We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of La Vela Latina - CLOSED

La Vela Latina
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Costa Rican, Central American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Samara and this restaurant has been our favorite hangout until now. We have been there 3 times this year (trying to be sure our last experience was not an isolated incident) and have not experienced the quality of food we came to expect. Additionally while the service is generally laid back in the typical Costa Rician style, it was completely lacking, even when the place wasn't busy! It is still the best place to sit in the afternoon as it almost always gets the best breeze and has terrific views!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    67
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hamburgers and beers”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We eat here often. One night I wanted a burger, and theirs was very good! Bucket of beers on the beach and they feature football games. Showers to rinse if you play in the waves, adirondack chairs to relax in. Tiki Torches at night and friendly staff!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice sushi”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

La Vela has a nice, big menu, including some good sushi and nice patacones with guacamole. Its a place to linger in its lounge chairs, have a drink and watch the ocean. Not particularly cheap but not too expensive either.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank adamandeveNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“yumm!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Best meal in CR! we LOVED the shrimp & rice (pretty much Caribbean style shrimp fried rice). the chefs were so cute too, decorating our plates with "Feliz Navidad".

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jillybebe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best burrito in Playa Samara!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I got the shrimp burrito and my friend got a chicken burrito and we both agreed SOO GOOD! It was a large portion and packed. I was really happy with my choice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllieRooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vela Latina also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing