review of La Vela Latina - CLOSED

La Vela Latina
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Costa Rican, Central American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
“BEST ON THE BEACH”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just spent 3 weeks Costa Rica. I stayed in Samara a small untouched no mega hotels beach town. The La Vela Latina is a great place to drink, eat and party. It sits right on the beach and has full access. The staff speaks great English and makes you feel very comfortable. The food is great with big portions. The sushi chef is Costa Rican and it is great sushi. The customers locals and international and fun is had by all. It's a must while Playa Samara. T M

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    67
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“great sushi and burgers”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I prefered the burgers but the others in my party raved about the sushi,a must when in Playa Samara.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
“A MUST in Samara”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great food, Great service, excellent ambiance. AN absolute must in any Samara outing! I loved the view and there seemed to be quite the selection of pretty young ladies about as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dog lovers only”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place has lots of dogs around, which is fine but they all peed on the curtain while I was there, one after the other! A bit off-putting! The food was ok, but it took about 45 minutes to arrive and got bitten by mosquitos while waiting, so take repellent with you. The cherry on the cake was being overcharged, with a price that was different to that on the menu, so if you go there, check your bill! I won't be going back, plenty of nicer options in playa samara!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JadeJaguar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great Nachos and Sushi”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We love the nachos here, and the half price sushi night is a fantastic bargain. The mojitos are excellent and the beers are cold. Love the ebach chairs and umbrellas that were recently added. We are here nearly every day when in Samara!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vela Latina also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing